There was a mistake in Figure 1 as published. The PRISMA flow diagram showed the number of included studies as 11. The correct number of included studies is 9. Two studies were excluded because they did not include TMS intervention. The corrected Figure 1 appears below.
Figure 1.
PRISMA flow diagram.
There was a mistake in Figure 2 as published. The study was erroneously labeled as “Tamashiro 2018”. The correct label is “Tamashiro 2019”. The corrected Figure 2 appears below.
Figure 2.
Harvest plot of clinical effects and neuro-clinical correlations among the nine interventional studies. The vertical axis groups studies by design (RCT above, non-RCT below). The horizontal axis categorizes TMS interventions: excitatory (iTBS or ≥5 Hz rTMS), inhibitory (1 Hz rTMS), and other/combined protocols (bilateral or cerebellum-targeted). Green circle: clinical improvement reported. Gray circle: clinical outcomes not reported. 3: neuro-clinical correlation reported. χ: neuro-clinical correlation not reported. The plot follows the SWiM reporting framework and is described in Section 2.5.
There were mistakes in the published text regarding study inclusion numbers, publication years, and task paradigm descriptions.
A correction has been made to section 3.1 Literature screening process:
“...and finally, nine studies (37–45) met all the inclusion criteria and were included in this systematic review.”
A correction has been made to section 3.2 Basic characteristics of included studies:
“All studies were published between 2019 and 2025...”
A correction has been made to section 3.4 Characteristics of fNIRS assessment protocols:
“block-design task states based on specific movements (e.g., finger opposition, grasping, etc., five studies). The laterality index (LI, three studies), functional connectivity (FC, five studies), and local efficiency, two studies.”
A correction has been made to section 3.5 Key study findings, subsection 3.5.2 Clinical functional outcomes:
“The remaining three studies did not report clinical outcomes.”
The original version of this article has been updated.
Footnotes
Edited and reviewed by: Simone Russo, Georgia Institute of Technology, United States
Generative AI statement
Any alternative text (alt text) provided alongside figures in this article has been generated by Frontiers with the support of artificial intelligence and reasonable efforts have been made to ensure accuracy, including review by the authors wherever possible. If you identify any issues, please contact us.
Publisher's note
All claims expressed in this article are solely those of the authors and do not necessarily represent those of their affiliated organizations, or those of the publisher, the editors and the reviewers. Any product that may be evaluated in this article, or claim that may be made by its manufacturer, is not guaranteed or endorsed by the publisher.


