SUPPLEMENTARY DATA

Supplementary Table 1. Characteristics of study participants with type 2 diabetes at cohort visit at risk of DEB with and without Q1 of DEPS-R.

Characteristics*	DEPS-R score ≥ 20 with Q1 (n = 75)	DEPS-R score \geq 20 without Q1 (n = 58)
Age, years (mean ± SD)	21.1 ± 3.3	21.0 ± 3.3
Diabetes duration, years (mean ± SD)	7.5 ± 1.9	7.5 ± 2.0
Male (%)	32.0	32.0
BMI, kg/m2 (mean \pm SD)	37.8 ± 9.4	38.4 ± 9.5
zBMI score (mean \pm SD)	2.00 ± 0.6	2.0 ± 0.5
HbA1c, % (mean ± SD)	11.0 ± 2.2	11.3 ± 2.2
IS score (mean ± SD)	2.5 ± 1.3	2.4 ± 1.3
CES-D score (mean \pm SD)	20.9 ± 11.0	22.4 ± 11.0
PedsQL score (mean ± SD)	68.7 ± 17.4	66.0 ± 17.3

^{*}all p-values from t-tests were non-significant. IS: insulin sensitivity. CES-D: Center for Epidemiological Studies – Depression. PedsQL: Pediatric quality of life.

SUPPLEMENTARY DATA

SEARCH AUTHORSHIP LIST

The writing group for this manuscript wishes to acknowledge the contributions of the following individuals to the SEARCH for Diabetes in Youth Study:

California: Jean M. Lawrence, ScD, MPH, MSSA; Corinna Koebnick, PhD, MSc; Kristi Reynolds, PhD, MPH; Xia Li, MS; Peggy Hung, MPH, and Eva Lustigova, MPH for the Department of Research & Evaluation, Kaiser Permanente Southern California, Pasadena California, and David J. Pettitt, MD, Santa Barbara, California.

Colorado: Dana Dabelea, MD, PhD, Richard F. Hamman, MD, DrPH, Lisa Testaverde, MS, Anna Bellatorre, PhD, for the LEAD Center in the Department of Epidemiology, Colorado School of Public Health, University of Colorado Denver, Georgeanna J. Klingensmith, MD, Marian J. Rewers, MD, PhD, David Maahs, MD and Paul Wadwa, MD for the Barbara Davis Center for Childhood Diabetes, Stephen Daniels, MD, PhD, Greta Wilkening, PsyD, Michael G. Kahn, MD, PhD, Department of Pediatrics and Children's Hospital, Clifford A. Bloch, MD, for the Pediatric Endocrine Associates, Jeffrey Powell, MD, MPH, for the Shiprock Service Unit, Navajo Area Indian Health Service, Kathy Love-Osborne, MD, for the Denver Health and Hospital Authority, and Diana C. Hu, MD for the Pediatrics Department, Tuba City Regional Health Care Center, Tuba City, AZ.

Ohio: Lawrence M. Dolan, MD, Amy S. Shah, MD, MS, Elaine M. Urbina, MD, MS, and Debra A. Standiford, MSN, CNP for the Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, University of Cincinnati.

Carolinas: Elizabeth J. Mayer-Davis, PhD, Amy Mottl, MD, MPH, Joan Thomas MS, RD for the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, Christine Turley, Angela D. Liese, PhD, MPH, Malaka Jackson, MD, Lisa Knight, MD for the University of South Carolina, Deborah Bowlby, MD for the Medical University of South Carolina, James Amrhein, MD, Bryce Nelson, MD, Elaine Apperson, MD for Greenville Health System, and Eau Claire Cooperative Health Center.

Washington: Catherine Pihoker, MD, Irl Hirsch, MD, Lenna L. Liu, MD, MPH, Maryam Afkarian, MD, Grace Kim, MD, Craig Taplin, MD, Faisal Malik, MD, MSHS, Angel Nip, MD, Joyce Yi-Frazier, PhD, Lina Merjaneh, MD, Davene Wright, PhD, and Alissa Roberts, MD for the University of Washington, Beth Loots, MPH, MSW, Natalie Beauregard, BA, Sue Kearns, RN, Mary Klingsheim, RN, Michael Pascual, BA, Cordelia Franklin, BS, and Carlo Gangan, BA for Seattle Children's Hospital, and Carla Greenbaum, MD for Benaroya Research Institute.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: Giuseppina Imperatore, MD, PhD, Sharon H. Saydah, PhD

National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, NIH: Barbara Linder, MD, PhD

Central Laboratory: Santica M. Marcovina, PhD, ScD, Noemie Clouet-Foraison, PhD, Greg Strylewicz, PhD, Alan Chait, MD and Jessica Harting for the University of Washington Northwest Lipid Metabolism and Diabetes Research Research Laboratories.

Coordinating Center: Ralph D'Agostino, Jr., PhD, Lynne E. Wagenknecht, DrPH, Jasmin Divers, PhD, Beth Reboussin, PhD, Elizabeth T. Jensen, PhD, Brian Wells, MD, PhD, Ramon Casanova, PhD, Leora Henkin, MPH, MEd, Kristin Lenoir, MPH, Maureen T. Goldstein, BA, Carrie Williams, MA, CCRP, Scott Isom, MS, Jeanette Stafford, MS, Cynthia Suerken, MS, June Pierce, AB for Wake Forest School of Medicine.