

Fig. S1. Map of Sudan showing the location of the three States of Darfur (Central, East and South Darfur) and the areas where field trials and abattoir samples collected. The areas were 1. Buram (10.85°N 25.00°E), 2. Ed Daein (11.26°N 26.09°E), 3. Kass (12.50°N 24.28°E), 4. Nyala (12.05°N 24.88°E), 5. Rehed Al-Birdi (11.30°N 23.88°E), 6. Tulus (11.00°N 2.00°E), 7. Um Dafuq (10.41°N 23.41°E) and 8. Zalingei (12.54N 23.28°E). The map of the eight study areas was generated using Tableau desktop professional software for windows version 2018.1.1. Minor modifications were made using Paint software for windows version 1803.