Supplementary Table 1. List of sites and investigators.

Site	Investigator
Ashiya Central Hospital	Koji Matsushita, Manabu Narisawa
Aso Clinic	Katsumi Aso, Yuko Ando, Fumihiko Sato
Hagiwara Central Hospital	Emiko Morita, Keiichi Torimoto
Hayashi Clinic	Isao Hayashi
Inokuchi Clinic	Nobuo Inokuchi
Japan Community Health Care Organization Osaka Hospital	Masahiro Hatazaki, Arichika Deguchi, Azusa Shiraki
Juntendo Tokyo Koto Geriatric Medical Center (Department of Medicine, Diabetology and Endocrinology)	Ayako Kitamura, Eri Tanabe, Hidenori Yoshii, Tomio Onuma, Tomo Nakajima, Yasuhiko Furukawa
Juntendo University Graduate School of Medicine (Department of Metabolism & Endocrinology)	Eisuke Yasunari, Hideyoshi Kaga, Hiroaki Sato, Hirotaka Watada, Kagemi Takeno, Luka Suzuki, Miwa Himuro, Syuhei Aoyama, Takashi Funayama, Takehiro Katahira, Takeshi Miyatsuka, Tomoya Mita, Yuya Nishida
Juntendo University Nerima Hospital (Department of Medicine, Diabetes and Endocrinology)	Koji Komiya
Kanda Naika Clinic	Satoshi Kawashima
Kansai Rosai Hospital (Diabetes and Endocrinology)	Tsunehiko Yamamoto
Kihara Diabetes Clinic	Yasuyuki Kihara
Kosugi Medical Clinic	Keisuke Kosugi
Kawasaki Hospital (Department of Internal Medicine)	Akihito Otsuka, Jun Murai
Matsuoka Medical Clinic	Hirofumi Matsuoka
Misaki Naika Clinic	Nobuichi Kuribayashi
Japan Labour Health and Safety	Tadashi Arao, Kei Sugai

Organization Kyushu Rosai Hospital, Moji Medical Center (Department of Internal Medicine)	
Musashino Family Clinic	Yuichi Kojima
Nakakinen Clinic	Maiko Nakata, Miyoko Saito, Takeshi Osonoi, Yusuke Osonoi
Nakama Municipal hospital	Kohei Uriu, Yoshifumi Inada, Kanako Suzuka, Ichiro Takagi
National Hospital Organization Osaka National Hospital (Diabetes Center)	Ken Kato
Nishida Keiko Diabetes Clinic	Keiko Nishida, Akira Kurozumi, Fumi Uemura, Keiichi Torimoto, Maiko Hajime, Manabu Narisawa, Satomi Sonoda, Kumiko Tidiwa
Osaka General Medical Center (Department of Diabetes and Endocrinology)	Yohei Fujita, Sayoko Shimizu, Masahisa Hata, Yutaka Umayahara
Osaka Police Hospital (Department of Endocrinology and Metabolism)	Tetsuyuki Yasuda
Osaka Rosai Hospital	Kayoko Ryomoto
Osaka University Graduate School	Iichiro Shimomura, Naoto Katakami, Takaaki Matsuoka,
of Medicine (Department of	Mitsuyoshi Takahara, Kazuyuki Miyashita, Hiroyo Ninomiya,
Metabolic Medicine)	Naohiro Taya
Sasaki Hospital	Shinichiro Mine, Kenji Koikawa
School of Medicine, University of Occupational and Environmental Health, Japan (First Department of Internal Medicine)	Yosuke Okada, Akira Kurozumi, Manabu Narisawa, Maiko Hajime, Fumi Uemura, Satomi Sonoda, Kenichi Tanaka, Takashi Otsuka, Kenji Koikawa, Megumi Miyazaki, Akemi Tokutsu, Momoko Habu, Momo Saito,
Secomedic Hospital	Satomi Wakasugi, Tomoya Mita
Shiraiwa Medical Clinic	Toshihiko Shiraiwa
Taneda Clinic	Yoshinobu Taneda
Takaishi Naika Ichoka Clinic	Tomoya Mita
Tobata General Hospital	Kazuko Kanda

(Department of Internal Medicine)Wakamatsu Hospital of theUniversity of Occupational andKeiichi Torimoto, Kosuke NishioEnvironmental Health

Sites and investigators are listed in alphabetical order.