Table 1.
Characteristics of studies included in the systematic review (n = 15).
| Study | Country | Design/study period | Data source/population | Study/analysis N (cataract cases/events) | Age | Follow-up | Cataract outcome ascertainment | Exposure assessment | Air-pollution exposure(s) | Effect measure | Main covariate adjustment |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Choi et al. (2018) (26) | South Korea | Population-based cross-sectional; 2008–2012 | KNHANES IV–V; Adults >40 years | 19,910 (10,085) | 58.9 ± 12.0 years | Not applicable | Ophthalmologist slit-lamp examination; LOCS III; prior cataract surgery counted as cataract-positive | Ambient monitoring data from Korea Ministry of Environment; 283 monitoring stations; exposure assigned at 16 administrative-division level | NO2, O3, PM10, SO2 | OR | Age, sex, residence, education, income, sun exposure, smoking, alcohol, hypertension, diabetes, hypercholesterolemia, myopia, obesity |
| Shin et al. (2020)a (24) | South Korea | Nationwide population-based retrospective cohort study; Baseline/washout 2002–2003; incident outcome follow-up 1 Jan 2004–31 Dec 2015 | Korean National Health Insurance Service–National Sample Cohort (NHIS–NSC); Adults aged ≥50 years in 2002, cataract-free during 2002–2003, with stable/matched residence and smoking data | 115,728 (16,814) | Mean 60.0 ± 7.2 years | Up to 12 years (2004–2015) | New cataract required both physician diagnosis (ICD-10 H25/H26) and cataract surgery code S5119; participants with cataract diagnosis in 2002–2003 were excluded. Index date was first cataract diagnosis. | Residential-area exposure matched to 268 nationwide surveillance stations using five-digit residence codes. Hourly monitoring data were summarized as average concentrations and categorized into quartiles. PM10/NO2/CO/SO2/O3 were available from 2002 to 2015; PM2.5 was available only for 2015. | CO, NO2, O3, PM10, PM2.5, SO2 | HR | Age, sex, smoking status, income/insurance level, urbanization, and comorbidity |
| Chua et al. (2021)a (23) | United Kingdom | Prospective observational cohort; Baseline 2006–2010; follow-up to 31 Mar 2017 | UK Biobank participants aged 40–69 at enrollment; baseline cataract and early/pre-2011 surgery excluded | 433,727 (16,307) | Not reported overall; cases 62.5 ± 5.6, controls 56.0 ± 8.1 years | Mean 94 ± 15 months (7.8 years) | Incident first-eye cataract surgery via NHS linkage; OPCS-4 C71.2 (phacoemulsification) or C75.1 (lens replacement). Excluded baseline cataract, surgery within 1 year of baseline, and surgery in 2010 or earlier. | ESCAPE land-use regression at baseline residential address using GIS predictors. NO2 averaged 2005/2006/2007/2010; PM10 averaged 2007/2010; PM2.5, PM2.5-10, PM2.5 absorbance and NOx based on 2010 estimates. | NO2, NOx, PM10, PM2.5, PM2.5 absorbance (black carbon proxy), PM2.5–10 | HR | Age, sex, race, Townsend deprivation index, BMI, smoking status, diabetes |
| Grant et al. (2021) (20) | Canada | Cross-sectional analysis of baseline cohort data; Baseline assessments Dec 2011–Jul 2015 | Canadian Longitudinal Study on Aging (CLSA) Comprehensive Cohort; Community-dwelling adults aged 45–85 years near 11 CLSA data collection sites in 7 Canadian provinces | 29,147 (8,286)b | Not reported | Not applicable | Self-reported prior physician diagnosis of cataract at baseline | Annual mean ambient pollutants assigned to participant postal code through CANUE. PM2.5 was satellite-derived (AOD + GEOS-Chem) calibrated to ground observations; O3 from Environment and Climate Change Canada air-quality modelling; SO2 from OMI satellite/GEM profiles; NO2 from national monitoring plus land-use regression/local gradients. | O3, PM2.5 | OR | Age, sex, ethnicity, education, household income, smoking, diabetes, hypertension, province |
| Wu et al. (2022)a (21) | United Kingdom | Prospective cohort study; UKB recruitment 2006–2010; follow-up through 30 Nov 2020 | UK Biobank participants free of age-related cataract at baseline; exclusions also included congenital lens malformations, vision loss, eye loss, prior eye surgery, and missing exposure/covariate data | 291,627 (12,826) | Mean 55.83 ± 8.1 years | Mean 11.3 ± 1.8 years | Incident hospital inpatient diagnosis of age-related cataract after enrolment: ICD-10 H25. Nuclear cataract: H25.1. Non-nuclear cataract: H25.0, H25.2, H25.8, H25.9. Follow-up ended at first cataract event, death, loss to follow-up, or 30 Nov 2020. | Annual mean residential PM2.5 concentration for 2010 estimated with ESCAPE land-use regression using GIS-derived traffic and land-use variables; participant baseline residential address was matched to the exposure surface. NO2 from ESCAPE LUR was included as a covariate. | PM2.5 | HR | Age, sex, ethnicity, socioeconomic and lifestyle factors, BMI, ocular/systemic comorbidities, cataract polygenic risk score, NO₂, and physical activity. |
| Li et al. (2023)a (7) | China | Longitudinal population-based cohort analysis of two national cohorts; CFPS baseline survey with follow-ups in 2012, 2014, 2016, 2018; CLHLS 1998–2018 | China Family Panel Studies (CFPS) + Chinese Longitudinal Healthy Longevity Survey (CLHLS); Adults >50 years, cataract-free at baseline, with ≥1 follow-up; main analysis additionally required ≥3 years follow-up and complete key information | 22,298 (1,897) | Mean not reported; 36.3% age 50–65 and 63.7% > 65 years | ≥3 years required for main analysis; follow-up through 2018 | Incident age-related cataract based on self-report of a physician diagnosis at follow-up: “Have you been diagnosed with cataracts by your doctor?” Disease status was reassessed at each follow-up. | Annual ambient PM2.5 assigned by baseline city address using a spatiotemporal land-use regression model (population density, road length, land-use variables and ambient visibility); annual predictions were used to construct long-term exposure windows. | PM2.5 | HR | Age, sex, BMI, annual household income, education, smoking, drinking, marital status, ethnicity |
| Echevarría-Lucas et al. (2024) (35) | Spain | Ecological longitudinal/spatiotemporal observational study; Cataracts 2011–2021; pollution 2010–2020 | Andalusian Health Service (Malaga–Axarquía) + INE + REDIAM; Residents of 23 municipalities; analyses for ages 15–59 and ≥60 years | 134,223 (9,487) | Not reported | 11-year ecological series; temporal analyses use 1-year lag | Andalusian Health Service surgical records; operable cataract (visual acuity <0.4) followed by cataract surgery; standardized incidence calculated. | REDIAM county/municipality-level annual emissions; ecological exposure assignment. Pollution series 2010–2020 linked to cataract outcomes 2011–2021. | CH4, CO, CO2, N2O, PM10, PM2.5, Total pollutants | Pearson r | No covariate adjustment in bivariate pollution–cataract correlations; study additionally examined climate, occupational and socioeconomic variables. |
| Hegelund et al. (2024)a (8) | Denmark | Prospective nationwide phenome-wide association cohort study; 1 Jan 2000–31 Dec 2017 | Nationwide Danish population/ELAPSE-linked register cohort; All Danish residents aged ≥30 years on 1 Jan 2000 who had lived in Denmark ≥1 year | 3,050,532 c (364,591) | Median 51.4 years (range 30.0–110.7) | Up to 18 years; H25 average follow-up 14.7 years | First registered diagnosis from the Danish National Patient Register and/or underlying cause of death; ICD-10 three-character outcomes. Cataract phenotypes extracted here: H25 senile cataract and H26 other cataract. | European-wide hybrid land-use regression at 100 × 100 m resolution using geocoded baseline residence; 2010 PM2.5 and NO2 surfaces were extrapolated back in time to represent long-term exposure at baseline. | NO2, PM2.5 | HR | Age as underlying time axis; country of origin, cohabitation status, education, occupational status, household-size-equivalised disposable income; models stratified by sex and residential municipality. |
| Gayraud et al. (2025)a (22) | France | Prospective population-based cohort; Baseline 1999–2000; follow-up through 2017 | 3C Bordeaux/Alienor (3City-Alienor); Bordeaux residents aged ≥65 years at 3C recruitment; no cataract surgery at baseline | 829 (507) | 72.57 ± 4.19 years | Median 14.1 years; range 6.5–17.9 years | First cataract surgery during follow-up; self-reported year of surgery and surgery status checked by slit-lamp at repeated eye examinations. | 100 × 100 m ELAPSE land-use regression at geocoded residential address; 2010 models temporally extrapolated to 1990–2016; 10-year pre-baseline average assigned. | BC, NO2, PM2.5 | HR | Age, sex, deprivation index, diabetes, asthma, hypertension, lifetime ambient UVR exposure, BMI, smoking status. |
| Li et al. (2025) (9) | United Kingdom | Prospective population-based cohort study; Recruitment 2006–2010; follow-up to 1 Sep 2023 | UK Biobank adults recruited from 22 centers in England, Scotland and Wales; participants with cataract, glaucoma or AMD at baseline and those lacking air-pollution exposure were excluded | 441,567 (55,104) | Mean 56.32 ± 8.09 years | Median 14.41 years (IQR 13.64–15.07) | Incident cataract identified during follow-up through linked self-report/clinical diagnosis, primary care, inpatient hospital and death records; ICD-10 H25 (senile cataract), H26 (other cataract) and H28 (cataract/lens disorders in diseases classified elsewhere). | 2010 annual mean residential air-pollution estimates from ESCAPE land-use regression models using GIS predictors (traffic intensity, population, topography, land use), assigned to home address as proxies of long-term exposure. NO was derived as NOx minus NO2. | Air pollution score, NO, NO2, PM10, PM2.5, PM ₂.₅–₁₀ | HR | Age, sex, ethnicity, assessment center, Townsend Deprivation Index, education, BMI, smoking status, alcohol intake frequency, hypertension, diabetes mellitus, hyperlipidemia |
| Miao et al. (2025) (36) | China | Aggregate hospital time-series/ecological modeling study using Fuzzy Cognitive Maps (preprint); 1 Jan 2019–22 Jul 2024 | The Central Hospital of Wuhan cataract surgery records; Patients undergoing phacoemulsification with intraocular lens implantation at The Central Hospital of Wuhan | 14,086 (14,086) | Mean 70.25 ± 9.4 years | No individual longitudinal follow-up; daily hospital surgery-volume time series | Daily/aggregate volume of cataract surgeries among hospital patients undergoing phacoemulsification with intraocular lens implantation; the paper frames the outcome as senile cataract surgery volume/timing rather than incident cataract risk in individuals. | City-level Wuhan weather and air-quality data from rp5.ru and aqistudy.cn over the corresponding period. Daily environmental values were derived from >10 measurements/day when available and min-max normalized before FCM modeling. | CO, NO2, O3, PM10, PM2.5, SO2 | FCM mean simple-path weight | FCM jointly modeled multiple environmental variables (air pollutants plus temperature, pressure, humidity, wind, visibility, dew point and precipitation); no individual-level clinical or sociodemographic confounder adjustment. |
| Wang et al. (2025) (37) | United Kingdom | Prospective cohort study; UKB recruitment 2006–2010; analysis baseline set to 1 Jan 2010; median follow-up 12.4 years | UK Biobank — participants with baseline refractometry; UK Biobank adults with refractometry at baseline; participants lost to follow-up, with pre-existing cataract/glaucoma/diabetic retinopathy/retinal detachment/macular degeneration, or missing air-pollution exposure were excluded | 114,930 (13,939) | Mean 56.9 ± 7.98 years | Median 12.4 years (reported spread 1.93 years) | Incident cataract identified from linked hospital admission/diagnosis records (England, Wales, Scotland) using ICD-9/ICD-10 codes; exact cataract codes are listed in Supplementary Table 1, which was not included in the supplied main PDF. | Annual 2010 residential concentrations estimated by ESCAPE land-use regression using GIS predictors including traffic intensity, land use and topography. PM2.5/PM10 values were unavailable for addresses >400 km from Greater London and those participants were excluded. | NO2, NOx, PM10, PM2.5 | HR | Age, sex, ethnicity, education, BMI, smoking, alcohol intake, hypertension, and diabetes; TDI additionally included in threshold models. |
| Yuan et al. (2025) (25) | United Kingdom | Prospective population-based cohort with multi-state transition analysis; UKB recruitment 2006–2010; follow-up through 30 Sep 2023 | UK Biobank adults free of cataract and dementia at baseline; exclusions for baseline cataract/dementia, missing air-pollution information, missing covariates, or cataract and dementia diagnosed on the same date | 409,608 (51,786) | Mean 56.4 ± 8.1 years | Median 14.5 years (IQR 13.8–15.1) | Incident cataract ascertained using UK Biobank first-occurrence fields for ICD-10 H25, H26 and H28, linking self-reported medical conditions, hospital inpatient data and death-register records. Primary cataract transition was baseline to first incident cataract. | Annual 2010 residential concentrations estimated with ESCAPE land-use regression on 100 × 100 m grids using GIS predictors (population density, traffic intensity and land use), assigned to participants’ geocoded residential coordinates. 2010 annual averages were used as proxies for long-term exposure. | Air pollution score, NO2, NOx, PM10, PM2.5, PM2.5–10 | HR | Age, sex, ethnicity, Townsend deprivation index, BMI, smoking, drinking, education, physical activity, diet, hypertension, diabetes and coronary heart disease. |
| Zhou et al. (2025) (27) | China | Longitudinal population-based cohort analysis (retrospective analysis of CLHLS cohort data); CLHLS surveys 1998–2018 | Chinese Longitudinal Healthy Longevity Survey (CLHLS); CLHLS participants across 23 Chinese provincial-level regions with repeated follow-up; final analysis required at least 3 follow-up visits and complete key covariate data | 11,449 (1,714) | Mean 81.07 ± 11.76 years; 94.31% aged ≥65 years | Repeated CLHLS follow-up from enrollment to cataract self-report, death, withdrawal, or end of follow-up through 2018 | Age-related cataract based on repeated self-report of a doctor diagnosis. At baseline and follow-up surveys, participants were asked whether they had received a doctor diagnosis of cataract; follow-up responses were used to track onset. | Annual maximum daily 8-hour mean ozone (MDA8 O3) derived from GBD 2019 using TOAR and CNEMC data, chemical-transport modeling with Bayesian maximum entropy, and NASA G5NR-Chem downscaling. Because individual addresses were unavailable, participants were assigned provincial-average MDA8 O3 as a surrogate exposure. | O3 (MDA8) | HR | age, sex, BMI, annual household income, education, smoking status, drinking status, marital status, ethnicity, and type 2 diabetes. |
| Gayraud et al. (2026)a (10) | France | Pooled analysis of two prospective cohorts; Gazel 2007–2017; Constances 2012–2021 | Constances + Gazel (pooled within report); Two nationwide French prospective cohorts; participants age >53 years; baseline cataract surgery excluded | 36,140 (5,543) | 60.16 ± 4.59 years | 10 years | Incident cataract surgery from French SNDS procedure records; first surgery date used (phacoemulsification procedure codes). | ELAPSE 100 × 100 m land-use regression at geocoded residential histories; 2010 surfaces annually rescaled; individual 10-year pre-baseline average exposure. | BC, NO2, PM2.5 | HR | Age, sex, education level, and study cohort (Constances vs. Gazel) |
BC, black carbon; CLHLS, Chinese Longitudinal Healthy Longevity Survey; FCM, fuzzy cognitive map; HR, hazard ratio; LUR, land-use regression; MDA8, maximum daily 8-hour mean; NO, nitric oxide; NO₂, nitrogen dioxide; NOx, nitrogen oxides; O₃, ozone; OR, odds ratio; PM₂.₅, particulate matter ≤2.5 μm; PM₂.₅–₁₀, coarse particulate matter 2.5–10 μm; PM₁₀, particulate matter ≤10 μm; SO₂, sulfur dioxide.
Studies contributing to at least one quantitative meta-analysis (n = 7) are marked with an alphabet (a).
28,550 participants had non-missing cataract status; regression N varied according to covariate completeness.
Maximum cohort size varied by phenotype; N shown corresponds to the H25 senile-cataract analysis.