Table 1.
Characteristics of the included studies
| Author, year, country, study design | Number and type of included primary studies number of participants/sites (Intervention and Control), country and publication year range |
Databases, date of last search or search date range, search limitations | Age, sex, setting | Systematic review’s interventions vs. systematic review’s comparators | Primary and secondary outcomes | Certainty of evidence, reporting biases |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Xiang et al. 2019, China, systematic review and meta-analysis |
10 RCTs (385 and 597) 4 in Turkey 1 in Iran 2 in India 2 in Cyprus 1 in Egypt published from 2010 to 2017 |
PubMed, Embase, Cochrane library Limited to English language, last search on September 3, 2017 |
Mean age 24.12 m/f 173/212 outpatients University Dental Clinic |
PRF vs. Spontaneous healing | Adverse events (pain, alveolar osteitis, trismus), osteoblastic activity, soft tissue healing |
Quality of the evidence (GRADE) moderate for swelling outcome, low for pain, alveolar osteitis and soft tissue healing and very low for trismus and osteoblastic activity. No evidence of asymmetrical distribution in the funnel plot in trismus (Begg’s test P = 0.734; Egger’s test P = 0.677) and alveolar osteitis (Begg’s test P = 1.000; Egger’s test P = 0.198) |
| Chen et al. 2016, USA, systematic review and meta-analysis |
8 RCTs [224 (35 dropped out) and 383(70 dropped out)] 2 in Italy 2 in Turkey 1 in Iran 1 in Jordan 1 in Germany 1 in Brazil published from 2003 to 2015 |
MEDLINE (PubMed), Embase, Cochrane CENTRAL, Scopus, oral surgery related international journals and reference list of selected articles. Search until April 2016 |
Age 15–41 (20.73) 7 University Dental Clinic and 1 University Hospital |
Flaps other than triangular. Szmyd flap in 1 study Szmyd modified in 2 studies Envelope in 3 studies Envelope modified in 1 study Triangular modified in 1 study Vs Triangular flap |
Change in PD and CAL | There was no significant publication bias detected for WDPDR (Egger’s test, P = 0.80). The funnel plot demonstrated a symmetric distribution of the data in each study |
| He et al., China, 2017, systematic review and meta-analysis |
9 RCTs and 1 NRSI (retrospective case control) (483 and 935) 3 in Turkey 2 in Cyprus 2 in India 1 in Iran 1 in USA 1 in Italy published from 2010 to 2016 |
PubMed, Web of Science, Embase, Cochrane Library. Search until October 2016 |
Age range (mean) 17–50 (25.77). Age range NM in 2 studies and mean in 3. m/f 213/248, sex NM in 2 studies 6 University Dental Clinic, 1 Hospital Dental Department, 2 University Hospital, 1 private practice |
PRF vs. Spontaneous healing | Adverse events (pain, swelling, trismus, alveolar osteitis) and osteoblastic activity |
The funnel plot showed that considerable publication bias only existed in the comparisons of pain |
| Al-Hamed et al., Egypt, 2017, systematic review and meta-analysis |
5 RCTs and 1 NRSI (183 and 343) 2 in India 2 in Turkey 1 in Iran 1 in Cyprus published from 2010 to 2015 |
PubMed, the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, and Scopus. Search until November 2015 |
Age range (mean) 18–50 (25.75). Age range NM in 1 study 6 University Dental Clinic |
PRF vs. Spontaneous healing | PPD, Bone healing, soft tissue healing, adverse events (pain, swelling, trismus, alveolar osteitis) | NR |
| Barona- Dorado et al., Spain, 2014, systematic review |
3 RCTs (58 and 116) 1 in Turkey 1 in USA 1 in Iran published from 2008 to 2012 |
Medline (via Pubmed), EMBASE (via Ovid), NIH, and the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials Search until 30 June 2013 |
Age range 18–45, NM in 1 study Mean age 21.8, NM in 2 studies 2 in University Dental Clinic 1 in private practice |
PRP vs. Spontaneous healing | Adverse events (pain, alveolar osteitis), tissue healing, osteoblastic activity | Jadad Scale (Blind assessment of the quality of trial reports) for quality evaluation. Two studies scored 3 and one 4. Quality of evidence poor for all outcomes. |
| Lopes da Silva et al., Brazil, 2020, systematic review and meta-analysis |
20 RCTs (713 and 1265) 3 in Iran 1 in Saudi Arabi 1 in Jordan 3 in India 5 in Turkey 2 in Brazil 1 in Austria 2 in Italy 1 in New Zealand 1 in USA published from 2002 to 2018 |
Web of Science, PubMed (MEDLINE), Virtual Health Library (VHL; LILACS and IBECS), Cochrane Library, and Scopus. Search until November 2018 |
Age range 15–61, NM in 1 study Mean age 23.3, NM in 5 studies m/f 249/464, NM in 3 studies 19 in University Dental clinic, setting NR in one study |
Triangular flap vs. Envelope flap |
Primary: Pain, oedema, trismus Secondary: wound dehiscence, ecchymosis, alveolar osteitis, periodontal condition, and duration of surgery |
NR |
| Aloy- Prosper et al., Spain, 2010, a systematic review |
8 RCTs (180 and 269) 2 in Spain 1 in China 1 in Brazil 1 in Sweden 1 in USA 1 in Italy 1 in Turkey published from 2000 until 2009 |
PubMed and oral surgery related international journal from Jan 1997 until March 2009 |
Age range 16–52, NM in 2 studies Mean Age 28.18, NM in one study m/f 52/80, NM in 3 studies 8 in University dental Clinic |
Dental Hygiene distal to M2M | PPD, CAL | NR |
|
-scaling with hand instruments, mouth rinse and oral hygiene control -scaling with ultrasound device vs. no scaling | ||||||
| Flap design | ||||||
|
-Bayonet flap -Bayonet flap to 2 mm -Bayonet flap Vs -Szmyd flap -Bayonet flap -Szmyd modified flap | ||||||
| Bone regeneration techniques | ||||||
|
- Resorbable membrane - Resorbable membrane or Demineralized bone powder -PRP Vs -Non Resorbable membrane -Spontaneous healing -Spontaneous healing | ||||||
| Toledano-Serrabona et al., Spain, 2021, a systematic review and meta-analysis |
3 RCTs (81 and 162) 1 in Brazil 1 in Italy 1 in Saudi Arabia published from 2009 until 2012 |
PubMed, Scopus and Cochrane Library Search until April 2020 Oral surgery related journals from 2010 to 2020 |
Age range 15–35 Mean age 32, NM in 2 studies m/f 43/38 3 in University dental clinic |
Xenograft and collagen membrane or xenograft alone vs. spontaneous healing |
PPD reduction, CAL gain, ABL gain, adverse events | |
| Lee et al., USA, 2016, a systematic review and meta-analysis |
7 RCTs (152p and 284 s) 3 in Italy 2 in USA 1 in Saudi Arabia 1 in Iran published from 1993 until 2014 |
MEDLINE (PubMed), Embase, Web of Science, Dental and Oral Sciences Source, oral surgery related journals from January 1960 to August 2015, as long as reference lists of selected articles |
Age range 21–35, NM in one study Mean age 28.82, NM in 2 studies m/f 49/59, NM in 2 studies 6 in University Dental Clinic 1 in private practice |
Bone grafting, or GTR, or combination technique (bone grafting plus membrane) Vs spontaneous healing or other regenerative technique |
CAL gain, PPD reduction |
Evidence level 2b for 6 studies and 1b for 1 study based on the Oxford Centre for Evidence-based Medicine. Egger test showed no significance in regards to WDCAL and WDPD. Funnel plots did not demonstrate symmetric distribution of the data, meaning publication bias could not be completely ruled out. |
| Barbato et al., Italy, 2016, a systematic review and network meta-analysis |
16 RCTs (317p and 509 s) 5 in Italy 4 in USA 2 in Canada 1 in Iran 1 in Turkey 1 in China 1 in Spain 1 in Saudi Arabia published from 1985 until 2013 |
PubMed MEDLINE, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and EMBASE (via OVID), from 1974 to 22 December 2014 |
Age range 16–59, NM in 4 studies Mean age 27.84, NM in 5 studies m/f 65/106, NM in 7 studies 13 in University Dental Clinic 1 in Hospital Dental Departent 1 in Hospital Dental Department and in University Hospital Dental Clinic 1 in private dental practice |
regenerative/grafting procedures flap design type of suturing periodontal care of M2M vs. spontaneous healing or different regenerative technique, other flap design, other suturing technique, no periodontal maintenance |
CAL gain, PD reduction | Overall quality of evidence was rated from very low to moderate. |
| Camps-Font et al., Spain, 2018, a systematic review and meta-analysis |
21 RCTs [621p (42 dropped out) and 795 s] published 6 in Italy 4 in USA 2 in Brazil 2 in Iran 2 in India 1 in Spain 1 in China 1 in Egypt 1 in Sweden 1 in Turkey pubished from 1993 until 2017 |
MEDLINE (via PubMed), Cochrane Library (Wiley), Scopus (Elsevier), and Web of Science (Thomson Reuters), ClinicalTrials.gov,41 OpenGrey,42 and the World Health Organization’s International Clinical Trial Registry Platform Last search on 1 September 2017 |
Mean age 28.16, NM in 8 studies Age range 15–55, NM in |
Platelet concentrates, GTR, Osseous grafting and GBR Vs Other periodontal regenerative procedures and spontaneous healing |
CAL gain, PD reduction, ABL gain and adverse event rate |
The Peters test showed no significance (t = 1.55, P = 0.219), visual inspection of the funnel plot showed a slight asymmetry of data. The possibility of publication bias could not be ruled out. |
| Ramos et al., Brazil, 2022, a systematic review and meta-analysis |
17 RCTs (510p and 705 s) 6 in India 5 in Turkey 1 in Germany 1 in Italy 1 in Brazil 1 in Egypt 1 in Cyprus 1 in Lithuania published from 2015 until 2021 |
PubMed, MEDLINE, EMBASE, Web of Science, Virtual health library (BVS), and Cochrane, search until 30 July 2021 |
Age range 17–40 Mean age 23.96 m/f 143/180, NM in 6 studies |
PRF, A-PRF, L-PRF Vs spontaneous healing |
pain, edema, trismus, soft tissue healing, periodontal regeneration | NR |
| Pang et al., Hong Kong, 2022, a systematic review and meta-analysis |
8 RCTs 6 Prospective Analysis 859(73) patients 413(14) test sites/383(20) control sites 4 studies with no data on test/control sites. 4 in Italy 3 in Spain 1 in Germany 1 in Iran 1 in Chaina 1 in Hong Kong 1 in Taiwan 1 in Vietnam 1 in India Published from 2004–2020 |
Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CEN TRAL), MEDLINE (through PubMed), Scopus (Elsevier), and Embase. Search until April 9 2020, manual search in “Periodontology 2000, “Journal of Clinical Periodontology,” “Journal of Periodontology,” “International Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery,” “Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery,” for relevant articles published from April 2011 to March 2020. No mentioned search limitations. |
Age range: 15–81 Mean age in studies: 15.9–37.2 m/f 331/387 NM in 4 studies 13 University setting 1 Hospital |
−3-sided flap -SRP at the distal of second molar -regenerative materials -Postoperative use of antibiotics antiseptic mouth rinse vs. -envelope or 2-sided -without periodontal treatment -spontaneous healing -without the use of antibiotics -without antiseptic mouth rinse |
Final PPD, CAL changes, Final CAL, ABD (alveolar bone defect) reduction, Final ABD, Baseline PDD | NR |
| Soo-Hoong Low et al., 2020 Taiwan, systematic review and meta-analysis |
18 RCTs 9 parallel 9 split-mouth 475p (537 test sites and 237 control) 4 in Italy 3 in Spain 2 in USA 2 in Iran 2 in Turkey 1 in China 1 in Saudi Arabia 1 in Sweden 1 in Germany 1 in India Published from 1993 to 2020 |
Medline, Embase, Scopus, and Google Scholar, last search was conducted in Oct. 2019. |
Age range: 15–55 Mean age range: 21.03-43 129 males 151 females 7 articles don’t mention All University setting |
e-PTFE membrane resorbable PLA barrier demineralized bone powder ultrasonic root debridement polyglycolic acid/polylactic acid bioresorbable membranes 3-cornered flap Szmyd flap (anchor suture flap) Envelope flap Bovine porous bone mineral (BPBM) alone, BPBM plus collagen membrane (CM) xenograft plus a membrane Lincomycin-Impregnated Demineralized Freeze-Dried Bone Allograft Surgical extraction Vs distal root surface debrided triangular flap spontaneous healing |
Ridge preservation in sites where initial PD < 5 mm, 5–7 mm and > 7 mm (reduction of second molar distal site PD) | NR |
|
Franchini M et al., 2019, Italy, systematic review and meta-analysis |
3 RCTs (202, 188) 1 in India 1 in Spain 1 in Nigeria published from 2012 to 2015 |
PubMed, Embase, Scopus, Ovid, Cochrane library Original, Rcts with adults patients, English language in the last 20 years Last search 30 May 2019 |
Mean age 27,4 (18–50) m/f 91/111 n mention in. s |
PRP vs. Spontaneous healing |
Probing Depth, Clinical Attacment Level, Gingival Recession, Bone Defect |
NR |
|
Miron RJ et al.,2016 USA, systematic review |
1 CCT(100,200) 1 RCT(20,40) |
MEDLINE Last search 7th April 2016 |
Mean age n/m m/f n/m Setting n/m |
PRF vs. PRP Spontaneous Healing |
Soft Tissue Healing Localized Osteitis |
NR |
|
Danylyuk Y., Portugal 2019, systematic review |
24 RCTs (497/993) 6 Turkey 1 Iran 2 Cyprus 2 India 1 Egypt 1 Lithuania 1 Brazil |
MEDLINE (Pubmed) Google Scholar May 2019? (Last article included) Limitations: only RCTs using L-PRF |
M/F impossible to analyze as many studies don’t provide information. Mean age: 23.3 (15–48) outpatients |
L-PRF vs. Spontaneous healing |
Alveolitis Post-op pain Oedema Osseous regeneration Probing depth Trismus Healing of soft tissues(Healing index score) |
NR |
|
Del Fabbro M et al. 2011, Italy, systematic review |
3 CCTs (34,72) 2 in USA 1 in India 3 RCTs (48,96) 2 in Turkey 1 in Italy published from 2005 to 2010 |
MEDLINE, EMBASE, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (A further hand search was performed on the main international journals in the field of dentistry and of oral and maxillofacial surgery Radiology and Endodontology). No language or time restriction No limitation about follow up and number of patients Last search October 2010 |
Mean Age 24,05(No mention in 2 studies) (18–45) (No mention in 2 studies) m/f not reported Setting not reported |
PRP PRGF PRP + Gelfoam Vs Spontaneous Healing Gelfoam |
Soft tissue healing Hard tissue healing Post-op quality of life Tissue markers of wound healing and inflammation |
NR |
| Fujioka-Kobayashi M et al. 2021 Japan, systematic review and meta-analysis |
18 RCTs (643,1097) 7 in Turkey 4 in India 2 in Cyprus 1 in Italy 1 in Iran 1 in Lithuania 1 in Brazil 1 in Saudi Arabia Published from 2010 to 2019 |
PubMed/MEDLINE, the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Scopus, Embase and Lilacs Grey Literature (Literature Report and Opengrey) Hand search Last June 2020 without other restrictions regarding date or language. |
Mean Age 23,63(No mention in 4 studies) m/f 199/323 (No mention in 3 studies) |
PRF Piezo Piezo + PRF PRF + HA vs. Clot Traditional Piezo + Clot |
AO% Vas Scores/Pain Bone/Soft Tissue Healing |
NR |
| Zhu J. et al. 2020 China, systematic review and meta-analysis |
19 RCTs (811,1343) 6 in Turkey 5 in India 2 in Iran 2 in Cyprus 1 in Egypt 1 in Italy 1 in Lithuania 1 in Brazil |
PubMed, Embase, Web of Science, and Cochrane Library Last Search May 2019. |
Mean Age 23,66 (No mention in 4 studies) Range 18–40 (No mention in 16 studies) M/f n/m |
PRF (Type of flap) Vs Spontaneous healing |
Pain, swelling, trismus, Soft tissue healing, AO | NR |
| Zhu J. et al. 2019 China, systematic review and meta-analysis |
19 RCTs (954, 1365) 2 CCTs 5 in Iran 4 in Italy 4 in Turkey 2 in India 1 in Saudi Arabia 1 in Pakistan 1 in New Zealand 1 in Austria 1 in USA 1 in Jordan |
PubMed, Embase, Web of Science, and Cochrane Library Last Search November 2018 |
Mean Age 24,7 (No mention in 6 studies) Range 16–42,8 (No mention in 16 studies) m/f 247/401 (No mention in 4 studies) |
Envelope flap Vs Triangular Flap Modified Triangular flap |
Operating time Pain (VAS Grade, Number of painkillers) Swelling Trismus AO |
Publication bias was not assessed because the included number of observations for each outcome was less than 9. |
| Canellas J.V.D.S et al., 2020, Brazil, a systematic review and network meta-analysis |
37 RCTs (4716, 6175) 6 in Iran 4 in Denmark 4 in Turkey 3 in India 4 in China 3 in Spain 2 in Pakistan 1 in Britain 2 in Norway 1 in Nepal 1 in Lithuania 1 in Sweden 1 in Italy 1 in Peru 1 in Egypt 1 in Japan 1 in Kosovo |
EMBASE, Cochrane Library, MEDLINE/PubMed database, Web of Science, Scopus, Latin American and Caribbean Health Sciences Literature database (LILACS), and grey literature. Hand Search Last search 2 Semptember 2019 |
Mean Age 25,6(No mention in 4 studies) Range 15–65 (No mention in 11 studies) m/f 2136/1826 (No mention in 3 studies) |
PRF, DSTB, AMGAN, CHX gel, MChlo gel, PRP, CHX- 0,12 gel, CHX-1 gel, ABS, RBBFGF, COLOIDAL SILVER, ADM, HEAL – ALL, ChlorTetra, PAG, TGE, AMCA, PEPH, PEHB Vs PRF + HA, BC, PRF + CHX, PrRF, Placebo, ORZ gel, Eugenol paste, Iodoform, HY |
Alveolar Osteitis | |
|
Del Fabbro M. et al. 2017, Italy, Spain, A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis |
15 RCTs (481,849) 7 CCTs (151,302) 8 in India 5 in Turkey 2 in Italy 2 in Brazil 2 in Iran 1 in Spain 1 in USA 1 in Cyprus |
MEDLINE, EMBASE, Scopus, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Hand search Last search 8 February 2016 |
m/f (No mention) Mean age 25,21 (No mention in 8 studies) Range 18–50 (No mention in 3 studies) |
PRP, PRF, PRP + bovine HA + mb Vs Spontaneous healing, bovine HA + mb |
Soft tissue healing (Index of Landry, Probing depth) Alveolar Osteitis Acute inflammation or infection of the alveolus Pain Hard tissue healing (Percentage of new bone, Indirect measurement of bone metabolism, Bone density) |
|
| Snopek et al., 2021, Denmark, Systematic review and meta-analysis |
6 double-blinded RCTs with a split-mouth design (309/618) 1 Turkey 1 Lithuania 1 Brazil 1 Saudi Arabia 2 Iran |
PubMed/MEDLINE, Embase, Cochrane Library, Scopus and Web of Science, www.opengrey.eu, www.greylit.org. Manual search in International Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, British Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery and Journal of Cranio-Maxillofacial Surgery. Reference lists of included articles was also searched. www.clinicaltrials.gov. The last electronic and manual search was performed on June 3, 2020. No search limitations mentioned. |
M/F (129/184) (4 patients who were excluded in a study are not specified by gender) Mean age 23.52 (16–60) outpatients |
PRF Vs Spontaneous healing |
Adverse effects Frequency of AO, facial swelling, pain (VAS), soft tissue healing, PPD, CAL, GR |
|
| Jakobsen C et al., 2013, Denmark, a systematic review |
1 split mouth RCT (7/14) Italy |
PubMed without language restrictions from 1 January 2000 to 31 December 2011 |
6 F/1 M mean age: 30,2 (24–40) outpatients |
stem/progenitor cells from the pulps of the patients’ maxillary 3rd molars vs. Spontaneous healing |
Infection Cortical bone level Clinical attachment (probing depth) Bone maturity at extraction site after 3 months |
. |
| Morjaria KR. et al. 2014, UK, Systematic Review |
2 split mouth RCTs (53/106) 1 USA 1 Brazil |
MEDLINE and EMBASE and the Cochrane Central register of controlled trials (CENTRAL) were searched up until August 2011. Randomized controlled trials that included and compared healing post-tooth extraction between a control (no intervention) and a graft and/or membrane (test) were selected. English language, only published trials |
1 st study: M/F (5 M/9F) mean age 31y 2nd study: 15–25 years, no data on M/F or mean age outpatients |
Bioactive glass Xenograft (Gen-Tech) and resorbable membrane Vs Spontaneous healing |
CAL Postoperative pain, infection Bone loss, bone density |
The selection of only published trials and those that were in the English language introduces publication bias |
| Canellas et al. 2017, Brazil, systematic review and meta-analysis |
7 RCTs (280p and 485 s) 3 in Turkey 2 in India 1 in Iran 1 in Egypt published from 2010 to 2016 |
MEDLINE/ PubMed, Cochrane Library, LILACS, ScienceDirect, Current Controlled Trials, Clinical- Trials.gov, EU Clinical Trials Register, CAPES, British Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, International Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Clinical Oral Investigations, Journal of Dentistry, Journal of Cranio-Maxillofacial Surgery, and Oral Surgery, Oral Medicine, Oral Pathology, Oral Radiology, and Endodontology Last search August 2016 No language restriction |
Age range 18–48, m/f 83/132, NM in 2 studies, outpatients, 1 in private dental practice, 6 in University Dental Clinic |
PRF Vs Spontaneous healing |
pain, alveolar osteitis, facial swelling, bone healing | NR |
| Domic et al., 2023, Austria, Switzerland, Systematic review and meta-analysis |
10 RCTs 1 NRSI (603p and 676 s) 6 in Turkey 1 in Saudi Arabia 1 in India 1 in Italy 1 in Spain 1 in Korea Published from 2014 to 2020 |
Ovid (MEDLINE and CENTRAL), EMBASE, and Pubmed Last search April 7, 2022 English or German language |
Age range 18–71 m/f 247/354 NR in 1 study Outpatients University Dental Clinic |
Hyaluronic acid in different application forms (spray, gel) and concentrations (0.2-1%) Vs Spontaneous wound healing, BnzHCl spray, L-PRF, other HyA product |
Pain, trismus, edema, inflammatory response, oxidative stress, bleeding time, tissue factor, number of painkillers, wound dehiscence, pus, alveolar osteitis, local lymphadenopathy, mucosa healing score, wound infection, overall discomfort, pain, burning sensation, redness |
The certainty of evidence was judged as moderate for pain perception and trismus and as low for the swelling assessment. |
| Santos Pereira et al., 2023, Brazil, systematic review |
1 RCT (10p and 20 s), published at 2019 Saudi Arabia |
PubMed, Scopus, Embase, Web of Science, Cochrane Library databases Last search February 28, 2022 |
Mean age 24 m/f 0/10 outpatients university dental clinic |
A-PRF clot Vs Blood clot (spontaneous wound healing) |
PPD (1- and 3-month postsurgery), gingival recession (1- and 2-month postsurgery), pain, swelling (7th postoperative day) | |
| Lu Ye et al., 2024, China, Systematic review and meta-analysis |
33RCTs (1430p and 2277 s) 12 in India 7 in Turkey 2 in Brazil 2 in Iran 2 in Cyprus 1 in Italy 1 in Lithuania 1 in Poland 1 in Germany 1 in USA 1 in Sri lanka 1 in Japan 1 in Egypt Published from 2013 to 2022 |
PubMed, Embase, Cochrane, and Web of Science Last search September 2022 English Language Only RCTs |
Age range 16–55 (NR in 6 studies) Mean age 24.59 (NR in 7 studies) m/f 510/697 Setting NR |
PRF Vs Spontaneous healing |
Pain, swelling, trismus, alveolar osteitis, soft tissue healing, bone healing | The pain, swelling and alveolar osteitis indicators have publication bias (P = 0.000, P = 0.000, P = 0.022) |
| Chen et al., 2023, China, Systematic review and meta-analysis |
5 RCTs (360p and 527 s) 3 in Turkey 2 in China Published 2020 to 2022 |
PubMed, EMBASE, Cochrane Library, Web of Science, Scopus, National Library of Medicine, OpenGrey, Grey Literature Report last search on 18th July 2023, no language restriction |
Age, sex and setting NR |
CGF (Concentrated growth factor) Vs Spontaneous healing |
Soft tissue healing, bone mineral density, alveolar osteitis, pain, trismus, swelling | NR |
| Menager et al., 2023, France, Systematic review |
10 RCTs and 5 NRSI (612p, 838 s) country NR published from 2011 to 2021 |
Pubmed and Scopus Studies published in English from January 2010 to January 2022 |
Mean age 26.6 (NR in 4 studies) Age range 18–49 (NR in 5 studies) setting NR |
Triangular flap Vs Envelop flap Flapless |
Periodontal status of M2M (PPD, CAL, PI, GI, BoP, gingival recession) | |
| Yuan et al., 2023, China, Systematic review and meta-analysis |
14 RCTs (508p and 1016 s) 5 in Turkey 1 in Egypt 6 in India 1 in Lithuania 1 in Brazil Published from 2015 to 2023 |
PubMed, EMBASE, Cochrane Library, China National Knowledge Infrastructure and Wanfang databases, reference list of included studies Last search on July 2023 |
Mean age 24.08 (reported in 10 studies) Age range 18–46 (reported in 6 studies) m/f 302/410 NR in 4 studies |
PRF Vs Spontaneous healing |
Tissue healing scores on the 7th day, pain, alveolar osteitis |
A funnel plot analysis of the PRF compared with the control group for the pain score study resulted in a largely symmetrical funnel plot with no significant publication bias |
Abbreviations: RCT, randomized controlled trial; PRF, platelet-rich concentrate; GRADE, Grading of Recommendations Assessment, Development and Evaluation; PD, probing depth; CAL, clinical attachment level; WDPDR, weighted difference pocket depth reduction; NRSI, non-randomized study of intervention; PPD, pocket probing depth; NR, non-reported; PRP, platelet rich plasma; m, male; f, female; ABL, alveolar bone level; GTR, guided tissue regeneration; WDCAL, weighted difference clinical attachment level; WDPD, weighted difference probing depth; M2M, mandibular second molar; e-PTFE, expanded polytetrafluoroethylene; p, patients; s, sites; GBR, guided bone regeneration; PLA, polylactic acid; A-PRF, advanced platelet rich fibrin; L-PRF, leukocyte and platelet rich fibrin; SRP, scaling and root planning; ABD, Alveolar bone defect; BPBM, bovine porous bone mineral; CM, collagen membrane; CCT, controlled clinical trial; PRGF, plasma rich in growth factors; piezo, piezosurgery; HyA, hyaluronic acid; AO, alveolar osteitis; VAS, visual analog scale; BnzHCL, Benzydamine hydrochloride; PI, plaque index; GI, gingival index; BoP, bleeding on probing; DSTB, a drain saturated with Terramycin-Polymyxin; AMGAN, amino acid and sodiumhyaluronate; CHX, chlorhexidine; MChlo gel, gel containing 0.2% chlorhexidine and 10 mg of metronidazole; ABS, Ankaferd Blood Stopper topical agent; RBBFGF, Recombinant bovine basic fibroblast growth factor; ADM, Acellular dermal matrix; ChlorTetra, chlortetracycline ointment; PAG, polylactic acid granule; TGE, topical tetracycline; AMCA, trans-4-amino-methyl-cyclohexane; PEPH, antifibrinolytically active propylic ester of p-hydroxybenzoic acid; PEHB, 3 mg propylic ester of p-hydroxy-benzoic acid; BC, blood clot; ORZ, Ornidazole; mb, resorbable collagen membrane