The Journal of Neuroscience

Editor-in-Chief Gordon M. Shepherd Grace Billings, *assistant*

Senior Editors

Behavioral/Systems Neuroscience Stephen G. Lisberger Gabriella Furlan, Assistant Edmund C. Molyneaux, Assistant Francis J. White Margaret Bjornson Sabato, Assistant Cellular/Molecular Neuroscience Gail Mandel Patricia Leavy, Assistant Gary Westbrook Ruth Frank, Assistant Development/Plasticity/Repair Neuroscience Dennis D. M. O'Leary Tracy Anderson, Assistant

Reviewing Editors

Carol A. Barnes Moses V. Chao Barry Connors Stuart Cull-Candy Kathleen Dunlap David D. Ginty Ann E. Kellev Pat Levitt Carol Ann Mason John H. R. Maunsell Michael P. Nusbaum Randall R. Reed Ian Reynolds Richard Simerly Laurence Trussell Charles J. Wilson Clifford J. Woolf Junying Yuan

Behavioral/Systems

Associate Editors Larry Abbott Elizabeth D. Abercrombie Marjorie Ariano Jill B. Becker Catherine M. Bushnell Gyorgy Buzsaki Marie-Francois Chesselet Ellen Covey Terry J. Crow Mary Dallman Michael Davis Samuel A. Deadwyler John P. Donoghue Robert W. Dykes Martha J. Farah David L. Ferster Richard Frackowiak John Gabrieli Okihide Hikosaka Peter Kalivas Raymond P. Kesner Jon D. Levine Patrick W. Mantyh Robert McCarley **Richard Morris** J. Anthony Movshon J. Victor Nadler Eric J. Nestler Marc Peschanski Steven E. Petersen Martin R. Ralph Malcolm N. Semple John F. Soechting Peter Somogyi Mircea Steriade D. James Surmeier

Leslie Ungerleider Brian Wandell

Cellular/Molecular

Associate Editors George J. Augustine Jr Ben A. Barres Mark K. Bennett Paul Brehm Ronald L. Calabrese David R. Copenhagen Ted Dawson Robert Edwards Aaron Fox Stanley Froehner Richard H. Goodman Simon Halegoua Philip G. Haydon Karl Herrup Richard Huganir Daniel Johnston David J. Julius Leonard K. Kaczmarek Mary B. Kennedy Christopher J. Lingle Peter Lipton John E. Lisman Amy MacDermott Mark Mattson Shigetada Nakanishi Rachael Neve R. Alan North Wade Regehr Peter H. Seeburg Michael Shelanski Morgan Sheng Steven A. Siegelbaum Kathleen Siwicki John Trojanowski John T. Williams Paul Worley

Development/Plasticity/Repair

Associate Editors Connie Cepko Thomas Curran Fred H. Gage Charles Greer William Harris Christopher Henderson Lawrence C. Katz Christopher Kintner Story Landis Lynn T. Landmesser Laura Lillien Ronald D. McKay Robert Miller Fujio Murakami Mu-Ming Poo Pasko Rakic Angeles B. Ribera Joshua R. Sanes William Snider Masatoshi Takeichi Marc Tessier-Lavigne Janis Weeks

Editorial Staff

Julie C. Blair Kymberly Campbell Alexander Collery David Lord Deborah Plavin Janice Suguitan *The Journal of Neuroscience* (ISSN 0270-6474) is the official journal of the Society for Neuroscience, 11 Dupont Circle, NW, Suite 500, Washington, DC 20036. It is published semimonthly by the Society, one volume a year.

Subscriptions are on a volume basis beginning with the January 1 issue. The volume 21 (2001) institutional rate for the online-only edition is \$1250. The institutional rate for the print and online edition is \$1620 (plus shipping). Single copies for the U.S. are \$85, \$95 elsewhere. Institutional subscribers should direct subscription orders, back issue requests, claims, and changes of address to The Journal of Neuroscience, Subscription Services, 11 Dupont Circle, NW, Suite 500, Washington, DC 20036, phone 202-462-6688, fax 202-462-1547. Claims will be honored if received within three (3) months of the month of issue. A maximum of three (3) singleissue claims will be honored per volume per subscriber. Society for Neuroscience members interested in subscribing to the Journal at a reduced rate should contact the Society's Membership Department (phone 202-462-6688). Society members should also direct back issue requests and changes of address to the Society.

Advertising inquiries should be addressed to Kristofer Herlitz, The Herlitz Company, Inc., 1890 Palmer Avenue, Suite 202A, Larchmont, NY 10538-3031, phone 914-833-1979, fax 914-833-0929.

Microfilm and microfiche inquiries should be directed to University Microfilms Inc., 300 North Zeeb Road, Ann Arbor, MI 48106.

Reprints of individual articles are available only from the authors.

Photocopies. The *Journal* is registered with the Copyright Clearance Center, 222 Rosewood Drive, Danvers, MA 01923, fax 978-750-4470. Authorization to photocopy items for the internal or personal use of specific clients is granted by the Society for Neuroscience provided that the copier pay to the Center the \$15.00 copy fee stated in the code on the first page of each article. Special requests, such as for general distribution, resale, advertising, and promotional purposes or for creating new works, should be directed to Journal Permissions, Society for Neuroscience, 11 Dupont Circle, NW, Suite 500, Washington, DC 20036, fax 202-462-1547.

Postmaster: Send address changes to *The Journal of Neuroscience*, Society for Neuroscience Membership Department, 11 Dupont Circle, NW, Suite 500, Washington, DC 20036. Periodicals postage paid at Washington, DC, and additional mailing offices. Canada Post International Publications Mail (Canadian Distribution) Sales Agreement No. 0895369.

The Journal of Neuroscience is indexed by BIOSIS, Brain Information Service, Chemical Abstracts, Current Contents EMBASE/Excerpta Medica, FISHLIT, Index Medicus, Index to Scientific Reviews, Psychological Abstracts, PsycINFO, and PsycLIT.

⊗ The *Journal* is printed on acid-free paper that meets the minimum requirements of ANSI Standard Z39.48–1984 (Permanence of Paper).

Copyright © 2001 Society for Neuroscience. All rights reserved.