Table 2. Characteristics and key findings from included studies.
WOMAC - Western Ontario and McMaster Universities Arthritis Index; KSS - Knee Society Score; VAS - Visual Analogue Scale; OKS - Oxford Knee Score; IKDC - International Knee Documentation Committee Score; AKSS - American Knee Society Score; UCLA - University of California, Los Angeles Activity Score; KOOS - Knee injury and Osteoarthritis Outcome Score; FJS - Forgotten Joint Score; APQ - Activity and Participation Questionnaire; KSKS - Knee Society Knee Score; KSFS - Knee Society Functional Score; PCS - Pain Catastrophizing Scale; MCS - Mental Component Summary; PROMs - Patient-Reported Outcome Measures; TKA - total knee arthroplasty
| Study | Group | Design | Sample size | Mean age | Follow-up | PROMs reported | Implant survival | Complications / revisions |
| Iriberri et al. [3] 2018 | Intervention | Retrospective case series | 8 | 52 | 14.6 years | WOMAC, KSS, VAS | 87.5% | 2 (loosening, deterioration) |
| Jaber et al. [6] 2023 | Intervention | Retrospective cohort | 23 | 48 | 10 years (6–14.5) | OKS, IKDC, AKSS, VAS, Tegner, UCLA | 91.4% | 2 (trauma, osteoarthritis progression) |
| Kennedy et al. [5] 2019 | Intervention | Prospective cohort | 76 | 52.6 | 6.4 years (1–15) | OKS, Tegner | 92.3% | 3 (infection, osteoarthritis progression) |
| Tecame et al. [16] 2019 | Intervention | Retrospective cohort | 24 | 48 | 42–53 months | KSS, WOMAC | Not reported | None reported |
| Tian et al. [17] 2016 | Intervention | Prospective cohort | 28 | 50.5 | 52 ± 8 months | OKS, KSS, Tegner | Not reported | 2 bearing dislocations |
| Tinius et al. [4] 2012 | Intervention | Prospective cohort | 27 | 44 | 53 months | KSS | Not reported | None reported |
| Ventura et al. [18] 2015 | Intervention | Retrospective cohort | 14 | 55 | 26.7 months | KOOS, OKS, AKSS, WOMAC, Tegner | Not reported | 1 arthroscopy, no revisions |
| Ventura et al. [19] 2020 | Intervention | Retrospective cohort | 12 | 54 | 7.8 years | KOOS, OKS, AKSS, WOMAC, KT-1000 | Not reported | 1 revision to TKA (osteoarthritis progression) |
| Volpin et al. [20] 2017 | Intervention | Systematic review | 186 total | 50.5 | 37.6 months | OKS, KSS, Tegner (varied across studies) | 92.7% at 5–8 yrs | 3 bearing dislocations, 2 infections, 1 TKA |
| Annapareddy et al. [21] 2023 | Comparator | Prospective matched cohort | 206 | 60.7 | 3.8 years | OKS, FJS, WOMAC, EQ-5D, Kujala | No revisions | None reported |
| Bagge et al. [22] 2025 | Comparator | Prospective cohort | 782 | 67 | 2 years | OKS, FJS, APQ | 93–95% PASS/MIC | None reported |
| Bagherifard et al. [23] 2023 | Comparator | Retrospective cohort | 17 | 63 | 3.1 years | OKS, KSS, KOOS, VAS | 100% | None reported |
| Jansen et al. [24] 2020 | Comparator | Matched cohort | 135 | ~65 | ≥1 year | OKS, KSS, satisfaction | Not reported | None reported |
| Liddle et al. [7] 2015 | Comparator | Propensity-matched registry | 14,076 | ~65 | 6 months | OKS, EQ-5D, satisfaction | Not reported | Fewer complications than TKA |
| Tan et al. [8] 2020 | Comparator | Propensity-matched cohort | 218 | 60.4 | 10 years | OKS, KSKS, KSFS, SF-36 PCS/MCS | Not reported | 90.8% satisfaction, no revisions |
| Wilson et al. [1] 2019 | Comparator | Systematic review/meta-analysis | 104,000+ | ~65 | 5–15 years | OKS, KSS, PROMs, complications | 89–96% at 10–15 yrs | Lower mortality, fewer complications than TKA |