Terminology/Terminologie

Nomenclature for secreted regulatory proteins of the immune system (Interleukins): update*

IUIS/WHO Standing Committee on Interleukin Designation¹

The officially adopted designations for interleukins now include IL-14 and IL-15, in addition to the previously recommended IL-1 to IL-13 and IL-16.

The criteria that should be met by a newly described secreted regulatory protein of the immune system in order for it to be granted an interleukin designation were defined by the IUIS/WHO Nomenclature Subcommittee in 1991 (1). At that time the officially adopted designations were for interleukin-1 to interleukin-10, including interleukin-1 α and interleukin-1 β .

Subsequently it was recommended that the designations IL-11, IL-12 and IL-13 be adopted (2) and it is now proposed that the designations IL-14 and IL-15 also be adopted. Both IL-14 and IL-15 have been fully characterized at the molecular level and shown to exhibit distinct regulatory functions in the immune system. Also a separate recommendation concerning IL-16 has recently been published (3).

Workers describing a new factor using an interleukin designation are urged not to do so unilat-

erally but to apply to the Chairman of the IUIS/ WHO Standing Committee on Interleukin Designation for approval.

References

- IUIS/WHO Nomenclature Committee on Interleukin Designation. Nomenclature for secreted regulatory proteins of the immune system (interleukins). *Bulletin* of the World Health Organization, 1991, 69: 483–484.
- IUIS/WHO Nomenclature Committee on Interleukin Designation. Nomenclature for secreted regulatory proteins of the immune system (interleukins): update. Bulletin of the World Health Organization, 1994, 72: 811
- IUIS/WHO Nomenclature Committee on Interleukin Designation. Interleukin 16 (IL-16). Bulletin of the World Health Organization, 1996, 74: 451–452.

^{*} Requests for reprints should be addressed to the Chairman of the IUIS Nomenclature Committee: Professor M.W. Turner, Immunobiology Unit, Institute of Child Health, 30 Guilford Street, London WC1N 1EH, England.

¹ Chairman, IUIS/WHO Standing Committee on Interleukin Designation: Professor T. Kishimoto, Osaka University Medical School, Osaka, Japan. Reprint No. **5767**