Abstract
Background
The growing resistance to current antimalarial drugs has stalled the eradication of malaria in endemic countries. DSM265 has recently been studied in phase I and II clinical trials.
Aim
This meta-analysis aims to evaluate the safety, pharmacokinetics (PK), and antiparasitic activity of DSM265 based on available early-phase clinical trials.
Methods
This systematic review (PROSPERO: CRD42024499167) was conducted to identify any relevant clinical trials reporting DSM265 safety and PK data. Five databases were searched, i.e., PubMed, Cochrane CENTRAL, EBSCOhost, Clinicaltrials.gov, and ScienceDirect. Eligible clinical trials on DSM265 that reported safety outcomes and PK parameters were included. The risk of bias was assessed by Cochrane’s Collaboration tool. Meta-analysis was conducted to present the pooled adverse events (AEs) and summary estimates for PK parameters, including maximum drug concentration (Cmax [μg/mL]), time to maximum drug concentration (Tmax [hours (h)]), elimination half-lives (T1/2 [h]), and area under the concentration–time curves (AUCs [h·μg/mL]). Subgroup analysis and meta-regression analyses were conducted among various doses and drug formulations.
Results
Seven trials were eligible for systematic review. Overall, DSM265 was associated with increased risks of AEs (relative risk [RR] [95% CI] = 1.46 [1.15, 1.84]); subgroup analysis showed significant risks only among the low-dose (25–250 mg) (RR [95% CI] = 1.86 CI [1.36, 2.54]) and high-dose (600–1200 mg) (RR [95% CI] = 1.67 CI [1.03, 2.72]) subgroups. When given as oral suspension at 400 mg dose, DSM265 achieved Cmax: 9.3 μg/mL (95% CI = 7.5, 11.2), Tmax: 5.4 h (95% CI = 2.7, 8.2), T1/2: 112.1 h (95% CI = 91.3, 132.9), and AUC0-∞h: 1,601.9 h·μg/mL (95% CI = 1,233.5, 1970.3). A substantial heterogeneity in PK parameters was evident and justified in meta-regression, which showed linear dose-PK parameter relationships. DSM265 has been shown to target Plasmodium falciparum DHODH with greater selectivity compared to Plasmodium vivax. Furthermore, the drug did not exhibit anti-gametocyte activity which was consistent with preclinical studies.
Conclusion
In this meta-analysis, DSM265 demonstrated a favorable safety profile after a single 400 mg dose. While preclinical signals of teratogenicity and testicular toxicity have halted further development, these effects were not reported in the included clinical trials. Substantial variability in PK parameters was noted, driven primarily by administered doses.
Supplementary Information
The online version contains supplementary material available at 10.1186/s12936-026-05826-y.
Keywords: Malaria, Plasmodium, Antimalarial agents, Chemoprophylaxis, Gametocytes, DSM265
Introduction
DSM265 has emerged as a potential candidate for antimalarial treatment and chemoprophylaxis, with the added advantage of improved convenience and medication adherence [1, 2]. This is also considering that the progress toward malaria eradication has stalled globally. According to the World Health Organization’s (WHO) World Malaria Report 2025 annual report, malaria incidence in 2024 reached 64 cases per 1000 people at risk, which is more than threefold higher than the Global Technical Strategy (GTS) target level of 18 cases per 1000. Overall, incidence has risen by 8.5% between 2015 and 2024 [3], 4. Furthermore, across 80 malaria endemic countries, there were approximately 282 million malaria cases reported in 2024, which was an increased of 9 million cases (3%) compared to 2023 [3], 5, 6. Considering the WHO’s ambitious goals of the overall reduction of morbidity and mortality of malaria over the next 15 years by 90%, the current trends do not seem encouraging.
Part of the challenges in eradicating malaria infection in recent years were largely attributed to the growing rate of resistance, particularly in endemic countries [7, 8]. This includes the spread of P. falciparum Kelch13 (PfKelch13) in western Cambodia, the Lao People’s Democratic Republic, and Papua New Guinea, among others [8–11] resulting in high failure of artemisinin-combination therapy (ACT) (13.5 to 22.6%) [4, 9]. The increase in ACT therapeutic failure has also been reported in sub-Saharan Africa, from 0.4% in 2016 to as high as 4.6% in 2019 [11].
DSM265 belongs to a triazolopyrimidine compound that selectively antagonizes the plasmodium dihydroorotate dehydrogenase (pDHODH) enzyme that catalyzes de novo DNA polymerization and pyrimidine synthesis [12]. The structural variations in the ubiquinone-binding site, and the more hydrophobic and larger active site pocket of pDHODH compared to human DHODH (hDHODH) enables the selective inhibition by DSM265 [1]. In addition, unlike human who can synthesize pyrimidines via both the de novo and salvage pathways, Plasmodium lacks a salvage pathway for pyrimidine synthesis and depends entirely on DHODH [13], with absolute reliance to pDHODH for parasite survival [14, 15].
In-vitro and animal studies have demonstrated selectivity for pDHODH and good antiparasitic activities in blood-stage (erythrocytic) and liver-stage (pre-erythrocytic) parasites [15–17]. Furthermore, early clinical trials have demonstrated good pharmacokinetic (PK) profiles, safety, and potential efficacy of single-dose DSM265 in patients with malaria [18–21]. McCarthy et al. [19] was the first phase 1 randomized controlled trial (RCT), which suggested the tolerability of a single ≤ 1200 mg dose of DSM265 and good PK profiles. The study also found that the dose of 340 mg for patients weighing 60 kg is efficacious for Plasmodium (P.) falciparum cure [19]. Furthermore, chemoprophylaxis efficacy was evaluated by Sulyok et al. [18], who found that a single dose of 400 mg confers effective prophylaxis properties when administered one day before a controlled human malaria infection (CHMI). However, the prophylaxis was not as effective when given 1 week before the P. falciparum CHMI [18]. DSM265 also confers more convenience compared to the standard ACT recommendation by the WHO considering that it was hypothesized that a DSM265-based combination treatment might be a single dose cure.
Despite the encouraging prospect, the currently available data on DSM265 safety and PK profiles are derived from relatively small cohorts of patients [18–22]. The available data are also largely inconsistent, with variability in the reported PK parameters and the tolerability of DSM265. For that reason, this meta-analysis aims to summarize the available early human clinical trials on DSM265, focusing on evaluating drug safety, efficacy, and its PK properties.
Methodology
Protocol and registration
This meta-analysis was performed in compliance with the Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analysis (PRISMA) reporting guideline and is registered in the International Prospective Register of Systematic Reviews (PROSPERO) under the identification number CRD42024499167.
Literature search strategy
Five electronic databases, i.e., PubMed/MEDLINE, Cochrane CENTRAL, EBSCOHost, Clinicaltrials.gov, and ScienceDirect, were systematically searched using specific keywords to identify all available and relevant prospective clinical trials. All available studies from inception up to January 2024 were retrieved. The original plan of inclusion of studies within the past 10 years was not implemented as the earliest clinical trials were published in 2017. The search keywords were constructed as: ((DSM265[Title/Abstract]) OR (triazolopyrimidine[Title/Abstract]) OR (dihydroorotate dehydrogenase[Title/Abstract]) OR (dihydroorotate dehydrogenase inhibitor[Title/Abstract])) AND ((malaria[Title/Abstract]) OR (plasmodium[Title/Abstract])) and were modified according to the search language of each electronic database. This process was done by two coauthors (MCJ and IS). Furthermore, the references of the retrieved studies were thoroughly reviewed to identify and retrieve any potentially relevant trials. Following the retrieval of available records, the screening process was conducted initially with duplicate screening, followed by screening for the eligibility criteria through title/abstract screening and full-text screening. Eligible studies were included in the meta-analysis.
Eligibility criteria
Studies that met all the following criteria were included in this review: (1) being prospective clinical trials; (2) using the DSM265 drug in the study; and (3) reporting safety outcomes and PK parameters. Dihydroorotate dehydrogenase (DHODH) inhibitors that evaluated conditions other than Plasmodium infection were excluded. Three reviewers (IS, IA, and TK) independently assessed the retrieved records for duplication and compliance with the eligibility criteria. Any dispute between the three reviewers was resolved by discussion with the fourth coauthor (MJ).
Quality assessment
Two reviewers (IA and MG) independently assessed the quality of included trials using Cochrane’s Collaboration tool to assess the risk of biases. This tool evaluates seven key domains: (1) random sequence generation, (2) allocation concealment, (3) blinding of participants and personnel, (4) blinding of outcome assessment, (5) incomplete outcome data, (6) selective reporting, and (7) other potential sources of bias. Each domain is assessed as having a low, high, or unclear risk of bias according to the fulfillment of the criteria. The final evaluation of each trials classifies the study as having a low, high, or unclear overall risk of bias based on the assessment of these seven domains [23, 24].
Data extraction
A standardized extraction form was developed by MJ. Data extraction was performed independently by two authors and a third author served as a tie breaker (MJ, IA, and IS). The data extraction form consisted of following variables: the name of the principal author, year of publication, trial registry, country of the study, design and phase of the clinical trials, blinding status, total sample size, sample size of each arm, sex distribution, mean age, DSM265 dose, DSM265 formulation of DSM265 (i.e., oral suspension, liquid emulsion, spray dry dispersion [SDD]), duration of follow-up, and Plasmodium species being inoculated. Data on PK parameters, namely DSM265 Cmax (μg/mL), C168h (μg/mL), tmax (hours), t1/2 (hours), AUC0–∞h (h·μg/mL), and AUC0–168 h (h·μg/mL), AUC480h (h·μg/mL), were also recorded on the same form. The reported adverse events were also collected. Any data expressed as median, range, or interquartile range (IQR) were converted into mean and standard deviation via a standardized method [25].
Outcome measures
Early studies on DSM265 showed large variability in administered dose ranges and formulations, ranging from 25 mg to 1200 mg. Most studies use 400 mg dosing regimen. Thus, we categorized the dose as follows: common dose (400 mg), low dose (less than 400 mg) and high dose (more than 400 mg). The primary endpoints of this study were safety and PK parameters across different DSM265 dosing categories and oral formulations. PK outcomes were later adopted in our study to better understand the impact of increasing dose on PK properties as included clinical trials had a broad range of diverse dosing. Efficacy analysis was not feasible given limited number of trials and early trials mostly reported on safety outcomes rather than efficacy analyses. We defined safety outcome as the pooled risk of adverse events (AEs). PK measures encompass DSM265 Cmax (i.e., maximum plasma concentration [μg/mL]), C168h (concentration at 168 h [μg/mL]), tmax (time to maximum concentration [hours]), t1/2 (elimination half-life [hours]), AUC0–∞h (area under the curve from zero to infinite hours [hours·μg/mL]), and AUC0–168 h (area under the curve from zero to 168 h [hours·μg/mL]), and AUC480h (area under the curve from zero to 480 h [hours·μg/mL]). Furthermore, secondary efficacy outcomes are described qualitatively, which include parasite reduction ratio (PRR), parasite clearance half-life (t½), recrudescence of malarial infection, and prophylactic efficacy of DSM265.
Statistical analysis
The safety endpoint was reported as the pooled relative risk (RR) of AEs. The pooled study-level PK data were regarded as continuous variables and were reported as the overall mean. The forest plots were synthesized using the random-effects/DerSimonian-Laird method to generate summary mean estimates of DSM265 pharmacokinetic parameters owing to considerable heterogeneity between studies. We determined the risk of heterogeneity using the I2 statistics. In addition, subgroup analysis was performed based on different dose categories, i.e., common dose (400 mg), low dose (25–250 mg), and high dose (600–1200 mg). The cutoff was determined because all included trials employed a 400 mg dosing regimen alongside the alternative dosing regimens. Subset subgroup analysis was also carried out among the common dose subgroups based on oral drug formulations, i.e., SDD, oral suspension, and liquid emulsion. Meta-regression analysis was conducted to demonstrate the linearity of dose-pharmacokinetic relationships across study endpoints. All statistical analyses were carried out using OpenMeta [Analyst] software v.10.12. Prediction intervals (95% PI) were calculated to indicate the expected range of true effects in future similar settings, using the Higgins-Thompson-Spiegelhalter formula: PI = μ̂ ± t(k − 2) × √(τ2 + SE2)."
Result
Literature search results
The PRISMA flow chart of the study is depicted in Fig. 1. A total of 291 studies were identified from five different databases, namely PubMed/MEDLINE (n = 185), Cochrane CENTRAL (n = 17), EBSCOHost (n = 38), Clinicaltrials.gov (n = 6), and ScienceDirect (n = 45). Following the exclusion of duplicate records (n = 59), titles/abstracts screening excluded 222 records due to the following reasons: book chapter (n = 2); review (n = 25), non-human study (n = 43), irrelevant studies (n = 136), and non-clinical trial study (n = 16). Full-text review of the remaining 10 records excluded non-clinical trial studies (n = 2) and a non-human trial (n = 1). A total of seven trials were subsequently considered eligible for qualitative and quantitative analysis.
Fig. 1.
PRISMA flow chart of the study. PICO, population/intervention/control/outcome
Characteristics of included studies
A summary of the key baseline characteristics of the seven included studies in this review is shown in Table 1. The total pooled sample size was 238 patients, with most of them were males (79%). All clinical trials were phase 1 except for Llanos-Cuentas et al. [20], which was phase 2. The studies were published between 2017 and 2020 in four different countries: Australia, the United States, Peru, and Germany. Participants in the treatment arms of all studies received a single dose of DMS265 apart from McCarthy et al. [22], in which they received the combination of DMS265 plus artefenomel [22]. The DSM265 formulation included oral suspension, solution, emulsion, and SDD with doses ranging from 25 mg to 1,200 mg. The common dose of DSM265 across all studies was 400 mg once. The follow-up duration ranged from 3 to 6 weeks. Targeted plasmodium species were either P. falciparum only [18, 19, 22, 26] or P. falciparum and P. vivax in different study phases [20, 21]. Two studies [19, 27] included healthy, non-infected subjects. The diagnosis and follow-up of malaria in the included studies were principally made through thick blood smear [18, 20, 21] and/or the quantitative reverse-transcriptase polymerase chain reaction (qRT-PCR) which targeted 18S ribosomal DNA [18, 20–22, 26]. Gametocytemia was assessed through microscopic examination by Llanos Cuentas et al. [20], while three blood-stage volunteer infection trials, i.e. McCarthy et al. [19]; McCarthy, et al. [22]; and Collins et al. 26 evaluated gametocytes using PCR study [19, 20, 22, 26]. PCR adjustment was performed in one study to distinguish between true treatment failure, i.e. recrudescence, and a new infection (reinfection) acquired after treatment [20].
Table 1.
Baseline characteristics of the included studies
| Author, year, registry | Country | Study design, phase, blinding | Arms | Sample size | Age ± SD | Intervention | Dose (mg) | RoA | FU (w) | Duration of Tx | Plasmodium species | |||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Σ | Each arm | M | F | |||||||||||
| McCarthy et al. [19], ACTRN12613000522718 and ACTRN12613000527763 | Australia | RCT, 1a, double-blind | Tx 1A | 73 | 6 | 6 | 0 | 26.1 ± 6.8 | DSM265 | 25 | oral suspension | 3 | single dose | NA (healthy subjects) |
| Tx 1B | 6 | 6 | 0 | DMS265 | 75 | oral suspension | single dose | |||||||
| Tx 1C | 6 | 6 | 0 | DSM265 | 150 | oral suspension | single dose | |||||||
| Tx 1D | 8 | 8 | 0 | DSM265 | 250 | oral suspension | single dose | |||||||
| Tx 1E | 8 | 8 | 0 | DMS265 | 250 | oral suspension | single dose | |||||||
| Tx 1F | 11 | 11 | 0 | DSM265 | 400 | oral suspension | single dose | |||||||
| Tx 1G | 6 | 6 | 0 | DMS265 | 600 | oral suspension | single dose | |||||||
| Tx 1H | 6 | 6 | 0 | DSM265 | 800 | oral suspension | single dose | |||||||
| Tx 1I | 6 | 6 | 0 | DMS265 | 1200 | oral suspension | single dose | |||||||
| Con | 18 | 18 | 0 | 27.9 ± 8.9 | Placebo | NA | oral solution | single dose | ||||||
| RCT, 1b, open-label | Tx | 9 | 7 | 7 | 0 | 24.1 ± 2.0 | DSM265 | 150 | oral suspension | 3 | single dose | P. falciparum | ||
| Con | 2 | 2 | 0 | 27.0 ± 5.7 | Mefloquine | 10/kg | oral tablet | single dose | ||||||
| Sulyok et al. [18], NCT02450578 | Germany | RCT, 1, double-blind | Tx 1A | 8 | 6 | 4 | 2 | 25.0 (22–28) | DMS265 | 400 | liquid emulsion | 4 | single dose | P. falciparum |
| Con 1A | 2 | 1 | 1 | 27.0 (25–29) | Placebo | NA | liquid emulsion | single dose | ||||||
| Tx 1B | 8 | 6 | 4 | 2 | 25.5 ± 2.05 | DSM265 | 400 | liquid emulsion | single dose | |||||
| Con 1B | 2 | 1 | 1 | 25.0 ± 1.5 | Placebo | NA | liquid emulsion | single dose | ||||||
| Llanos-Cuentas et al. [20], NCT02123290 | Peru | NRCT, 2a, open-label | Tx 1A | 24 | 13 | 10 | 3 | 36.2 ± 12.1 | DSM265 | 400 | oral suspension | 4–5 | single dose | P. falciparum |
| Tx 2A | 11 | 8 | 3 | 43.9 ± 17.25 | DMS265 | 250 | oral suspension | single dose | ||||||
| NRCT, 2a, open-label | Tx 1B* | 21 | 5 | 3 | 2 | 35.0 ± 4.9 | DSM265 | 400 | oral suspension | single dose | P. vivax | |||
| Tx 2B* | 9 | 5 | 4 | 41.9 ± 15.1 | DMS265 | 600 | oral suspension | single dose | ||||||
| Tx 3B* | 7 | 4 | 3 | 38.3 ± 15.2 | DSM265 | 800 | oral suspension | single dose | ||||||
| Murphy et al. [21], NCT02562872 | USA | RCT, 1, double-blind | Tx | 24 | 18 | 12 | 12 | NA | DSM265 | 400 | oral suspension | 6 | single dose | P. falciparum (phase 1-2a), P. falciparum and P. vivax (phase 2b) |
| Con | 6 | NA | Placebo | NA | oral suspension | single dose | ||||||||
| Collins et al. [26], NCT02573857 | Australia | NRCT, 1b, open-label | Tx | 16 | 8 | 5 | 3 | 24.8 ± 4.0 | DSM265 | 400 | oral suspension | 4 | single dose | P. falciparum |
| Con | 8 | 8 | 0 | 24.9 ± 4.6 | OZ439 | 200 | oral suspension | single dose | ||||||
| McCarthy, [22], NCT02389348 | Australia | NRCT, 1b, open-label | Tx | 13 | 8 | 5 | 3 | 27.8 ± 12.4 | DSM265 + Artefenomel | 100 | oral suspension | 5 | single dose | P. falciparum |
| Con | 5 | 3 | 2 | 23.4 ± 2.3 | DSM265 + Artefenomel | 50 | oral suspension | single dose | ||||||
| Chalon et al., [27], NCT03637517 | USA | RCT, 1, open-label | Tx 1A | 42 | 14 | 11 | 3 | 37.9 + 10.78 | DSM265 | 400 | SDD | 3 | single dose | NA (healthy subjects) |
| Tx 1B | 14 | 11 | 3 | 36.1 + 9.23 | DSM265 | 400 | SDD | single dose | ||||||
| Tx 1C | 14 | 11 | 3 | 38.6 + 10.58 | DSM265 | 400 | SDD | single dose | ||||||
ACTRN, Australian New Zealand Clinical Trials Registry; Con, control arm; F (female); FU (follow-up); M (male); NA (Not Applicable); NRCT: non-randomized controlled trial; RCT, randomized controlled trial; RoA (Route of Administration); SD, standard deviation; SDD, spray dry diversion; Tx, treatment arm; w, weeks
Quality of studies
Cochrane risk of bias assessment tool was developed to evaluate the risk of bias in included clinical trials (Table 2). Among the seven included studies, three were regarded as low risk of bias and were deemed to be of good quality [18, 19, 21]; three were considered to be of poor quality [20, 22, 26], and one study by Chalon et al. [27] could not be assessed for methodological quality due to unavailable details on their methodology [27].
Table 2.
Cochrane collaboration tool assessment of the quality of studies
| Study | Cochrane collaboration questionnaires1 | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Q1 | Q2 | Q3 | Q4 | Q5 | Q6 | Q7 | Overall | |
| McCarthy et al. [19] | Low | Low | Low | Low | Low | Low | Low | Good quality |
| Sulyok et al. [18] | Low | Low | Low | Low | Low | Low | Low | Good quality |
| Llanos-Cuentas [20] | High | High | Low | Uncertain | High | Uncertain | Low | Poor quality |
| Murphy et al. [21] | Low | Low | Low | Low | Low | Low | Low | Good quality |
| Collins et al. [26] | High | High | Low | Uncertain | High | Uncertain | Low | Poor quality |
| McCarthy, [22] | High | High | Low | Uncertain | High | Uncertain | Low | Poor quality |
| Chalon et al., [27] | NA | NA | NA | NA | NA | NA | NA | NA |
1 Questions included: Q1, Random sequence generation; Q2, Allocation concealment; Q3, Selective reporting; Q4, Other Bias; Q5, Blinding of participants and personnel; Q6, Blinding of outcome assessment; Q7, Incomplete outcome data. NA, not assessed
Overall risks of adverse events
As illustrated in Fig. 2A, there was a significant pooled risk of AEs in the oral suspension DSM265 arm (RR [95% CI] = 1.46 [1.15, 1.84], I2 = 54.48%). However, a significant increase in the AE risk was only reported among the low- (25–250 mg) (RR [95% CI] = 1.86 CI [1.36, 2.54], I2 = 29.14%) and high-dose subgroup (600–1200 mg) (RR [95% CI] = 1.67 CI [1.03, 2.72] I2 = 0.00%) compared to the control arms. No difference was demonstrated among various DSM265 formulations of 400 mg dose. The summary of AEs is provided in the Supplementary materials, Appendix 1, Table 1. The most frequently reported side effects among those receiving DSM265 (n = 140) were mild, the most common of which were headache (n = 42/140), pyrexia (n = 29/140), fatigue (n = 22/140), myalgia (n = 16/140), and nausea (n = 11/140).
Fig. 2.
Rate of overall adverse events with subgroup analysis based on the dose of oral formulation (A) and subset group analysis of 400 mg dose based on oral formulation (B)
There were no serious AEs (SAEs) reported across all included trials which were attributed to the drug. McCarthy et al. [19] reported 1 (for unclear reason) and 2 SAEs (one participant with multiple injuries due to accident and another participant with Bell’s palsy) in patient in part 1 and 2 of the study, respectively, all of which was unrelated to studied drug [19]. Llanos Cuentas et al. [20] reported one event of bacteremia occurred in P. falciparum patient receiving 250 mg of DSM265 [20]. In Sulyok et al. [18] trial, one patient in cohort 1 developed bilateral pulmonary embolism, which was mostly attributed to the participant’s long flight and oral contraceptives use; whereas in cohort 2, two participants had asymptomatic hyperkalemia which was categorized as severe but deemed attributed to sampling error [18]. Meanwhile, McCarthy et al. [19] study showed one subject that developed elevated aspartate transaminase of > 10 times the upper limit of normal (ULN) with concurrent elevated creatine kinase of > 170 times ULN. This was not considered to be related to study interventions and was attributed to resumption of weightlifting program after periods of inactivity [18–22]. It should be noted that no mortality occurred in any of included trials (Table 3).
Table 3.
Efficacy outcomes reported by included studies
| Study | Arms | DSM265 dose | Malaria species | Efficacy parameters | |||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PRR48 (log10) | Parasite clearance t½ (hours) | Gametocytemia | Recrudescence | ||||
| McCarthy et al. [19] | Cohort 2 | DSM265 150 mg (n = 6) | P. falciparum | 1.55 (1.42—1.67) | 9.4 (8.7—10.2) | Detection of pfs25, which indicates gametocytemia, was demonstrated 5 days following DSM265 administration | All participants receiving DSM265 developed recrudescence between 10–22 days |
| Llanos Cuentas et al. [20] | Cohort 2A | DSM265 250 mg (n = 7) | P. falciparum | 3.1 (1.6–5.6) | 4.7 (2.6—9.3) | 62.5% of patients infected with P. falciparum had microscopically negative gametocytemia at the start of therapy, which became positive for gametocytes on day 28. Two patients with initial positive results had persistently positive gametocytes after day 28 | 4 patients (26.7%) with P. falciparum infection developed recrudescence |
| Cohort 1A | DSM265 400 mg (n = 8) | P. falciparum | 2.9 (1.8 – 9.6) | 5.0 (1.5—8.0) | |||
| Cohort 1B | DSM265 400 mg (n = 4) | P. vivax | 0.77 (0.63 – 1.5) | 19 (9.9—23) | 33% of patients infected with P. vivax who had no gametocytemia at baseline developed gametocytemia at day 28. No positive gametocytemia after day 5 among those with baseline-positive gametocytemia (n = 3) | Recrudescence could not be reliably assessed As DSM265 was not sufficiently effective. Only one participant with cleared parasites by day 7 without recrudescing by day 14 | |
| Cohort 2B | DSM265 600 mg (n = 9) | P. vivax | 1.5 (0.57 – 2.6) | 9.4 (5.6—25) | |||
| Cohort 3B | DSM265 800 mg (n = 6) | P. vivax | 1.2 (0.45 – 2.5) | 12 (5.7—32) | |||
| McCarthy, et al. [22] | Cohort 1* | DSM265 100 mg (n = 8) | P. falciparum | 2.80 (2.56—3.04) | 5.17 (4.76—5.65) | Presence of low-level gametocytemia (1—330 female gametocytes/ml) in all subjects 7 days following therapy | Recrudescence reported in 62.5% of subjects between days 19 – 28 |
| DSM265 50 mg (n = 8) | P. falciparum | 2.71 (2.57—2.85) | 5.33 (5.07—5.62) | Recrudescence reported in all subjects between days 15 – 22 | |||
| Collins et al. [26] | Tx | DSM265 400 mg (n = 8) | P. falciparum | 2.78 (2.61—2.95) | 5.20 (4.90—5.53) | Low-level gametocytemia (15 to 937 gametocytes/mL) starting from day 9 of therapy, predominantly female gametocytes. No decrease in gametocytes following second dose of DSM265 | No recrudescent asexual parasitemia developed in any participant |
*Both arms received Artefenomel 200 mg in addition to DSM265. P. falciparum. Plasmodium falciparum; P. vivax, Plasmodium vivax; PRR48, parasite reduction ratio at 48 h; t½, half-life
Pharmacokinetics analysis
Details on the differences of the pharmacokinetics parameters among different formulations are displayed in Table 4. All forest plots and meta-regression plot analyses of DSM265 PK parameters are displayed in Supplementary materials, Appendix 2.
Table 4.
Differences in pharmacokinetics of 400 mg doses in different formulations
| Study, year, registry | Formulation | DSM265 dose | Cmax (μg/mL) | tmax (h) | t1/2 (h) | C168h (μg/mL) | AUC480 (h·μg/mL) | AUC0–∞ (h·μg/mL) | AUC0–168 (h·μg/mL) | |||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mean | SD or range | Mean | SD or range | Mean | SD or range | Mean | SD | Mean | SD | Mean | SD or range | Mean | SD | |||
| McCarthy, et al. [19], ACTRN12613000522718 | Oral suspension | 400 mg | 11.5 | 3.22 | 4 | (2–4) | 96 | 26.88 | 2.5 | 0.9 | 1160 | 371.2 | 1210 | 435.6 | NA | NA |
| Sulyok et al. [18], NCT02450578 | Liquid emulsion | 400 mg | 7.06 | 1.04 | 8.08 | 6.58 | 118 | 36.9 | NA | NA | NA | NA | 967 | 272 | 579 | 75.7 |
| Liquid emulsion | 400 mg | 11.3 | 2.03 | 8.08 | 6.58 | 119 | 37.2 | NA | NA | NA | NA | 1630 | 452 | 968 | 135 | |
| Llanos-Cuentas et al., [20], NCT02123290 | Oral suspension | 400 mg | 7.03 | 2.11 | 8.1 | (2.0–24) | 96.7 | 35.78 | NA | NA | NA | NA | NA | NA | 638 | 153.12 |
| Oral suspension | 400 mg | 7.88 | 2.84 | 5 | (2.0–24) | 115 | 41.4 | NA | NA | NA | NA | NA | NA | 657 | 183.96 | |
| Murphy et al. [21], NCT02562872 | Oral suspension | 400 mg | 11.2 | 5.9 | 14.3 | (1–72) | 108.60 | 30.7 | NA | NA | NA | NA | 1706 | 939 | NA | NA |
| Collins et al. [26], NCT02573857 | Oral suspension | 400 mg | 9.99 | 7.8–14.5 | 2 | 1–24 | 140 | 106–164 | NA | NA | NA | NA | 1807.6 | 1598.2 – 2049.8 | NA | NA |
| Chalon et al., [27], NCT03637517 | SDD | 400 mg | 15.3 | 4.13 | 2.4 | 1.4 | NA | NA | 4.09 | 1.02 | NA | NA | 1960 | 568.4 | 1100 | 154 |
| SDD | 400 mg | 14.2 | 3.98 | 2.1 | 0.9 | NA | NA | 3.54 | 0.89 | NA | NA | 1760 | 457.6 | 987 | 167.8 | |
| SDD | 400 mg | 11.2 | 3.02 | 11.4 | 8.4 | NA | NA | 4.2 | 1.01 | NA | NA | 2040 | 469.2 | 1160 | 255.2 | |
NA not available; SD standard deviation; SDD spray dried dispersion;
Cmax
The overall pooled mean of oral suspension DSM265 Cmax (μg/mL) was 9.0 μg/mL (95% CI = 7.4, 10.7; 95% PI = 0.4, 17.6). The mean Cmax (μg/mL) across oral formulation dose subgroups were as follows: (a) common dose: 9.3 μg/mL (95% CI = 7.5, 11.2); (b) low dose: 5.2 μg/mL (95% CI = 3.3, 7.0); high dose: 16.5 μg/mL (95% CI = 11.1, 22.0). High heterogeneity was observed among different formulations in the 400 mg dose (I2 = 91.95%), with liquid emulsion DSM265 Cmax of 9.1 μg/mL (95% CI = 5.0, 13.3) in oral suspension and 13.5 μg/mL (95% CI = 10.9, 16.0) in SDD. Meta-regression demonstrated a linear dose-Cmax relationship (coefficient = 0.018, p = 0.001; Fig. 1.C. Appendix 2, Supplementary materials).
C168h
Overall, the pooled mean of oral suspension DSM265 C168h (μg/mL) was 2.8 μg/mL (95% CI = 2.0, 3.5; 95% PI = 0.1, 5.4), with subgroup analysis based on dose categories as follows: (a) common dose: 2.5 μg/mL (95% CI = 1.7, 3.3); (b) low dose: 1.1 μg/mL (95% CI = 0.4, 1.7); (c) high dose: 6.4 μg/mL (95% CI = 3.0, 9.8). Among the 400 mg dose, the SDD subgroup had a mean C168h (μg/mL) of 3.9 μg/mL (95% CI = 3.5, 4.3). Meta-regression demonstrated a linear dose- C168h relationship (coefficient = 0.008, p = 0.001; Fig. 3.C. Appendix 2, Supplementary materials).
Fig. 3.
Funnel plot for assessment of publication bias
tmax
The pooled mean of tmax (hours) was 2.7 h (95% CI = 2.2, 3.3; 95% PI = 0.7, 4.6). Furthermore, the tmax (hours) of the subgroups were: (a) common dose: 5.4 h (95% CI = 2.7, 8.2), (b) low dose: 2.0 h (95% CI = 1.9, 2.1), and (c) high dose: 3.2 h (95% CI = 1.9, 4.6). High variability was observed among various formulations in 400 mg dose (I2 = 86.6%); the tmax (hours) of SDD was 3.2 h (95% CI = 1.6, 4.9), whereas that of liquid emulsion was 8.1 (95% CI = 4.4, 11.8). Meta-regression did not demonstrate a linear dose- tmax relationship (coefficient = 0.001, p = 0.364; Fig. 4.C. Appendix 2, Supplementary materials).
t1/2
The pooled analysis of oral suspension DSM265 t1/2 (hours) across subgroups demonstrated the following: (a) overall: 102.6 h (95% CI = 93.6, 111.6; 95% PI = 89.5, 115.7); (b) common dose: 112.1 h (95% CI = 91.3, 132.9), (c) low dose: 96.6 h (95% CI = 90.4, 102.8); and (d) high dose: 103.6 h (95% CI = 89.3, 117.9). The liquid emulsion formulation revealed a higher mean t1/2 (hours) compared to oral suspension (t1/2 [hours] = 118.5 [95% CI = 97.5, 139.5]). Meta-regression did not demonstrate a linear dose- t1/2 relationship (coefficient = 0.021, p = 0.121; Fig. 2.C. Appendix 2, Supplementary materials).
AUC0-∞h, AUC0-168 h, and AUC0-480 h
The pooled AUC0-∞h (h·μg/mL) mean among oral suspension DSM265 was 1372.5 h·μg/mL (95% CI = 1065.8, 1679.1; 95% PI = 195.7, 2549.3); the AUC0-∞h (h·μg/mL) for different dose categories were as follows: (a) common dose: 1601.9 h·μg/mL (95% CI = 1233.5, 1970.3); (b) low dose: 465.5 h·μg/mL (95% CI = 326.1, 604.8); and (c) high dose: 3013.7 h·μg/mL (95% CI = 1471.4, 4556,0). Meta-regression demonstrated a linear dose- AUC0-∞h relationship (coefficient = 3.535, p = 0.001; Fig. 5.C. Appendix 2, Supplementary materials). Furthermore, subset subgroup analysis of the common dose revealed a higher AUC0-∞h (h·μg/mL) h·μg/mL with SDD formulation (AUC0-∞h = 1914.3 [95% CI = 1741.0, 2087.5 h·μg/mL]) compared to other formulations.
Furthermore, the overall AUC (h·μg/mL) was 669.3 h·μg/mL (95% CI = 456.2, 882.4; 95% PI = 20.7, 1317.9) and high dose (AUC0-168 h = 901.1 h·μg/mL [95% CI = 572.5, 1229.7]). Meta-regression demonstrated a linear dose- AUC0-∞h relationship (coefficient = 1.49, p = 0.001; Fig. 6.C. Appendix 2, Supplementary materials). Among the 400 mg dose subgroup, the SDD subgroup demonstrated a higher AUC0-168 h of 1074.6 h·μg/mL (95% CI = 979.1, 1170.1). Similar patterns with a greater amplitude were also observed in the AUC0-480 h (h·μg/mL). There was a linear dose-AUC demonstrated in the meta-regression analysis. Meta-regression demonstrated a linear dose- AUC0-480 h relationship (coefficient = 3.273, p = 0.001; Fig. 7. Appendix 2, Supplementary materials). AUC0-480 h was 1228.9 h·μg/mL (95% CI = 935.0, 1522.7; 95% PI = 73.8, 2384.0).
Efficacy outcomes
The majority of early safety trials reported some insights into DSM265 efficacy outcomes. The logarithmic parasite reduction ratio at 48 h (PRR48log10) was reported in 4 studies (Table 3). McCarthy et al. [19] found a median PRR48log10 of 1.55 (1.42 – 1.62) following DSM265 150 mg administration, corresponding to a parasite clearance t½ of 9.4 h [19].
As in pre-clinical studies, DSM265 did not exhibit anti-gametocyte activity. Four included studies reported the persistence of gametocytes, although in low concentrations, following DSM265 administration. McCarthy, et al. [22] reported a low-level gametocytemia in all subjects, ranging from 1–330 gametocytes/mL 7 days following therapy [22]. Collins et al. [26] demonstrated no decrease in gametocyte levels following the administration of second-dose DSM265 [26]; rescue treatment with artemether-lumefantrine and primaquine was given to all participants (n = 8). The gametocytes were predominantly female [22, 26].
Recrudescence was variably reported across studies; only one study reported no recrudescence following the DSM265 administration [26], which may be explained by the administration of rescue therapies for persistent gametocytemia. The > 50% recrudescence rate of P. falciparum infection was reported in two studies [19, 22], whereas one study reported a rate of 26.7% [20].
Two studies assessed the potential use of DSM265 for malarial prophylaxis. Sulyok, et al. [18] suggested that a single-dose DSM265 of 400 mg demonstrated a causal prophylactic role when given 1 day before infection [18]. However, Murphy et al. [21] found that only one-third of participants were protected against the infection following CHMI with direct venous inoculation of sporozoites and mosquito bites [21].
Overall heterogeneity
Our analysis suggests a high between-study heterogeneity among DSM265 PK parameters (I2 = > 75%) (Supplementary Materials, Appendix 2). Such heterogeneity findings were partly attributed to different dosing regimens; but did not appear to be related to different drug formulations. The linear dose-PK relationships also supported the assumption of the influence of dosing regimens as the source of heterogeneity.
Publication bias assessment
The risk of publication bias in this study was regarded as low, as demonstrated by the symmetrical funnel plot (Fig. 3) and the non-statistically significant Egger’s regression test for publication bias (p-value = 0.40).
Discussion
Resistance to current antimalarial drugs is a serious global concern. To date, there is a wide variety of available antimalarial medications, e.g., chloroquine, sulfadoxine-pyrimethamine, mefloquine, atovaquone, and artemisinin derivatives; the current guidelines suggest artemisinin-based combination therapy (ACT) as the most potent and should be considered as the first-line antimalarial choice. Nevertheless, there have been increasing reports of the growing resistance of malaria parasites to these treatment regimens [3, 4, 28]. Thus, the development of new drugs to treat malaria is an essential step to address this concern, and DSM265 holds promising potential. Our meta-analysis suggests that the commonly used 400 mg dose appeared safe and did not contribute to significant AEs. On the other hand, both lower and higher doses were found to be associated with a higher risk of AEs compared to the control arms. The main AE reported in most participants receiving DSM265 was headache (25%); others included pyrexia, myalgia, fatigue, and nausea. No SAEs reported that were attributed to DSM265. Pharmacokinetic parameters were heterogeneous across studies and were observed to have a linear dose-PK relationship.
We assume that the pharmacokinetic properties of DSM265, particularly the long plasma elimination t½, support the single 400 mg regimen as an effective regimen against mainly plasmodial asexual and pre-erythrocytic agents. It was demonstrated that the 400 mg dose possesses the ability to maintain plasma concentrations above the minimum inhibitory concentration (MIC) for an extended period of time. A phase-1 RCT found that the single-dose regimen demonstrates the capability to sustain plasma concentrations at or above MIC levels for over 8 days [19]. This prolonged duration of therapeutic levels in the bloodstream likely plays a crucial role in the overall effectiveness of the 400 mg regimen. The clearance rate of P. falciparum following 400 mg of DSM265 administration was also comparable to other antimalarial agents, including ferroquine (PRR48log10 = 2.21, parasite clearance t½ = 6.5 h) and mefloquine (PRR48log10 = 2.34, parasite clearance t½ = 6.2 h) [19, 22]. However, Llanos Cuentas et al. [20] study had not been able to demonstrate a similar degree of parasite clearance against P. vivax [20]. It is therefore understood that DSM265 falls into the category of relatively slow acting anti-malarial agents, akin to agents such as atovaquone, sulfadoxine-pyrimethamine, and proguanil, due to its mechanism of selectively inhibiting Plasmodium dihydroorotate dehydrogenase (DHODH), which gradually depletes pyrimidine pools and slows parasite replication. This contrasts with other drugs such as artesunate, cipargamin, artefenomel, and ganaplacide act rapidly by directly targeting multiple parasite stages or essential cellular processes, resulting in markedly faster parasite clearance [15].
Furthermore, it was demonstrated across clinical trials that DSM265 does not inhibit gametocytogenesis and eliminate mature gametocytes [22, 26]; this was consistent with in-vitro studies that indicated no activity of DSM265 against gametocytes [15]. Furthermore, the synthesis of pyrimidine nucleotides, the process blocked by DSM265, is downregulated in nonreplicating gametocytes [29]. Thus, it is important to consider the addition of gametocidal antimalarial agents to the DSM265 regimen to inhibit both early- and late-stage (mature) gametocytes. Furthermore, it is important to note that different formulations have different properties. Among the three different formulations used in across studies (i.e. oral suspension, liquid emulsion and spray dried dispersion) spray dried dispersion appears to achieve greater pharmacokinetic properties at therapeutic dose of 400 mg which might reflect to better efficacy [27]. However, as it was only reported in one trial, the evidence is substantially lacking to support the benefits.
Strengths and limitations
DSM265 is regarded as a promising novel antimalarial candidate for malaria treatment. The prospect of a single-dose regimen with DSM265 based on the early data represents a notable advancement in achieving malaria eradication and combating the resistant strains. To our knowledge, this is the first meta-analysis that attempts to understand the risks, benefits, efficacy and PK profiles of DSM265 based on early clinical trial data. Hence, our analysis allows a better understanding of DSM265 clinical safety in humans and its PK profiles after single-dose administration. Furthermore, subgroup analysis and meta-regression analysis determined the impacts of how different doses affected the study outcomes. Similarly, the subset analysis of the 400 mg drug formulations also showcased the impacts of various drug formulations of the same dosing regimen on the study outcomes.
However, some limitations exist in our study. First, the individual patient data (IPD) meta-analysis could not be performed. Our initial request to the corresponding authors was declined due to ethical issues pertaining to participants’ consent. No pregnant women and children were included any included study. The data were also mostly derived from male participants. The exclusion of women was partly influenced by the contraceptive requirements, which posed challenges to recruiting female participants. The analysis of these specific populations is pertinent since many recommended antimalarial drugs are contraindicated or should be used with caution when treating malaria. Similarly, quantitative analysis of the efficacy outcomes, i.e., PRR48log10 and parasite clearance t½ was not performed due to inadequate data. Another difference that contributed to the heterogeneity of the results (especially the safety) were the differences across the studies in the doses used, types of the parasite, differences in the follow up and time of assessment of the outcomes. Furthermore, the studies by McCarthy et al. [19], Sulyok et al. [18], and Murphy et al. [21], were CHMI with small parasite inoculum and parasitemia whilst Llanos Cuentas et al. [20] was a field study with naturally infected patients and higher parasite densities [18–21]. It is noteworthy, however, that the development of DSM265 has been suspended due to off-target toxicities observed in some preclinical studies, including teratogenicity and testicular toxicity [30]. Both concerns were not reported as no pregnant women were included (or unknown pregnancy status) and no investigations into sperm count were conducted to identify risk of teratogenicity and testicular toxicity, respectively, in any of included trials. Including pregnant women is completely unethical given the teratogenic signal. As a result, as of now, further clinical trials are currently unrealistic to bridge the gaps in understanding DSM265. Prediction intervals were calculated in order to provide estimates of the expected ranges of PK parameters in future similar populations. Given the small number of studies and substantial heterogeneity, these prediction intervals are wide and should be interpreted with caution.
Conclusion
This meta-analysis suggests that DSM265 is safe when given at a standard single dose of 400 mg. The elimination t½ of oral DSM265 was long and showed an increase in the t½ with increased dose. Similarly, dose-PK relationships, (i.e. Cmax, Tmax, AUC, among others.) were proportional to the increasing dose across other PK parameters. DSM265 is mainly effective against plasmodial asexual stages. The efficacy against P. vivax was also limited. The status of DMS265 clinical trials is currently suspended due to concerns on teratogenicity and testicular toxicity derived from preclinical studies, concerns of which was not investigated in included trials.
Supplementary Information
Author contributions
Conceptualization, MJ. and IS.; methodology, MJ and IS.; software, MJ and IS.; validation, LCM and MMA.; database searching, MJ and ID.; reports screening, MJ, IS, IA, and TK.; quality, MG and IA.; data extraction and analysis, MJ and ID,: writing—original draft preparation, TK, MG, IA, MJ, and IS; writing—review and editing, MMA and LCM.; visualization, MJ.; supervision, LCM.; project administration, MJ;. All authors have read and agreed to the published version of the manuscript.
Funding
Open access funding provided by Datta Meghe Institute of Higher Education and Research. This research received no internal or external funding.
Data availability
The data presented in this study are available on request from the corresponding author.
Declarations
Conflicts of interest
The authors declare no competing interests.
Footnotes
Publisher's Note
Springer Nature remains neutral with regard to jurisdictional claims in published maps and institutional affiliations.
Idris Sula and Muhammad Candragupta Jihwaprani have contributed equally to this work.
Contributor Information
Majid Mohammad Ali, Email: mm.ali@sr.edu.sa.
Long Chiau Ming, Email: longming.pharmacy@dmiher.edu.in, Email: longchiauming@gmail.com.
References
- 1.Coteron JM, et al. Structure-guided lead optimization of triazolopyrimidine-ring substituents identifies potent Plasmodium falciparum dihydroorotate dehydrogenase inhibitors with clinical candidate potential. J Med Chem. 2011;54(15). 10.1021/jm200592f. [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed]
- 2.Bélard S, Ramharter M. DSM265: a novel drug for single-dose cure of Plasmodium falciparum malaria. Lancet Infect Dis. 2018. 10.1016/S1473-3099(18)30374-8. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
- 3.World malaria report 2023. Accessed: Oct. 08, 2025. [Online]. Available: https://www.who.int/teams/global-malaria-programme/reports/world-malaria-report-2023
- 4.Venkatesan P. The 2023 WHO world malaria report. Lancet Microbe. 2024;5(3). 10.1016/s2666-5247(24)00016-8. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
- 5.WHO World malaria report 2020: 20 years of global progress and challenges, World malaria report 2020: 20 years of global progress and challenges, 2020.
- 6.White NJ. Antimalarial drug resistance. J Clin Invest. 2004. 10.1172/JCI21682. [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
- 7.Yoshida N, Yamauchi M, Morikawa R, Hombhanje F, Mita T. Increase in the proportion of Plasmodium falciparum with kelch13 C580Y mutation and decline in pfcrt and pfmdr1 mutant alleles in Papua New Guinea. Malar J. 2021;20(1). 10.1186/s12936-021-03933-6. [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed]
- 8.Uwimana A, et al. Association of Plasmodium falciparum kelch13 R561H genotypes with delayed parasite clearance in Rwanda: an open-label, single-arm, multicentre, therapeutic efficacy study. Lancet Infect Dis. 2021;21(8). 10.1016/S1473-3099(21)00142-0. [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed]
- 9.Mairet-Khedim M, et al. Clinical and in vitro resistance of Plasmodium falciparum to Artesunate-Amodiaquine in Cambodia. Clin Infect Dis. 2021;73(3). 10.1093/cid/ciaa628. [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed]
- 10.Miotto O, et al. Emergence of artemisinin-resistant Plasmodium falciparum with kelch13 C580Y mutations on the island of New Guinea. PLoS Pathog. 2020;16(12). 10.1371/journal.ppat.1009133. [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed]
- 11.Mihreteab S, et al. Increasing prevalence of artemisinin-resistant HRP2-negative malaria in Eritrea. N Engl J Med. 2023;389(13):1191–202. 10.1056/NEJMOA2210956. [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
- 12.Mischlinger J, Agnandji ST, Ramharter M. Single dose treatment of malaria - current status and perspectives. Expert Rev Anti Infect Ther. 2016. 10.1080/14787210.2016.1192462. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
- 13.Painter HJ, Morrisey JM, Mather MW, Vaidya AB. Specific role of mitochondrial electron transport in blood-stage Plasmodium falciparum. Nature. 2007;446(7131):88–91. 10.1038/NATURE05572. [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
- 14.Phillips MA, Rathod PK. Plasmodium dihydroorotate dehydrogenase: a promising target for novel anti-malarial chemotherapy. Infect Disord Drug Targets. 2010;10(3):226–39. 10.2174/187152610791163336. [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
- 15.Phillips MA, et al. A long-duration dihydroorotate dehydrogenase inhibitor (DSM265) for prevention and treatment of malaria. Sci Transl Med. 2015;7(296). 10.1126/scitranslmed.aaa6645. [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed]
- 16.Booker ML, et al. Novel inhibitors of Plasmodium falciparum dihydroorotate dehydrogenase with anti-malarial activity in the mouse model. J Biol Chem. 2010;285(43). 10.1074/jbc.M110.162081. [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed]
- 17.Phillips MA, et al. Triazolopyrimidine-based dihydroorotate dehydrogenase inhibitors with potent and selective activity against the malaria parasite Plasmodium falciparum. J Med Chem. 2008;51(12). 10.1021/jm8001026. [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed]
- 18.Sulyok M, et al. DSM265 for Plasmodium falciparum chemoprophylaxis: a randomised, double blinded, phase 1 trial with controlled human malaria infection. Lancet Infect Dis. 2017;17(6). 10.1016/S1473-3099(17)30139-1. [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
- 19.McCarthy JS, et al. Safety, tolerability, pharmacokinetics, and activity of the novel long-acting antimalarial DSM265: a two-part first-in-human phase 1a/1b randomised study. Lancet Infect Dis. 2017;17(6). 10.1016/S1473-3099(17)30171-8. [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
- 20.Llanos-Cuentas A, et al. Antimalarial activity of single-dose DSM265, a novel plasmodium dihydroorotate dehydrogenase inhibitor, in patients with uncomplicated Plasmodium falciparum or Plasmodium vivax malaria infection: a proof-of-concept, open-label, phase 2a study. Lancet Infect Dis. 2018;18(8). 10.1016/S1473-3099(18)30309-8. [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
- 21.Murphy SC, et al. A randomized trial evaluating the prophylactic activity of DSM265 against preerythrocytic plasmodium falciparum infection during controlled human malarial infection by mosquito bites and direct venous inoculation. Journal of Infectious Diseases. 2018;217(5). 10.1093/infdis/jix613. [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed]
- 22.McCarthy JS, et al. A single-dose combination study with the experimental antimalarials artefenomel and DSM265 to determine safety and antimalarial activity against blood-stage plasmodium falciparum in healthy volunteers. Antimicrob Agents Chemother. 2020;64(1). 10.1128/AAC.01371-19. [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed]
- 23.Higgins JPT, Savović J, Page MJ, Elbers RG, and Sterne JAC, “Chapter 8: Assessing risk of bias in a randomized trial [last updated October 2019], in Cochrane handbook for systematic reviews of interventions version, cochrane, 2024.
- 24.Higgins JPT, et al. The Cochrane Collaboration’s tool for assessing risk of bias in randomised trials. BMJ (Online). 2011;343(7829). 10.1136/bmj.d5928. [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed]
- 25.Wan X, Wang W, Liu J, Tong T. Estimating the sample mean and standard deviation from the sample size, median, range and/or interquartile range. BMC Med Res Methodol. 2014;14(1). 10.1186/1471-2288-14-135. [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed]
- 26.Collins KA, et al. DSM265 at 400 milligrams clears asexual stage parasites but not mature gametocytes from the blood of healthy subjects experimentally infected with plasmodium falciparum. Antimicrob Agents Chemother. 2019;63(4). 10.1128/AAC.01837-18. [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
- 27.Study Results | NCT03637517 | Malaria: Relative Bioavailability and Food Effect of DSM265 | ClinicalTrials.gov. Accessed: Oct. 09, 2025. [Online]. Available: https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT03637517?tab=results
- 28.World malaria report 2024. Accessed: Apr. 20, 2025. [Online]. Available: https://www.who.int/teams/global-malaria-programme/reports/world-malaria-report-2024
- 29.Baker DA. Malaria gametocytogenesis. Mol Biochem Parasitol. 2010. 10.1016/j.molbiopara.2010.03.019. [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
- 30.Palmer MJ, et al. Potent antimalarials with development potential identified by structure-guided computational optimization of a pyrrole-based dihydroorotate dehydrogenase inhibitor series. J Med Chem. 2021;64(9):6085. 10.1021/ACS.JMEDCHEM.1C00173. [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
Associated Data
This section collects any data citations, data availability statements, or supplementary materials included in this article.
Supplementary Materials
Data Availability Statement
The data presented in this study are available on request from the corresponding author.



