Skip to main content
Shoulder & Elbow logoLink to Shoulder & Elbow
. 2023 Feb 22;16(2):129–144. doi: 10.1177/17585732231157090

A systematic review of the treatment of primary acromioclavicular joint osteoarthritis

Matthew Welch 1,✉, Sally Rankin 1, Matthew How Saw Keng 1, David Woods 1
PMCID: PMC11034467  PMID: 38655415

Abstract

Background

This systematic review aims to comprehensively summarise and present the available evidence for the treatment of primary acromioclavicular joint (ACJ) osteoarthritis (OA).

Methods

Five databases were searched for studies investigating the management of ACJ OA. Included were studies with participants with clinical/radiological signs of primary ACJ OA, an intervention and included a functional outcome measure.

Results

Forty-eight studies were included. Treatments consisted of physiotherapy (n = 1 study), medical only (n = 11) and operative management (n = 36). Operative studies included five comparative trials – physiotherapy versus surgery (n = 1) and open versus arthroscopic resection (n = 4). A total of 1902 shoulders were treated for ACJ OA, mean age (51 years), 58% male and mean follow-up (28.5 months). Treatment with injection showed a mean improvement of 50% in pain levels at follow-up (mean = 7.5 months). The commonest surgical procedure was arthroscopic excision of the distal clavicle and operative studies averaged 6 months of conservative management and a mean functional outcome of 87.8%.

Conclusion

Studies varied in indication, intervention and quality but it did not provide evidence that both non-operative and operative interventions are effective. There was no significant difference between open or arthroscopic distal clavicle excision (DCE). Participants having between 0.5 and 2 cm of clavicle excised had good outcomes and those requiring concomitant shoulder procedures had similarly good outcomes.

Keywords: Acromioclavicular joint osteoarthritis, distal clavicle excision, systematic review, shoulder surgery, joint injection

Introduction

Shoulder pain is common, being the third most likely reason for presentation to primary care with a musculoskeletal complaint and an annual prevalence of over 40%.1,2 Primary osteoarthritis (OA) of the acromioclavicular joint (ACJ) is a large contributor to this (up to one quarter 3 of primary care shoulder pain presentations). Initial treatment consists of oral analgesia, physiotherapy and joint injection, with surgical management for those with refractory symptoms, typically excision of the distal clavicle.4,5 Other pathologies can exist concomitantly, thus providing diagnostic and management uncertainty. 6 These include glenohumeral or rotator cuff pathology, impingement syndromes and distal clavicle osteolysis, which tends to present in younger males who perform heavy lifting.7,8

Several reviews have been published for ACJ pain, but none have provided a systematic, comprehensive overview of the evidence for the management strategies for primary ACJ OA, including conservative, medical and surgical treatments. Previous authors have reviewed the evidence for conservative or surgical management, 9 open versus arthroscopic distal clavicle excision (DCE),5,10–12 as well as trends in surgical management and their outcomes. 13

There is no specific NICE, 14 BOA/BESS 15 or AAOS 16 secondary care pathway for the treatment of ACJ OA and a recent scoping review 6 of treatment of ACJ pain more generally reported a paucity of high-quality studies, concluding that there was no enough evidence to develop a treatment pathway. The aim of this systematic review is to identify the types, prevalence and effectiveness of different treatment modalities for ACJ arthritis, in order to inform potential treatment pathways.

Methods

The protocol for this review was registered with PROSPERO database (ID: CRD42021295185) to ensure transparency and no duplication of work. A systematic search of the literature was conducted by the authors in accordance with the Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses (PRISMA) 17 checklist and protocols available at: http://www.prisma-statement.org/

On 29 November 2021, the following databases were systematically searched:

  • MEDLINE;

  • Ovid/HMIC/AMED/Embase;

  • Cochrane Review Library;

  • Trial registries:
    • ISRCTN and
    • ClinicalTrials.Gov.

Databases were searched using the search terms as shown in Table 1. A citation review, as well as a search of the grey literature (including non-peer reviewed and pre-print studies, manufacturers’ and healthcare organisations’ publications) and wider internet, was also performed.

Table 1.

Search strategy and terms used.

acromioclavicular
OR acromioclavicular
OR distal clavicle
AND
NOT osteolysis
NOT dislocat*
NOT septic
NOT infection
NOT reconstruct*
NOT injur*
NOT diagnos*
NOT repair
NOT diagnosis
NOT report
NOT fracture
NOT fixation
NOT stabili*
NOT instablity
NOT separation*
NOT disrupt*
NOT nonunion
NOT ruptur*
NOT imag*
NOT radiog*
NOT cadaver*
NOT review*
NOT editor*
NOT cyst*
NOT nerv*
NOT osteochondroma

*indicates the wildcard term used for searching multiple characters or terms to give the widest search results for a given term.

All studies had to include participants with primary OA of the ACJ, as defined either nominally, clinically or radiographically, with at least one intervention and functional outcomes of the intervention. Studies include atraumatic ACJ pain with positive clinical tests such as cross-body arm adduction or compression tests (i.e. Paxinos test) or positive joint injection. These were included as they are defined as diagnostic in the current BESS/BOA guidance, 15 are widely validated and are sensitive (though not specific) to the joint.18,19 Previous review articles assessing the ACJ have also used these criteria5,6,9,20 Studies only assessing complication/revision rate or revision surgery were excluded. Studies that included only participants with post-traumatic OA and distal clavicular osteolysis were also specifically excluded, as these pathologies are different from primary OA and typically afflict at a younger age. No exclusions were made for age or language of studies.

Abstracts were screened independently by two of the authors using the inclusion and exclusion criteria listed in Tables 2 and 3, with the third author adjudicating in cases of disagreement over inclusion.

Table 2.

Inclusion criteria.

Inclusion criteria
  • ACJ arthritis +/− concomitant pathology – rotator cuff/impingement syndromes

  • ACJ pain with CA adduction test + ve or radiographic degeneration

  • At least one intervention – physiotherapy, joint injections, surgery

  • Clinical studies – case series, RCTs

  • Included QoL/functional/pain outcomes

ACJ: acromioclavicular joint; RCTs: randomised controlled trials.

Table 3.

Exclusion criteria.

Exclusion criteria
  • Studies including only participants with distal clavicular osteolysis

  • Only studies for ACJ disruption/stabilisation/post-traumatic OA

  • Revision surgery

  • Biomechanical/cadaveric studies

  • Reviews/knowledge summaries

  • Case reports/letters

  • Abstracts

  • Purely complication or revision rate

  • Unable to obtain complete study

ACJ: acromioclavicular joint; OA: osteoarthritis.

Studies were assessed for participant demographics, indications, follow-up length and pre-and post-interventional functional scores were extracted. If surgical, the length and type of initial conservative management and the types of surgery conducted were noted. Two screeners worked independently, and no data extraction tools were used. Mean functional scores (i.e. DASH, UCLA/Constant/ASES shoulder scores) were converted to a percentage of their total score to provide a method of comparison between varying scoring systems. This was used as there is no validated method to compare all of the numerous patient-related outcome measures. Whilst not used previously, this provides a simple way for the reader to assess between studies and allow quantitative comparison.

Figure 1 shows the PRISMA diagram with the number and outcomes of all studies found in the initial search.

Figure 1.

Figure 1.

Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses (PRISMA) diagram showing the path of all papers found in the initial search.

Results

Forty-eight studies from 1968 to 2021 met the final inclusion criteria. One study included only physiotherapy as the sole intervention; 11 included joint injections but no operative management, with a majority being steroid/local anaesthetic, and 36 studies included operative procedures. Surgical studies included five comparative trials – four studied open versus arthroscopic resection and one physiotherapy versus surgery. Meta-analysis could not be performed due to the heterogeneity of the study’s methods and outcomes.

Demographics

Many studies included concomitant ACJ and shoulder disease, most often impingement or rotator cuff pathology as well as ACJ OA, but a majority of participants/joints in the studies had ACJ OA as their primary complaint. A total of 2324 joints were included in the studies with 1902 of them diagnosed as primary ACJ OA. The average age of participants was 51 years old, 60.3% were men and they had an average follow-up of 29 months. The majority (21/36) of operative studies originated in the United States whereas none of those studying only joint injection did, with these predominantly coming from Europe and Australia.

Physiotherapy (Appendix 1)

Only one study used physiotherapy as the sole intervention, though one study looked at physiotherapy versus surgical management in participants with ACJ OA and impingement. A case series looking at the effect of physiotherapy at a US military medical centre on participants with ACJ OA found that they had significantly improved functional outcomes at 6 months with physiotherapy alone. Another study 21 compared DCE with 3 months physiotherapy in participants with arthritis and impingement, finding that the operative group had significantly better functional outcomes at 1-year follow-up than the therapy group.

Joint injection (Appendix 2)

Eleven studies investigated 530 osteoarthritic joints treated with injection, the majority being steroid and local anaesthetic injection which is the accepted current non-operative treatment for ACJ OA. One studied prolotherapy and two looked at novel techniques including platelet-rich plasma (PRP) and radiosynoviorthesis. At an average of 7.5 months follow-up, all of the studies showed some positive effect on pain and/or function compared with baseline. There was an average pain reduction from a visual analog scale (VAS; out of 10) score from 6.4 to 3.0. When reported, functional scores improved from 51% to 79%. Three studies reported rates of progression to surgery of 59–67%,but with short follow-up from an injection of 1–5 months. In these studies, participants with a shorter response to joint injection were considered non-responders and offered surgery.

Operative management (Appendix 3)

Thirty-six studies reporting on operative outcomes in ACJ OA included 1386 osteoarthritic joints with an average follow-up of 37.4 months. Twenty-six studies looked at arthroscopic DCE and 14 open DCEs with 4 studies comparing open and arthroscopic. One study presented the findings from percutaneous DCE performed radiologically without the use of an arthroscope. 22 Nine studies also carried out subacromial decompression (SAD) for impingement and seven studies rotator cuff repair (RCR) for rotator cuff tears.

Functional scores improved from an average of 52.1% before the operation to 87.8% afterwards. This remained consistent whether RCR or SAD was carried out. All three interventions carried out together had a lower functional outcome score, but in only three studies with a small cohort of participants. This may be due to a combination of factors including poorer functional baseline but must be taken in the context of small numbers (Figure 2).

Figure 2.

Figure 2.

Venn diagram showing numbers of operative studies including distal clavicle excision (DCE) +/− different interventions and numbers of shoulders within them. (% score indicates the average functional outcome score at final follow-up).

There was no association between age and functional outcome or between functional outcome and length of final follow-up. There was a large variation in the average mean participant age between studies. This may be partly due to the inclusion of studies that included other pathologies such as distal clavicle osteolysis or post-traumatic OA, as well as ACJ OA as these commonly present at an earlier age.

Quality of studies

Studies were quality assessed using the Cochrane Risk of Bias 2 (RoB2) tool 23 and the results can be found in Appendix 4. There was significant variation in the methodology, quality, outcomes and reporting of the studies. There were two randomised controlled trials (RCTs)24,25 within the injection category and three within the operative studies26–28 which are classified as level 2 evidence. 29 The other studies were a mixture of cohort studies and case series which are level 4 evidence. A majority (33/48) of the studies used a validated functional outcome score (i.e. ASES, UCLA and Constant), several used pain rating such as the VAS score (five studies) or another form (five studies) and the remainder used subjective or created scoring systems. Four studies failed to give key demographics such as age, sex distribution or number of participants.

Discussion

The evidence from this systematic review showed that when receiving treatment – whether this be physiotherapy, medical management or surgery – participants showed considerable improvement in their patient-related outcome measures including pain.

Non-operative management

There is a dearth of evidence for physiotherapy alone, with only one study looking at this despite it being a mainstay of treatment for a majority of participants with ACJ OA. The single study following participants undergoing only physiotherapy had short follow-up and was from a military health centre which may make the findings less applicable to the wider population. Studies looking at joint injections had a relatively short follow-up period and high rates of conversion to operative management. One UK 30 study, however, found significantly improved functional scores at 5-year follow-up and correlation between younger age and greater improvement. Studies reporting duration of improvement of symptoms had large variation between them; Jacob and Sallay 31 reported 21 days of improvement whereas Kurta et al., 32 Bain et al. 33 and Hossain et al. 30 reported 3, 19.5 and 240 months respectively.

Operative management

Arthroscopic versus open DCE

Four studies looked at look at open versus arthroscopic DCE with differences in outcome. Two studies26,34 found a non-significant increase in pain with open operations, another a significant increase 35 and another 36 conversely found significantly decreased pain with an open DCE. There were no apparent differences in participant demographics, numbers, methods or follow-up period to account for the contradictory findings. One reason posited for this is an open operation may be quicker and may allow greater adequacy of excision when compared with an arthroscopic approach but that arthroscopic is less invasive, as well as easier concomitant acromioplasty.

SAD/acromioplasty

Eight studies included concomitant SAD as well as DCE, all with positive outcomes. Dragoo et al., 37 Levine et al. 38 and Daluga and Dobozi 39 all found good outcomes including whether a direct or bursal approach was used. Brix et al. 40 found persistent pain at 6 months after the operation in approximately one-third of participants, with associations to compensation cases and a propensity to anxiety amongst those suffering ongoing symptoms.

RCR

Seven studies looking at DCE with RCR showed good results and used only the arthroscopic technique. A key finding was a RCT 28 randomising participants with ACJ OA and 50–100% rotator cuff tears to DCE or DCE and RCR which showed no clinical difference in the outcome. Another RCT 27 randomised participants with radiological ACJ OA and rotator cuff tears to RCR or RCR and DCE, also with no clinical difference in outcome. However, a larger case series 41 found that participants undergoing RCR who did not undergo a DCE had significantly worse functional outcomes. Three other studies39,42,43 which included groups having concomitant RCR and DCE all found positive outcomes including reduction of pain, return to previous sporting level and participant satisfaction.

The results above from participants having concomitant surgery such as RCR or SAD show the need to ensure concomitant pathology is diagnosed prior to surgery. An arthroscopic approach to DCE allows SAD to be performed in the same operation with minimal additional time and procedure.

Patient selection

There were a small number of participants (>10%) who did not have good outcomes from surgery. Several studies also commented that participants who fared badly from surgery were worker compensation cases or those with predisposition to altered pain experience. Brix 40 with 6 months follow-up, found that 36% of participants had persistent pain with significant associations of unemployment, insurance/compensation and anxiety traits to a worse outcome. A number of other studies41,44,45 found that work-related injury participants had a significantly decreased functional score post-surgery or worse outcomes.46–48 Many studies excluded participants with ongoing compensation claims.

Though this review covers primary ACJ OA, some included studies included other aetiologies. The studies which include OA with trauma as a causative agent show these participants to have poorer outcomes. Novak et al. 45 found 4/5 ‘poor’ results had traumatic onset. Another study 49 found only reasonable outcomes overall and warn ‘it is difficult to advocate this procedure as a common treatment for chronic pain of the ACJ due to a … degenerative condition.’ This study included a large proportion of participants with traumatic aetiology and found poorer outcomes in this subgroup.

Length of clavicular excision

There is varying evidence on the significance of the length of clavicle excised, with studies suggesting poorer outcomes if too little or too much clavicle is removed. A small study 44 (n = 18) used a CT scan to quantify clavicular excision and found a mean resection length of 6.6 mm in ‘good’ results and 4 mm in ‘moderate or poor” results.’ Whilst this finding was not statistically significant, it may aid in advising a minimum resection length.

Another 42 measured average excision to be 9 mm and all participants were satisfied with a large majority returning to their previous level of sport. Eskola et al. 49 in a study (n = 73) with 9 years average follow-up, and an average of 16 mm excision length found a significant association between increased excision length and pain, with participants who over 1 cm resected to have significantly more pain than those under 1 cm. They still found reasonable functional outcomes in those participants treated for primary ACJ OA. Duindam et al. 36 compared arthroscopic and open excision finding a shorter average excision length in the arthroscopic group (3.2 mm) compared to 7.1 mm in the open group but no difference in the functional outcomes. Table 4 shows the length of DCE versus functional outcome in studies which included this information. There was no association between excision length and functional outcome score.

Table 4.

Length of excision versus functional outcome.

Average clavicular excision (cm) Functional outcome score
Kay 1994 50 1–1.5 90%
Snyder et al. 47 1.5–2.1 89.1%
Dragoo et al. 37 1.5 91.8%
Flatow 1995 51 0.6–1.25 NS (‘Satisfactory in 83%’)
Duindam et al. 36 78.3%
  • - Open

0.32 79%
  • - Arthroscopic

0.71 78%
Kim et al. 44 0.55 70.2%
Park 2016 52 0.4–0.7 95.4%
Ringshawl 2021 53 0.75 84.6%

The UK study looking at revision 54 of DCE found that incomplete excision was the primary reason for revision ACJ excision, followed by heterotopic ossification. It also found that functional outcomes did not significantly improve, and satisfaction scores remained low in revision participants. Blazar et al. 55 found increased pain in participants with greater translation of their remaining distal clavicle after excision.

BESS and BOA recommend the following pathway for non-operative treatment of ACJ OA as part of wider guidance for shoulder pain in primary care (Figure 3). Conservative measures and steroid injections are recommended along with radiographs if there is no improvement.

Figure 3.

Figure 3.

Diagnosis and treatment of shoulder pain in primary care. 60

Image-guided injection

Joint injections may be freehand or use image guidance, normally in the form of ultrasound. Bain et al. 33 showed that the initial needle position without (fluoroscopic) guidance was only intra-articular 50% of the time. Park et al. 56 directly compared palpation and ultrasound-guided injection in 100 participants, finding some functional outcomes to be significantly improved at 6 months in the ultrasound-guided group, but not at 1 or 3 months. Sabeti-Aschraf et al.24,25 conversely found no difference between palpation and ultrasound-guided injections, as well as no difference between ultrasound-guided intra- or peri-articular injection at relatively short (3 weeks) follow-up. Another study 57 proved joint entry in 96% using ultrasound and that the anterior superior aspect of the joint was the widest target even in advanced degeneration. Cadaveric studies have shown image guidance to improve needle aim and joint penetration.58,59 Despite ultrasound guidance being shown to improve the accuracy of intra-articular injection, it is not clear that it improves clinical outcomes and the authors therefore do not recommend its use routinely.

Imaging

Many of the more recent studies in this review used pre-operative MRI, following radiographs to form an initial radiological diagnosis. MRI can provide knowledge of those likely to benefit most from other interventions with capsular hypertrophy shown to be the most significant finding related to (short-term) pain relief from injection. 61 In an asymptomatic cohort, Frigg et al. 62 found MRI-proven ACJ OA ‘remained asymptomatic in 83% of cases … 10% turned worse.’ Whilst not routinely recommended, the authors contend that MRI may be useful in a small cohort of patients for whom clinical tests are positive but radiographs normal or equivocal. In this case, MRI scan may help to distinguish between arthritis and temporary inflammation or pain due to other causes. For a majority of patients, MRI will be unnecessary and a strain on limited healthcare resources. Ultrasound can be used to confirm the presence of other causative aetiologies such as rotator cuff or biceps tendon pathology. 15

Pre-operative management

Eighteen studies (see Appendix 5) specified their initial non-operative management with an average of 6.4 months between commencing conservative management (including joint injection) and surgery. The studies gave ubiquitously positive outcomes for surgery with functional scores, pain and return to activity all improved in participants who had undergone an initial trial of non-operative treatment. After this period with steroid injection and other non-operative modalities, operative management should be considered for patients with ongoing symptoms with a high likelihood of benefit from surgery. Some patients will present more acutely and require more urgent operative management at the surgeon's discretion.

Strengths

This review was systematic, using the PRISMA guidelines, and made no exclusions for age or language. It captured a large number of participants with primary ACJ OA and used a pragmatic approach to ensure studies including participants with concomitant or different pathology were captured. The authors have ensured the findings are placed in a clinically relevant context with respect to UK practice.

Limitations

One of the key limitations of this review is that we only used English-language/Western databases and registers. Though no exclusions were made for language (and a non-English-language paper was included) studies in other languages, notably Chinese languages, may not have been captured as they may not be indexed in the databases used. A majority of operative studies were from the United States and, though the demographics of the patients were broadly similar to the author’s experience of those in the UK, they may not be generalisable to other populations. The quality and heterogeneity of studies within the review is a limitation with multiple measures of functional outcomes and variation in their report.

Conclusions

A large body of evidence for the treatment of primary ACJ OA was found. The quality of studies and outcomes was varied, as well as studies including mixed indications and interventions. Participants have improved functional outcomes from joint injection (over a limited period) and operative management after a period of non-operative management which averaged 6 months. There was no significant difference between open or arthroscopic DCE and patients having between 0.5 and 2 cm of clavicle excised had good outcomes. Participants requiring concomitant RCR or SAD had similarly good outcomes. Patients with specific factors (workers’ compensation claims, anxiety or altered pain perception) may have poorer outcomes.

Ultrasound-guided injection improves the accuracy of penetration of the joint with the needle but there is not good evidence to suggest this improves functional outcome. It is therefore not recommended routinely. MRI is not recommended routinely for patients with clinical and radiological OA.

The authors have collated all the available information on ACJ OA treatment and provided practical interpretation of the evidence regarding treatment.

Appendix 1.

Studies including conservative management of acromioclavicular joint (ACJ) osteoarthritis (OA).

Author Year Study type Indication Intervention Participants Joints Mean age Male sex Average follow-up (months) Outcome measures Pre-score Post-score
Harris 2012 Prospective cohort ACJ OA Physiotherapy 13 13 41.1 85% 6 SPADI
ASES
34.6
59.5
4.8
92

Appendix 2.

Studies including ACJ injection.

Author Year Study type Indication Intervention Participants Joints Mean age Male sex Average follow-up (months) Outcome measures Pre-score Post-score
Kurta 2005 Prospective case series ACJ OA (n = 13)
Osteolysis (n = 4)
Disruption (n = 1)
SI + LA 18 18 46.3 88.9% 0.5 VAS
Duration of pain relief
7 3.6
14.3 weeks
Bain 2007 Case–control study ACJ OA USS-guided versus blind SI 44 44 46 25.0% 0 VAS
Progression to surgery
6 2 (immediate)
59% at 5 months
Hossain 2008 Prospective case series ACJ OA SI 20 25 55 40% 12 Constant 60 87
Sabeti-Aschraf 2010 Prospective RCT ACJ OA USS versus palpation SI 20 20 51.3 55% 0.75 VAS-rest
CMS
7.0
50.0
6.3
61.3
van Riet 2012 Prospective case series ACJ OA SI + LA 58 58 48 60% 42 VAS
ASES
UCLA
0.5
94.1
33.9
Sabeti-Aschraf 2013 Prospective RCT ACJ OA Intra versus peri-articular SI 101 106 53.1 NS 0.75 VAS-n
VAS-p
Constant-Murley
COAT
5.22
5.76
54.5
2.25
2.42
2.68
73.3
1.1
Edelson 2014 Prospective case series ACJ OA (n = 15)
+/− RC tears +/− other pathology (n = 18)
SI + LA 48 48 53 46% 6 VAS 8
8
2.5
6.5
Park 2015 Retrospective case series ACJ OA USS-guided versus blind SI 100 100 58.5 23% 6 SPADI
VNSar
52.9
5.09
29.0
2.38
Hsieh 2018 Prospective case series ACJ OA/enthesopathy Prolotherapy (dextrose + LA) 31 31 57.4 32.30% 2 VAS delta = −4.3
Vereb 2018 Prospective case series ACJ OA Radiosynoviorthesis using erbium-169 51 85 64.3 35% 6 VAS 6.4 3.4
Ramesh Raja 2021 Prospective case series ACJ OA PRP injection 13 16 51 62% 6 Constant 45 89

ACJ: primary acromioclavicular joint; LA: local anaesthetic; OA: osteoarthritis; RC tear: rotator cuff tear; SI: steroid injection.

Appendix 3.

Studies including operative management of ACJ arthritis.

Author Year Study type Indication Intervention Participants Joints Mean age Male sex Final follow-up (months) Outcome measures Pre-score Post-score
Worcester and Green 1968 Retrospective case series ACJ OA (n = 56) Open DCE 56 56 54 63% 54 Pain
ROM
Majority pain free and full ROM by 4 months
Daluga 1989 Retrospective case series Imp +/− ACJ OA +/− RC
Imp, ACJ OA (n = 13)
Imp, ACJ OA, RC (n = 10)
Imp (n = 18)
Imp + RC (n = 9)
SAD + Open DCE
SAD + Open DCE + RCR
SAD
SAD + RCR
50 50 53 76% 45 Loyola Shoulder Evaluation NS Excellent = 32, good = 14, average = 2, poor = 2
Bigliani 1993 Retrospective case series ACJ OA
Osteolysis
Traumatic OA
Arthro DCE NS 42 NS NS 21 Resolution of pain/return to full activity 93%
(37% in traumatic OA)
Gartsman 1993 Retrospective case series ACJ OA Arthro DCE
SI
20 20 51.3 65% 24 ASES
-Pain
-Work
-ADLs
-Sports

2.1
2.1
1.9
1.1

4.5
3.5
3.8
3.6
Jerosch 1993 Prospective case series ACJ OA (n = 35)
Post-traumatic (n = 16)
Arthro DCE 51 51 48.4 52.9% 13.4 homemade QOL (pain, movement, strength, ROM) 67.8 93.3
Tolin 1993 Retrospective case series ACJ OA Arthro DCE 33 33 39 82.0% 25 UCLA Excellent = 9, Good = 11, Fair = 3
22 returned to pre-injury level of sport
Kay 1994 Prospective case series ACJ OA Arthro DCE 10 10 44 80% 14 UCLA All pain on movement. 9 had ADL/night pain All ‘good or excellent result(s)’
Petchell 1994 Retrospective case series ACJ OA (n = 10)
Post-traumatic OA (n = 7)
Osteolysis (n = 1)
Open DCE 18 18 38 83% 36 UCLA NS Excellent = 4, Good = 9, Fair = 5
Flatow 1995 Retrospective case series ACJ OA (n = 16)
Osteolysis (n = 13)
ACJ seperation (n = 8)
Hypermobility (n = 4)
Arthro DCE 41 41 32 76% 31 NS  NS ‘41 shoulders were excellent in 18 (44%), good in 16 (39%), and poor in seven (17%). Therefore satisfactory results were noted in 83% of this overall treatment group.’
Novak 1995 Retrospective case series ACJ OA (n = 10)
Osteolysis (n = 1)
Open DCE 21 23 36 NS 30 HSS NS 87
‘12 excellent, 6 good, 4 fair, 1 poor’
Snyder 1995 Retrospective case series ACJ OA Arthro DCE 46 50 42 84.8% 24 Pain
UCLA
7.7
24
1.7
34, 94% high/excellent
Eskola 1996 Retrospective cohort ACJ OA (n = 33)
Traumatic OA (n = 40)
Open DCE 73 73 43 64% 108 Subjective NS 11 – good; 13 – satisfactory; 9 – poor
Blazar 1998 Retrospective case series ACJ OA Open DCE 16 17 39 75% 12 University of Pennsylvania Shoulder Score NS 90.9
Gürbuz 1998 Prospective case series ACJ OA + impingement DCE +/− ant acromioplasty +/− RCR (n = 12)
Physio (n = 14)
27 27 57.6 37.0% 13 UCLA 13
10
28
13
Jacob 1998 ACJ OA SI + LA
Arthro DCE
27 27 38 77.4% 19 ASES NS 81
95
Levine 1998 Retrospective case series ACJ OA

Arthro DCE + SAD 24 24 55 58% 32.5 Pain (1–5, 5 = no pain) 1.8 4.3
Lesko 1999 Prospective case series ACJ OA (n = 57) Artho DCE +/− RCR 57 57  NS NS NS Pain  NS ‘Improvement or elimination of the distal clavicle pain was reported in all subjects’
Martin 2001 Prospective case series ACJ pain + Imp
ACJ OA (n = 13)
Osteolysis (n = 3)
Joint injury (n = 15)
DCE + RCR 31 32 36 93.5% 24 Functional ADLs score 2.7 3.9
Kay 2003 ACJ OA (n = 16)
Osteolysis (n = 4)
Arthro DCE + SAD 20 20 NS 85% 72 UCLA
Constant
17.5
70.5
29.8
98.5
Barber 2006 Prospective case series Impingement +/− ACJ OA
+ OA (n = 23)
SAD +/− Arthro DCE 81 81 46 69.1% 73 Constant
ASES
NS 96.0
97.7
Levine 2006 Retrospective case series ACJ OA (n = 58)
Osteolysis (n = 5)
Both (3)
Bursal-approach Arthro DCE + SAD
Direct-approach Arthro DCE + SAD
60 66 46 75% 72 ASES NS 90
94
Freedman 2007 Prospective RCT OA (n = 8)
Osteolysis (n = 4)
Traumatic OA (n = 5)
Arthro DCE
Open DCE
17 17 40 94% 12 VAS
SF36 – bodily pain subscale
4
43
1.4
69
Cheung 2009 Prospective cohort study ACJ OA (n = 57)
Osteolysis (n = 7)
Open DCE +/− ant/inf. acromioplasty 58 64 48 74.1% 99.6 Pain (1–5, 5 = worst)
ASES
4.7 2.3
88.3
Elhassan 2009 Retrospective case series ACJ OA (n = 102)
Osteolysis (n = 3)
Arthro DCE
Open DCE
103 105 45 46% 50 VAS
Constant
7.7
48
1.8
88
teStroet 2010 Prospective case series ACJ OA (n = 13)
Traumatic OA (n = 10)
Open DCE 22 23 44 45.5% 12 VAS
Constant
70
64
25
86
Robertson 2011 Retrospective cohort ACJ OA (n = 44)
Osteolysis (n = 5)
Arthro DCE

Open DCE
48 49 49 52% 57 VAS
ASES
VAS
ASES
NS 0.61
94.6
1.59
87.5
Duindam 2014 Retrospective cohort ACJ OA (n = 145)
Traumatic OA (n = 4)
Arthro DCE
Open DCE
143 149 53.5 37% 38 VAS (0–100)
DASH
NS 17.2
21.7
Kim 2014 Retrospective cohort ACJ OA (n = 10)
Traumatic OA (n = 8)
Arthro DCE 18 18 49 83% 32 Constant
57.7
70.2
Oh 2014 Prospective RCT Asymptomatic ACJ OA + RC tears RCR +/− DCE 78 78 63.8 69% 29 VAS
Constant
ASES
6.7
74.0
48.9
0.6
96.0
93.0
Park 2015 Prospective RCT ACJ OA + RC tears RCR +/− DCE 56 58 62.6 19% 44 VAS
Constant
ASES
5.3
44.5
39.5
1.8
74.5
81
Razmjou 2015 Prospective case series ACJ OA + RC tears 144 DCE + RCR

40 RCR
184 184 62 60.9% 24 ASES
RCMS
ASES
RCMS
49
51
44
47
86
96
77
85
Gokkus 2016 Retrospective case series ACJ OA Open DCE 30 30 52.5 40% 27 VAS
UCLA
83.6
11.5
26.6
29.2
Park 2016 Prospective case series ACJ OA Arthro DCE 20 20 56 50% 74 UCLA 13.7 33.4
Brix 2019 Prospective case series ACJ OA Arthro ACJ resection +/− SAD 101 101 56 39.0% 6 No pain  NS 64.40%
Ng 2020 Prospective case series ACJ OA Percutaneous DCE 15 15 61.7 73% 27 VAS
Constant
SF-36
6.2
51.7
59.8
0
87.3
94.9
Ringshawl 2021 Prospective case series ACJ OA
92% OA
8% traumatic OA
Arthro DCE 50 50 49.7 36.0% 36 UCLA 13.2 29.6

ACJ: primary acromioclavicular joint; Arthro DCE: arthroscopic distal clavicle excision; Imp: sub-acromial impingement; NS: not specified; OA: osteoarthritis; Open DCE: open distal clavicle excision; RC: rotator cuff tear; RCR: rotator cuff repair; SAD: subacromial decompression; Trauma: post-traumatic OA.

Appendix 4.

Cochrane Risk of Bias 2 (ROB2) quality assessment of studies.

Non-operative study Year Bias arising from randomisation Bias due to deviation from intended interventions Bias due to missing outcome data Bias in the measurement of the outcome Bias in the selection of the reported result Overall risk of bias
Harris 2012 – graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg
Kurta 2005 – graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img2.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg
Bain 2007 – graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img2.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img2.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img2.jpg
Hossain 2008 – graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg
Sabeti-Aschraf 2010 graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg
Van Riet 2012 – graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img2.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img2.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img2.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img2.jpg
Sabeti-Aschraf 2013 graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg
Edelson 2014 – graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg
Park 2015 – graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg
Hsieh 2018 – graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img2.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg
Vereb 2018 – graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg
Ramesh Raja 2021 – graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg graphic file with name 10.1177_17585732231157090-img1.jpg

Inline graphic = low risk of bias; Inline graphic = some concerns about bias; Inline graphic = high risk of bias.

Appendix 5.

Length and form of conservative management prior to operative management in surgical studies.

Author Initial conservative management (months) Form of conservative management Joints
Gartsman 12.2 NSAIDs;SI 20
Jerosch 9.8 Not specified 51
Tolin 6 NSAIDs; PT; maximum 2 × SI 33
Kay 4 NSAIDs; lidocaine injection 10
Flatow 10.5 NSAIDs, heat, activity modification and SI 41
Novak 6 Not specified 23
Blazar 6 Not specified 17
Gürbuz 4.5 Not specified 27
Levine 6 NSAIDs; heat; activity modification; confirmatory SI 24
Martin 10 Not specified 32
Kay 6 Not specified 20
Freedman 6 NSAIDs; cryotherapy; activity modification 17
Elhassan 3 Not specified 105
Robertson 6 NSAIDs; PT; SI 49
Gokkus 3 NSAIDs; electrotherapy; activity modification; SI 30
Park 5 Not specified 20
Ng 3 NSAIDs; activity modification 15
Ringshawl 6 Not specified 50
Average: 6.4 Total: 584

PT: physiotherapy; SI: steroid/local anaesthetic injection.

Footnotes

The authors declared no potential conflicts of interest with respect to the research, authorship, and/or publication of this article.

Data availability statement: All extracted data are included as appendices and tables within this review. Any clarification can be sought by contacting the corresponding author.

Funding: The authors received no financial support for the research, authorship, and/or publication of this article.

References

  • 1.Artus M, van der Windt DA, Afolabi EK, et al. Management of shoulder pain by UK general practitioners (GPs): a national survey. BMJ Open 2017; 7: e015711. [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 2.Linsell L, Dawson J, Zondervan K. Prevalence and incidence of adults consulting for shoulder conditions in UK primary care. Rheumatology 2006; 45: 215–221. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 3.Östör AJK, Richards CA, Prevost ATet al. et al. Diagnosis and relation to general health of shoulder disorders presenting to primary care. Rheumatology 2005; 44: 800–805. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 4.Docimo S, Jr, Kornitsky D, Futterman Bet al. et al. Surgical treatment for acromioclavicular joint osteoarthritis: patient selection, surgical options, complications, and outcome. Curr Rev Musculoskelet Med 2008; 1: 154–160. [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 5.Farrell G, Watson L, Devan H. Current evidence for nonpharmacological interventions and criteria for surgical management of persistent acromioclavicular joint osteoarthritis: a systematic review. Shoulder Elbow 2019; 11: 395–410. [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 6.Chaudhury S, Bavan L, Rupani N, et al. Managing acromio-clavicular joint pain: a scoping review. Shoulder Elbow 2018; 10: 4–14. [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 7.Slawski D, Cahill B. Atraumatic results of osteolysis of the distal clavicle open surgical excision. Am J Sports Med 1993; 22: 267–271. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 8.Zawadsky M, Marra G, Wiater JM, et al. Osteolysis of the distal clavicle: long-term results of arthroscopic resection. Arthroscopy 2000; 16: 600–605. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 9.Soler F, Mocini F, Djemeto DTet al. et al. No differences between conservative and surgical management of acromioclavicular joint osteoarthritis: a scoping review. Knee Surg Sports Traumatol Arthrosc 2021; 29: 2194–2201. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 10.Pensak M, Grumet RC, Slabaugh MAet al. et al. Open versus arthroscopic distal clavicle resection. Arthroscopy 2010; 26: 697–704. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 11.Hohmann E, Tetsworth K, Glatt V. Open versus arthroscopic acromioclavicular joint resection: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Arch Orthop Trauma Surg 2019; 139: 685–694. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 12.Rabalais RD, McCarty E. Surgical treatment of symptomatic acromioclavicular joint problems: a systematic review. Clin Orthop Relat Res 2007; 455: 30–37. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 13.Amirtharaj MJ, Wang D, McGraw MH, et al. Trends in the surgical management of acromioclavicular joint arthritis among board-eligible US orthopaedic surgeons. Arthroscopy 2018; 34: 1799–1805. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 14.National Institute for Health and Care Excellence. Scenario: Acromioclavicular joint disorders, https://cks.nice.org.uk/topics/shoulder-pain/management/acromioclavicular-joint-disorders/ (2017, accessed March 2022).
  • 15.British Elbow & Shoulder Society. Patient care pathways and guidelines. Subacromial shoulder pain pathway, https://bess.ac.uk/patient-care-pathways-and-guidelines/ (2015, accessed May 2022).
  • 16.American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons. Arthritis of the Shoulder. OrthoInfo, https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/diseases–conditions/arthritis-of-the-shoulder (2021, accessed March 2022).
  • 17.Moher D, Shamseer L, Clarke M, et al. Preferred reporting items for systematic review and meta-analysis protocols (PRISMA-P) 2015 statement. Syst Rev 2015; 4: 1. [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 18.Walton J, Mahajan S, Paxinos A, et al. Diagnostic values of tests for acromioclavicular joint pain. J Bone Joint Surg Am 2004; 86: 807–812. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 19.Cadogan A, McNair P, Laslett Met al. et al. Shoulder pain in primary care: diagnostic accuracy of clinical examination tests for non-traumatic acromioclavicular joint pain. BMC Musculoskelet Disord 2013; 14: 156. [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 20.Mall NA, Foley E, Chalmers PNet al. et al. Degenerative joint disease of the acromioclavicular joint: a review. Am J Sports Med 2013; 41: 2684–2692. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 21.Gurbuz H, Unalan H, Sarisaltik Het al. et al. The role of acromioclavicular arthritis in impingement syndromes. Yonsei Med J 1998; 39: 97–102. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 22.Ng YH, Hong CC, Ng DZet al. et al. Percutaneous distal clavicle excision for acromioclavicular joint arthritis: our experience and early results of a novel surgical technique. Musculoskelet Surg 2021; 106: 247–255. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 23.Risk of Bias 2 (RoB 2) tool | Cochrane Methods, https://methods.cochrane.org/risk-bias-2 (2019, accessed July 2022).
  • 24.Sabeti-Aschraf M, Ochsner A, Schueller-Weidekamm C, et al. The infiltration of the AC joint performed by one specialist: ultrasound versus palpation a prospective randomized pilot study. Eur J Radiol 2010; 75: e37–e40. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 25.Sabeti-Aschraf M, Stotter C, Windhager R, et al. Intra-articular versus periarticular acromioclavicular joint injection: a multicenter, prospective, randomized, controlled trial. Arthroscopy 2013; 29: 1903–1910. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 26.Freedman BA, Javernick MA, Ross AEet al. et al. Arthroscopic versus open distal clavicle excision: comparative results at six months and one year from a randomized, prospective clinical trial. J Shoulder Elbow Surg 2007; 16: 413–418. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 27.Oh JH, Kim JY, Choi JHet al. et al. Is arthroscopic distal clavicle resection necessary for patients with radiological acromioclavicular joint arthritis and rotator cuff tears?: a prospective randomized comparative study. Am J Sports Med 2014; 42: 2567–2573. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 28.Park Y, Koh K, Shon Met al. et al. Arthroscopic distal clavicle resection in symptomatic acromioclavicular joint arthritis combined with rotator cuff tear: a prospective randomized trial. Am J Sports Med 2015; 43: 985–990. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 29.OCEBM Levels of Evidence—Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine (CEBM), University of Oxford [Internet], https://www.cebm.ox.ac.uk/resources/levels-of-evidence/ocebm-levels-of-evidence (2011, accessed March 2022).
  • 30.Hossain S, Jacobs LGHH, Hashmi R. The long-term effectiveness of steroid injections in primary acromioclavicular joint arthritis: a five-year prospective study. J Shoulder Elbow Surg 2008; 17: 535–538. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 31.Jacob AK, Sallay PI. Therapeutic efficacy of corticosteroid injections in the acromioclavicular joint. Biomed Sci Instrum 1997; 34: 380–385. [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 32.Kurta I, Datir S, Dove Met al. et al. The short term effects of a single corticosteroid injection on the range of motion of the shoulder in patients with isolated acromioclavicular joint arthropathy. Acta Orthop Belg 2005; 71: 656–661. [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 33.Bain G, Van Riet R, Gooi Cet al. et al. The long-term efficacy of corticosteroid injection into the acromioclavicular joint using a dynamic fluoroscopic method. Int J Shoulder Surg 2007; 1: 104–107. [Google Scholar]
  • 34.Elhassan B, Ozbaydar M, Diller Det al. et al. Open versus arthroscopic acromioclavicular joint resection: a retrospective comparison study. Arthroscopy 2009; 25: 1224–1232. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 35.Robertson WJ, Griffith MH, Carroll Ket al. et al. Arthroscopic versus open distal clavicle excision: a comparative assessment at intermediate-term follow-up. Am J Sports Med 2011; 39: 2415–2420. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 36.Duindam N, Kuiper JWP, Hoozemans MJMet al. et al. Comparison between open and arthroscopic procedures for lateral clavicle resection. Int Orthop 2014; 38: 783–789. [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 37.Dragoo JL, Lee R, Kay SP. Long-term results of arthroscopic resection of the distal clavicle with concomitant subacromial decompression. Arthroscopy 2003; 19: 805–809. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 38.Levine WN, Soong M, Ahmad CSet al. et al. Arthroscopic distal clavicle resection: a comparison of bursal and direct approaches. Arthroscopy 2006; 22: 516–520. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 39.Daluga DJ, Dobozi W. The influence of distal clavicle resection and rotator cuff repair on the effectiveness of anterior acromioplasty. Clin Orthop Relat Res 1989; 247: 117–123. [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 40.Brix LD, Thillemann TM, Bjørnholdt KTet al. et al. High prevalence of persistent pain 6 months after arthroscopic subacromial decompression and/or acromioclavicular joint resection. SICOT J 2019; 5: 21. [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 41.Razmjou H, Elmaraghy A, Dwyer Tet al. et al. Outcome of distal clavicle resection in patients with acromioclavicular joint osteoarthritis and full-thickness rotator cuff tear. Knee Surg Sports Traumatol Arthrosc 2015; 23: 585–590. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 42.Martin SD, Baumgarten TE, Andrews JR. Arthroscopic resection of the distal aspect of the clavicle with concomitant subacromial decompression. J Bone Joint Surg Am 2001; 83: 328–335. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 43.Lesko PD. Arthroscopic Mumford procedure variation of technique. Iowa Orthop J 1999; 19: 93–98. [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 44.Kim W, Ropars M, Fournier Aet al. et al. How long should arthroscopic clavicular resection be in acromioclavicular arthropathy? A radiological-clinical study (with computed tomography) of 18 cases at a mean 4 years’ follow-up. Orthop Traumatol Surg Res 2014; 100: S219–S223. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 45.Novak PJ, Bach BR, Jr, Romeo AAet al. et al. Surgical resection of the distal clavicle. J Shoulder Elbow Surg 1995; 4: 35–40. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 46.Tolin BS, Snyder SJ. Our technique for the arthroscopic Mumford procedure. Orthop Clin North Am 1993; 24: 143–151. [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 47.Snyder SJ, Banas MP, Karzel RP. The arthroscopic Mumford procedure: an analysis of results. Arthroscopy 1995; 11: 157–164. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 48.Petchell JF, Sonnabend DH, Hughes JS. Distal clavicular excision: a detailed functional assessment. Aust N Z J Surg 1995; 65: 262–266. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 49.Eskola A, Santavirta S, Viljakka Het al. et al. The results of operative resection of the lateral end of the clavicle. J Bone Joint Surg Am 1996; 78: 584–587. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 50.Kay SP, Ellman H, Harris E. Arthroscopic distal clavicle excision: Technique and early results. Clin Orthop Relat Res 1994; 301: 181–184. [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 51.Flatow EL, Duralde XA, Nicholson GP, et al. Arthroscopic resection of the distal clavicle with a superior approach. J Shoulder Elbow Surg 1995; 4: 41–50. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 52.Park TS, Lee K-W. Arthroscopic resection of the distal clavicle in osteoarthritis of the acromioclavicular joint. Indian J Orthop 2016a; 50: 379–383. [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 53.Ringshawl ZY, Farooq M, Bhat AA, et al. Indirect arthroscopic distal clavicle resection: an institutional experience with midterm functional outcome. Ortop Traumatol Rehabil 2021b; 23: 9–14. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 54.Dekker AP, Borton Z, Espag Met al. et al. Continuing acromioclavicular joint pain after excision arthroplasty: is further surgery effective? Ann R Coll Surg Engl 2019; 101: 357–362. [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 55.Blazar PE, Iannotti JP, Williams GR. Anteroposterior instability of the distal clavicle after distal clavicle resection. Clin Orthop Relat Res 1998; 348: 114–120. [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 56.Park KD, Kim TK, Lee Jet al. et al. Palpation versus ultrasound-guided acromioclavicular joint intra-articular corticosteroid injections: a retrospective comparative clinical study. Pain Physician 2015; 18: 333–341. [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 57.Edelson G, Saffuri H, Obid Eet al. et al. Successful injection of the acromioclavicular joint with use of ultrasound: anatomy, technique, and follow-up. J Shoulder Elbow Surg 2014; 23: e243–e250. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 58.Sabeti-Aschraf M, Lemmerhofer B, Schmidt M, et al. Ultrasound guidance improves the accuracy of the acromioclavicular joint infiltration: a prospective randomized study. Knee Surg Sports Traumatol Arthrosc 2011; 19: 292–295. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 59.Pichler W, Grechenig S, Grechenig W, et al. Intra-articular injection of the acromioclavicular joint. J Bone Joint Surg Br 2009; 91: 1638–1640. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 60.Kulkarni R, Gibson J, Brownson P, et al. Subacromial shoulder pain. Shoulder Elbow 2015; 7: 135–143. [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 61.Strobel K, Pfirrmann CWAA, Zanetti Met al. et al. MRI Features of the acromioclavicular joint that predict pain relief from intraarticular injection. Am J Roentgenol 2003; 181: 755–760. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 62.Frigg A, Song D, Willi Jet al. et al. Seven-year course of asymptomatic acromioclavicular osteoarthritis diagnosed by MRI. J Shoulder Elbow Surg 2019; 28: e344–e351. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]

Articles from Shoulder & Elbow are provided here courtesy of SAGE Publications

RESOURCES