Table 2. Summary of studies.
| Electron | Brachytherapy | Electron or Brachytherapy | Photon | All studies | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Number of studies | 27 | 10 | 10 | 5 | 52 |
| Number of patients | 1,476 | 445 | 400 | 68 | 2,389 |
| Primary | 358 | 117 | 287 | 31 | 793 |
| Recurrent | 1,000 | 328 | 20 | 28 | 1,376 |
| Not reported | 118 | 0 | 93 | 9 | 220 |
| Reported use of prior RT | |||||
| No prior RT | 408 | 147 | 364 | 16 | 935 |
| Reirradiation | 841 | 221 | 33 | 0 | 1,095 |
| Not reported | 227 | 77 | 3 | 52 | 359 |
| Average IORT dosesa | 15.6 (4.0–100.0) Gy | 13.4 (5.0–20.0) Gy | 8.3 (7.5–20.0) Gy | 5.8 (3.0–14.0) Gy | |
| Average EBRT dosesa | |||||
| Previous irradiation | 54.5 (0–66) Gy | 61.6 (54–70) Gy | 34.1 (17.5–50.7) Gy | NA | |
| Pre IORT EBRT | 32.9 (9.2–45) Gy | 9.1 (9.1–9.1) Gy | 9.2 (9.1–9.2) Gy | NA | |
| Post IORT EBRT | 47.1 (40–54) Gy | 51.9 (45–63) Gy | 50 (50–50) Gy | 50 (50–50) Gy | |
| Average outcomesa | |||||
| Follow-up | 34.4 (0.1–262.2) months | 32.3 (1–133) months | 38.7 (0–120.4) months | 21.2 (0–66) months | 33.5 (0–262.2) months |
| LC | 62.3 (16.7–100)% | 63.7 (34–83.3)% | 90.6 (70–100)% | 89.8 (85–100)% | 69.3 (16.7–100)% |
| LRC | 56.4 (21.2–91)% | 57.9 (29–100)% | 91.8 (88–95)% | 81.3 (81.3–81.3)% | 65.6 (21.2–100)% |
| DFS | 45.1 (11–70.3)% | 46.4 (24–100)% | 79.3 (72–92.5)% | 68.8 (68.8–68.8)% | 51.9 (11–100)% |
| OS | 48 (8–88)% | 52.9 (29–100)% | 66.1 (48.6–79)% | 81.3 (81.3–81.3)% | 53 (8–100)% |
In computing summary values for this table, only studies that reported such parameters were considered. To summarise the doses used among the studies, averages of median doses were obtained. Mean doses were used for the few studies that did not provide a median dose. Because follow-up period varied, outcomes reported at the specified median follow-up were used to compute for the average. For studies that did not provide this, outcomes with the longest period were used.