Region	Description
Australia	All Australian states and mainland territories
Central Asia	Maternal countries of birth were: Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, Thailand, Turkestan and Vietnam
South Asia	Includes countries in Southern Asia or south-east of this region. Maternal countries of birth were: Borneo,
	Brunei, Christmas Island, Cocos Islands, Cook Islands, Fiji, Malaysia, New Guinea, , Philippines, Samoa,
	Singapore, Solomon Islands and Tonga.
Other Asia	Includes countries in East, West and North Asia. Maternal countries of birth were:
	Afghanistan, Armenia, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Bhutan, China, Cyprus, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Japan, Jordan,
	Kazakhstan, Korea, Kurdistan, Lebanon, Maldives, Mongolia, Nepal, Pakistan, Palestine, Qatar, Russia, Saudi
	Arabia, Siberia, Sri Lanka, United Arab Emirates, Syria and Yemen.
East Africa	Maternal countries of birth were:
	Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Reunion Island, Rodriguez Island, Seychelles,
	Somalia, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda and Zimbabwe.
Other Africa	Includes Algeria, Angola, Botswana, Chad, Congo, Gambia, Nigeria, Ivory Coast, Lesotho, Namibia, Rwanda,
	South Africa Sudan, Zaire and Zambia and nearby islands not included in East Africa region
Other regions	Includes islands associated with Australia; New Zealand and associated islands; United States, Canada and
	associated islands; United Kingdom and associated islands; Europe and associated islands; South America and
	associated islands; Central America and associated islands.

## Supplementary Table 1: Maternal region of birth