Stem Cell Reports, Volume 17

Supplemental Information

100 plus years of stem cell research—20 years of ISSCR

Urban Lendahl

ISSCR Annual Meetings and International Symposia

Annual Meetings:

- 2021 virtual meeting because of the COVID-19 pandemic (originally planned to be held in Hamburg, Germany)
- 2020 virtual meeting because of the COVD-19 pandemic (originally planned to be held in Boston, US)
- 2019 Los Angeles, US
- 2018 Melbourne, Australia
- 2017 Boston, US
- 2016 San Francisco, US
- 2015 Stockholm, Sweden
- 2014 Vancouver, Canada
- 2013 Boston, US
- 2012 Yokohama, Japan
- 2011 Toronto, Canada
- 2010 San Francisco, US
- 2009 Barcelona, Spain
- 2008 Philadelphia, US
- 2007 Cairns, Australia
- 2006 Toronto, Canada
- 2005 San Francisco, US
- 2004 Boston, US
- 2003 Washington DC, US

International Symposia:

- 2021 virtual meetings because of the COVID-19 pandemic
- 2020 virtual meetings because of the COVID-19 pandemic
- 2019 Amsterdam, the Netherlands
 - Seoul, South Korea
 - Toronto, Canada
- 2018 Lausanne, Switzerland
- 2017 Basel, Switzerland
 - Guangzhou, China
- 2016 Dresden, Germany
 - Florence, Italy
 - Kyoto, Japan
- 2015 Sozhou, China
- 2014 San Diego, US
 - Singapore
- 2013 Florence, Italy
 - Sozhou, China
- 2012 Boston, US

San Francisco, US Sao Paolo, Brazil

2011 - Sozhou, China

2010 - Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Boston, US

2009 - Buenos Aires, Argentina

2008 - Shanghai, China

Supplementary Figure 1:

A list of ISSCR Annual Meetings and International Symposia.

ISSCR Awards and Awardees

ISSCR Dr. Susan Lim Award for Outstanding Young Investigator (2009-2017 called the ISSCR Outstanding Young Investigator Award)

The ISSCR Dr. Susan Lim Award for Outstanding Young Investigator, supported by the Dr. Susan Lim Endowment for Education and Research Ltd., recognizes the exceptional achievements of an investigator in the early part of their independent career in stem cell research.

Awardees:

2021 - Madeline Lancaster

2020 - Allon M. Klein

2019 - Barbara Treutlein

2018 - Shuibing Chen

2017 – Jayaraj Rajagopal

2016 – Fernando Camargo

2015 - Paul Tesar

2014 - Valentina Greco

2013 - Marius Wernig

2012 - Cédric Blanpain

2011 - Robert Blelloch

2010 – Joanna Wysocka

2009 – Konrad Hochedlinger

ISSCR Achievement Award (introduced in 2020)

The ISSCR Achievement Award recognizes the transformative body of work of an investigator that has had a major impact on the field of stem cell research or regenerative medicine.

Awardees:

2021 - Janet Rossant

ISSCR Momentum Award (introduced in 2020)

The ISSCR Momentum Award recognizes the exceptional achievements of an investigator whose innovative research has established a major area of stem cell-related research with a strong trajectory for future success.

Awardees:

2021 - Valentina Greco

ISSCR Public Service Award (introduced in 2011)

The ISSCR Public Service Award is given in recognition of outstanding contributions of public service to the fields of stem cell research and regenerative medicine.

Awardees:

2021 – Robin Lovell-Badge

2020 - Susan L. Solomon

2019 - Eli and Edythe Broad

2018 - Megan Munsie

2017 - George Q. Daley

2015 - Alan Trounson

2014 – Paolo Bianco, Elena Cattaneo, Michele De Luca

2013 - Hiromitsu Ogawa, Betty Jean Crouch Ogawa

2012 – Rob and Cheryl McEwen

2011 - Robert Klein

ISSCR Tobias Award Lecture (2016-2021)

The ISSCR Tobias Award Lecture was established in 2015 by the Tobias Foundation. The award recognized original and promising basic hematology research as well as direct translational or clinical research related to cell therapy in hematological disorders.

Awardees:

2021 - Stuart H. Orkin

2020 - Margaret A. Goodell

2019 – Scott Armstrong

2018 - Connie Eaves

2017 – John Dick

2016 - Leonard Zon

ISSCR Award for Innovation (2018-2019; 2011-2017 called the McEwen Award for Innovation)

The ISSCR Award for Innovation recognized a transformative breakthrough that has had a major impact on the field of stem cell research or regenerative medicine.

Awardees:

2019 - John Dick

2018 - Michele De Luca, Graziella Pellegrini

2017 - Elaine Fuchs

2016 - Austin Smith, Qi-Long Ying

2015 - Hans Clevers, Irving Weissman

2014 – Azim Surani

2013 – James A. Thomson

2012 - Rudolf Jaenisch

2011 - Kazutoshi Takahaski, Shinya Yamanaka

Other awards:

The ISSCR Zhongmei Chen Yong Awards for Scientific Excellence (travel awards) ISSCR Poster Awards ISSCR Merit Abstract Awards

Supplementary Figure 2:

A list of ISSCR Awards and Awardees.