Table S1. Ethics Committee/Review Board Approvals for the MTN-020/ASPIRE Protocol by Clinical Research Site

Country	Clinical Research Site	Name of Ethics Committee/Review Board
Malawi	Blantyre	National Health Sciences Research Committee of Malawi Johns Hopkins University Bloomberg School of Public Health Institutional Review Board
	Lilongwe	National Health Sciences Research Committee of Malawi University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Institutional Review Board
South Africa	Cape Town	University of Cape Town: Human Research Ethics Committee
	Durban (eThekwini, Botha's Hill, Chatsworth, Isipingo, Tongaat, Umkomaas, Verulum)	Biomedical Research Ethics Committee, University of KwaZulu-Natal
	Johannesburg	Wits Human Research Ethics Committee, University of Witwatersrand
Uganda	Kampala	Joint Clinical Research Centre Institutional Review Board Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine Institutional Review Board
Zimbabwe	Chitungwiza – Seke South Chitungwiza – Zengeza Harare- Spilhaus	Medical Research Council of Zimbabwe Committee on Human Research, University of California - San Francisco