Appendix 1

Clinical Centers

Indiana University

Naga Chalasani, MD (PI), Raj Vuppalanchi, MD (co-I), Jean Molleston, MD (co-I), Lawrence Lumeng, MD (co-I), Audrey Corne (research coordinator), Angie Plummer (research coordinator)

University of Connecticut

Herbert Bonkovsky, MD (PI), Petr Protiva, MD (co-I), James Freston, MD, PhD (co-I), Robert Rosson, MD (co-I), Robert A. Levine, MD (Satellite site investigator), Benedict Maliakkal, MD (Satellite site investigator), Paul Appleton, MD (Research coordinator), Mariola Smialek, RN (research coordinator)

University of Michigan

Robert J. Fontana, MD (PI), Hari Conjeevaram, MD (co-I), Stuart Gordon, MD (Satellite site investigator), Suzanne Welch (research coordinator), Jessica Worley (research coordinator); Jordan Kridler (research coordinator).

University of North Carolina

Paul Watkins, MD (PI), Paul Hayashi, MD (co-I), Mark Russo, MD (co-I), Late Harry Guess, MD, PhD (co-investigator), Kimberly Beaver, MD (Satellite site investigator), Alastair Smith, MD (Satellite site investigator), James Lewis, MD (Satellite site investigator), Susan Pusek (Research coordinator)

University of California, San Francisco

Tim Davern, MD (PI), Maurizo Bonacini, MD (co-I), Kristine Partovi (research coordinator)

Data Coordinating Center

Duke Clinical Research Institute

James Rochon, MD (PI), John McHutchison, MD (co-I), Don Rockey, MD (co-I), Mary Maggio (project manager), Hongqiu Yang, PhD (biostatistician)

NIDDK Scientists

Jose Serrano, MD (Project officer), Leonard Seeff, MD, Jay Hoofnagle, MD

* Mark Avigan, MD and John Senior, MD, employees of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration have participated in selected aspects of the DILIN activities.

Members of the causality committee are listed below in alphabetical order after the cochairs: Leonard Seeff, Don Rockey (Co-chairs), Maurizo Bonacini, Herbert Bonkovsky, Naga Chalasani, Hari Conjeevaram, Tim Davern, James Freston, Robert Fontana, Paul Hayashi, Jay Hoofnagle, Petr Protiva, Robert Rosson, Mark Russo, Jose Serrano, Raj Vuppalanchi, and Paul Watkins.