# Supplementary Appendix 3. Residency Program Regions Across the United States

# EAST (Mid-Atlantic/New England)

The Mid-Atlantic region: Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, and Washington, DC New England: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont

# MID-WEST (Mid-West)

Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, and Wisconsin

### **SOUTH**

Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia

WEST (California-Hawaii/Mountain West/Northwest)

### California-Hawaii

Mountain West: Arizona, Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah, and Wyoming Northwest: Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, and Washington