
State-level Tobacco 21 policy variable coding

Coding:

0=T21 not implemented
1=T21 implemented for <1 year
2=T21 implemented 1-2 years
3=T21 implemented 3+ years

State REG_US Policy Effective Date W1 (Aug 2017) W2 (Aug 2018) W3 (Aug 2019) W3.5 (Feb 2020) W4 (Aug 2020) W4.5 (Feb 2021) W5 (Aug 2021)
Federal ALL 2019-12-20 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
Alabama (AL) 1 2021-08-01†; use federal 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
Alaska 2 N/A; use federal 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
Arizona 3 N/A; use federal 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
Arkansas (AR) 4 2019-09-01* 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
California (CA) 5 2016-06-09 2 2 3 3 3 3 3
Colorado (CO) 6 2020-07-14; use federal 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
Connecticut (CT) 7 2019-10-01 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
Delaware (DE) 8 2019-07-16 0 0 1 1 2 2 2
District of Columbia (DC) 9 2017-02-18† 1 2 2 2 3 3 3
Florida (FL) 10 2021-10-01†; use federal 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
Georgia (GA) 11 2021-01-01†; use federal 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
Hawaii (HI) 12 2016-01-01 2 2 3 3 3 3 3
Idaho 13 N/A; use federal 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
Illinois (IL) 14 2019-07-01 0 0 1 1 2 2 2
Indiana (IN) 15 2020-07-01; use federal 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
Iowa (IA) 16 2020-06-29; use federal 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
Kansas 17 N/A; use federal 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
Kentucky (KY) 18 2021-01-01‡; use federal 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
Louisiana (LA) 19 2021-08-01†; use federal 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
Maine (ME) 20 2018-07-01* 0 0 (age 18/19); 

1 (age 16/17)
0 (age 19); 2 
(age 16/17/18)

2 2 2 3

Maryland (MD) 21 2019-10-01 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
Massachusetts (MA) 22 2018-12-31* 0 0 0 (age 18/19); 1 

(age 16/17)
1 (age 19); 2 
(age 16/17/18)

2 2 2

Michigan 23 N/A; use federal 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
Minnesota (MN) 24 2020-08-01; use federal 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
Mississippi (MS) 25 2020-07-08; use federal 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
Missouri 26 N/A; use federal 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
Montana 27 N/A; use federal 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
Nebraska (NE) 28 2020-10-01†; use federal 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
Nevada (NV) 29 2021-05-27†; use federal 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
New Hampshire (NH) 30 2020-07-29†; use federal 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
New Jersey (NJ) 31 2017-11-01 0 1 2 2 2 3 3
New Mexico (NM) 32 2021-01-01; use federal 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
New York (NY) 33 2019-11-13 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
North Carolina 34 N/A; use federal 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
North Dakota (ND) 35 2021-08-01†; use federal 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
Ohio (OH) 36 2019-10-17 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
Oklahoma (OK) 37 2020-05-19; use federal 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
Oregon (OR) 38 2018-01-01 0 1 2 2 2 3 3
Pennsylvania (PA) 39 2020-07-01; use federal 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
Rhode Island (RI) 40 2021-07-07†; use federal 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
South Carolina 41 N/A; use federal 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
South Dakota (SD) 42 2020-07-01; use federal 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
Tennessee (TN) 43 2021-01-01; use federal 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
Texas (TX) 44 2019-09-01* 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
Utah (UT) 45 2020-07-01; use federal 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
Vermont (VT) 46 2019-09-01 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
Virginia (VA) 47 2019-07-01 0 0 1 1 2 2 2
Washington (WA) 48 2020-01-01; use federal 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
West Virginia 49 N/A; use federal 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
Wisconsin 50 N/A; use federal 0 0 0 1 1 2 2
Wyoming (WY) 51 2020-07-01; use federal 0 0 0 1 1 2 2

Texas: exemption for military and those born before August 31, 2001 (https://pdnhf.org/news/e-cigarette-use-particularly-by-youth-is-rapidly-increasing)

Sources:

‡ Legislation passed in Senate March 26, 2020 says "EFFECTIVE January 1, 2021" in the legislation summary (https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/record/20RS/sb56.html) 
(https://legiscan.com/KY/bill/SB56/2020)

Maine: phase-in for those born on or before 1 July 2000 (http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/22/title22sec1555-B.html)

†State-level T21 date from https://tobacco21.org

T21 variable applied at individual level using state, date, and age (to account for age of respondents for exemptions in selected states) (i.e., those who are legally allowed to purchase 
stay a ‘0’)

*With a phase-in period
Arkansas: phase-in exempts US Military members between 18–20 and individuals born on or has attained 19 years of age as of December 31, 2019
(https://www.arkleg.state.ar.us/Acts/Document?type=pdf&act=580&ddBienniumSession=2019%2F2019R)

Unless otherwise noted, state-level T21 data obtained from Campaign for Tobacco Free Kids 
(https://www.tobaccofreekids.org/assets/content/what_we_do/state_local_issues/sales_21/states_localities_MLSA_21.pdf)

Massachusetts: phase-in State law exempts individuals born on or before 30 December 2000) (https://www.mass.gov/info-details/massachusetts-law-about-smoking)

NOTES:
- Prior to federal T21 implementation, MLA for cigarettes was 18, although Alabama, Alaska and Utah had state-level MLA of 19 (CDC, 2018)
- New Jersey had state-level MLA of 19 until 21 was implemented as of November 1, 2017 (https://www.pbs.org/newshour/nation/new-jersey-may-become-second-state-to-raise-
smoking-age-to-21) 
- MLA for e-cigarettes was the same as cigarettes, except in Michigan and Pennsylvania, where there was no state-level provision for e-cigarettes (CDC, 2018)

Reference: 
US Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control. STATE System Tobacco 21 Fact Sheet: Minimum Legal Age for Purchasing Tobacco Products by Location. 
In effect as of September 30, 2018. (https://chronicdata.cdc.gov/download/873a-if74/application%2Fpdf)



State-level cannabis legalization policy variable coding

Coding:
0=Not legal
1=Medical legal
2=Medical and non-medical legal

STATE REG_US Medical legal Non-medical legal W1 (Aug 2017) W2 (Aug 2018) W3 (Aug 2019) W3.5 (Feb 
2020)

W4 (Aug 2020) W4.5 (Feb 
2021)

W5 (Aug 2021)

Alabama 1 2021 (May) N/A 0 0 0 0 0 0 1
Alaska 2 1998 2015 (Feb) 2 2 2 2 2 2 2
Arizona 3 2010 2020 (Nov) 1 1 1 1 1 2 2
Arkansas 4 2016 N/A 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
California 5 1996 2016 (Nov) 2 2 2 2 2 2 2
Colorado 6 2001 2012 (Dec) 2 2 2 2 2 2 2
Connecticut 7 2012 2021 (Jul) 1 1 1 1 1 1 2
Delaware 8 2011 N/A 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
DC 9 2010 2015 (Feb) 2 2 2 2 2 2 2
Florida 10 2016 N/A 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
Georgia 11 N/A N/A 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Hawaii 12 2000 N/A 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
Idaho 13 N/A N/A 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Illinois 14 2013 2020 (Jan) 1 1 1 2 2 2 2
Indiana 15 N/A N/A 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Iowa 16 N/A N/A 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Kansas 17 N/A N/A 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Kentucky 18 N/A N/A 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Lousiana 19 2016 N/A 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
Maine 20 1999 2017 (Jan) 2 2 2 2 2 2 2
Maryland 21 2014 N/A 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
Massachusetts 22 2013 2016 (Dec) 2 2 2 2 2 2 2
Michigan 23 2008 2018 (Dec) 1 1 2 2 2 2 2
Minnesota 24 2014 N/A 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
Mississippi 25 N/A N/A 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Missouri 26 2018 (Dec) N/A 0 0 1 1 1 1 1
Montana 27 2004 2021 (Jan) 1 1 1 1 1 2 2
Nebraska 28 N/A N/A 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Nevada 29 2001 2017 (Jan) 2 2 2 2 2 2 2
New Hampshire 30 2013 N/A 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
New Jersey 31 2010 2021 (Jan) 1 1 1 1 1 2 2
New Mexico 32 2007 2021 (Jun) 1 1 1 1 1 1 2
New York 33 2014 2021 (Mar) 1 1 1 1 1 1 2
North Carolina 34 N/A N/A 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
North Dakota 35 2016 N/A 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
Ohio 36 2016 N/A 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
Oklahoma 37 2018 (June) N/A 0 1 1 1 1 1 1
Oregon 38 1998 2015 (Jul) 2 2 2 2 2 2 2
Pennsylvania 39 2016 N/A 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
Rhode Island 40 2006 N/A 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
South Carolina 41 N/A N/A 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
South Dakota 42 2021 (Aug) N/A 0 0 0 0 0 0 1
Tennessee 43 N/A N/A 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Texas 44 N/A N/A 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Utah 45 2018 (Dec) N/A 0 0 1 1 1 1 1
Vermont 46 2004 2018 (Jul) 1 2 2 2 2 2 2
Virginia 47 2020 (Jul) 2021 (Jul) 0 0 0 0 1 1 2
Washington 48 1998 2012 (Dec) 2 2 2 2 2 2 2
West Virginia 49 2019 (Jul) N/A 0 0 1 1 1 1 1
Wisconsin 50 N/A N/A 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
Wyoming 51 N/A N/A 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

Sources:
National Conference of State Legislatures: https://www.ncsl.org/research/health/state-medical-marijuana-laws.aspx
ProCon: https://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/legal-medical-marijuana-states-and-dc/ and
https://marijuana.procon.org/legal-recreational-marijuana-states-and-dc/
NORML: https://norml.org/laws/

https://www.ncsl.org/research/health/state-medical-marijuana-laws.aspx
https://medicalmarijuana.procon.org/legal-medical-marijuana-states-and-dc/
https://marijuana.procon.org/legal-recreational-marijuana-states-and-dc/
https://norml.org/laws/


Provincial age of access for cigarettes

Coding:
0=MLA 18
1=MLA 19

Province REG_CA Age Coding (all waves)
CANADA (federal) ALL 18 0
Alberta (AB) 1 18 0
British Columbia (BC) 2 19 1
Manitoba (MB) 3 18 0
New Brunswick (NB) 4 19 1
Newfoundland & Labrador (NL) 5 19 1
Nova Scotia (NS) 7 19 1
Ontario (ON) 9 19 1
Prince Edward Island (PEI)* 10 19* 1
Quebec (QC) 11 18 0
Saskatchewan (SK) 12 18 0

Sources:

*NOTE: PEI implemented a MLA of 21 for tobacco products on March 1, 2020, with a transition period
exempting those who were already 19 years of age on that date

Government of Canada. Tobacco (Access) Regulations [SOR/99-93]. https://laws.justice.gc.ca/PDF/SOR-99-
93.pdf (accessed 10 June 2021)
Ontario Tobacco Research Unit. September 2013. Youth Access to Tobacco Products: Monitoring Update.
https://otru.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/youth2013.pdf
Government of Prince Edward Island. 2021.Vaping Laws.
https://www.princeedwardisland.ca/en/information/health-and-wellness/vaping-laws (accessed 10 June 2021)

Government of Alberta. 2022. Reducing smoking and vaping – rules and enforcement. 
https://www.alberta.ca/reducing-smoking-and-vaping-rules-and-enforcement.aspx (accessed 14 April 2022)



Provincial legalization and age of access for cannabis

Coding:
0=Not legal
1=MLA 18
2=MLA 19
3=MLA 21

Province REG_CA Legal Date Age Policy 
Effective Date

Age W1 (Aug 
2017)

W2 (Aug 
2018)

W3 (Aug 
2019)

W3.5 
(Feb 
2020)

W4 (Aug 
2020)

W4.5 
(Feb 
2021)

W5 (Aug 
2021)

CANADA (federal) ALL 2018-10-17 18 0 0 1 1 1 1 1
Alberta (AB) 1 2018-10-17 18 0 0 1 1 1 1 1
British Columbia (BC) 2 2018-10-17 19 0 0 2 2 2 2 2
Manitoba (MB) 3 2018-10-17 19 0 0 2 2 2 2 2
New Brunswick (NB) 4 2018-10-17 19 0 0 2 2 2 2 2
Newfoundland & Labrador 
(NL)

5 2018-10-17 19 0 0 2 2 2 2 2

Nova Scotia (NS) 7 2018-10-17 19 0 0 2 2 2 2 2
Ontario (ON) 9 2018-10-17 19 0 0 2 2 2 2 2
Prince Edward Island (PEI) 10 2018-10-17 19 0 0 2 2 2 2 2
Quebec (QC) 11 2018-10-17 18 2020-01-01 21 0 0 1 3 3 3 3
Saskatchewan (SK) 12 2018-10-17 19 0 0 2 2 2 2 2

Source:
https://www.canada.ca/en/health-canada/services/drugs-medication/cannabis/laws-regulations/provinces-territories.html
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