Table 2.
Operative timing, technical variables, and device characteristics
| Author (Year) | Cranial defect size (n) | Interval between DC and first subsequent operation (days) (mean ± SD or mean (range)) | CP operative time (mins) (mean ± SD or mean (range)) | VPS operative time (mins) (mean ± SD or mean (range)) | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pre | Sim | Post | Pre | Sim | Post | Pre | Sim | Post | Pre | Sim | |
| Von der Brelie (2016) | NR | - | NR | - | NR | - | NR | ||||
| Lin (2019) | NR | - | 61.2 (39.6–82.9) | 140.1 (84.1–196.1) | - | NR | - | NR | |||
| Heo (2014) |
< 50% hemi (1) ≥ 50% hemi (18) |
< 50% hemi (6) ≥ 50% hemi (26) |
- | 118.8* | 68.4* | - | NR | - | NR | ||
| Rosinski (2020) |
< 5 cm (1) 5–10 cm (4) > 10 cm (11) NR (6) |
< 5 cm (1) 5–10 cm (7) > 10 cm (6) NR (4) |
- | 89.5 ± 72.8 | 50.9 ± 46.9 | - | 107.9 ± 43.3 | 219.0 ± 83.6 | - | NR | |
| Ting (2020) | 123.2 ± 26.0 cm2 (32) | 117.9 ± 19.7 cm2 (17) | - | 36.9 ± 21.1 | 52.4 ± 30.5 | - | NR | - | NR | ||
| Schuss (2015) | NR | 107.0* | 115.0* | 107.0* | 114.0 ± 38.0 | 139.0 ± 44.0 | 114.0 ± 38.0 | 57.0 ± 20.0 | 53.0 ± 15.0 | ||
| Urvas (2015) | NR | 249.2 ± 331.0 | 148.9 ± 115.0 | 63.8 ± 15.2 | NR | NR | |||||
| Gill (2021) |
< 50% hemi (7) ≥ 50% hemi (56) |
< 50% hemi (4) ≥ 50% hemi (14) |
< 50% hemi (7) ≥ 50% hemi (56) |
115.4 ± 94.5 | 59.8 ± 29.4 | 93.9 ± 74.7 | 142.5 ± 39.7 | 180.0 ± 47.1 | 149.0 ± 52.6 | 62.1 ± 27.6 | 180.8 ± 47.1 |
| Zhang (2022) | NR | 158.0 (160.4–212.8) | 103.3 (60.8–182.4) | 68.9 (48.6–121.6) | NR | NR | |||||
| Oh (2008) | > 80 cm3 | - | > 80 cm3 | NR | - | NR | NR | - | NR | NR | - |
| Author (Year) | Cranial defect size (n) | VPS location (n) | Shunt type (n) | CP implant material (n) | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pre | Post | Pre | Sim | Post | Pre | Sim | Post | Pre | Sim | Post | |
| Von der Brelie (2016) | NR | - | NR | - | NR | - | NR | - | |||
| Lin (2019) | NR | - | NR | - | NR | - | NR | - | |||
| Heo (2014) |
< 50% hemi (1) ≥ 50% hemi (18) |
- | NR | - |
PV (50) Gravity-assisted (1) |
- | NR | - | |||
| Rosinski (2020) |
< 5 cm (1) 5–10 cm (4) > 10 cm (11) NR (6) |
- |
Right frontal (14) Left frontal (8) |
Right frontal (10) Left frontal (8) |
- | NR | - |
Autologous (19) Synthetic (2) Titanium (1) |
Autologous (18) | - | |
| Ting (2020) | 123.2 ± 26.0 cm2 (32) | - | NR | - |
PV (9) NPV (23) |
PV (6) NPV (11) |
- | Autologous (32) |
Autologous (16) Titanium (1) |
- | |
| Schuss (2015) | NR | 57.0 ± 20.0 | NR | NR | NR | ||||||
| Urvas (2015) | NR | NR | NR |
Autologous (8) Synthetic (16) Titanium (44) |
|||||||
| Gill (2021) |
< 50% hemi (7) ≥ 50% hemi (56) |
67.1 ± 32.1 |
Ipsilateral (7) Contralateral (30) |
Ipsilateral (7) Contralateral (11) |
Ipsilateral (8) Contralateral (18) |
PV (81) |
Autologous (79) Titanium (2) |
||||
| Zhang (2022) | NR |
Frontal (21) Occipital (19) |
Frontal (15) Occipital (7) |
Frontal (11) Occipital (13) |
PV (33) NPV (7) |
PV (13) NPV (9) |
PV (20) NPV (4) |
NR | |||
| Oh (2008) | > 80 cm3 | NR | NR | - | NR | PV (13) | - | PV (10) | Autologous (13) | - | Autologous (10) |
Operative and technical characteristics of included studies comparing pre-cranioplasty (CP) ventriculoperitoneal shunting (VPS), simultaneous CP-VPS, and post-CP VPS. Reported variables include cranial defect size, interval between DC and first subsequent procedure, cranioplasty (CP) operative time, VPS operative time, ventricular catheter entry site, shunt valve type, and CP implant material. Data is presented at the study arm level where available
Abbreviations & Symbols: CP Cranioplasty, DC Decompressive Craniectomy, VPS Ventriculoperitoneal Shunting, Pre VPS prior to CP, Sim VPS at the time of CP (i.e. simultaneous); Post, VPS after CP, DC Decompressive Craniectomy, Hemi Hemisphere, PV Programmable Valve, NPV Non-Programmable Valve, NR Not Reported; *Cell where mean and/or standard deviation and/or range not reported