Skip to main content
Springer logoLink to Springer
. 2026 Aug 29;179(2):64. doi: 10.1007/s11060-026-05776-0

Survival and hematologic toxicity after whole-brain radiotherapy, photon craniospinal irradiation, and proton craniospinal irradiation for solid-tumor leptomeningeal disease: a systematic review

Mishaal Munir 1, Kavita Sehrawat 1, Hanan Hassan 1, Matthew Hall 1,2, Minesh P Mehta 1,2, Jonathan T Yang 3, Rupesh Kotecha 1,2,✉
PMCID: PMC13525939  PMID: 42667527

Abstract

Background

Leptomeningeal disease (LMD) from solid tumors carries poor prognosis and substantial neurologic morbidity. Radiotherapy is used for palliation and disease control, but outcomes across whole-brain radiotherapy (WBRT), photon craniospinal irradiation (CSI), and proton CSI remain incompletely defined.

Methods

We conducted a PRISMA-based systematic review of PubMed-indexed studies reporting radiotherapy outcomes for adult solid-tumor LMD. Studies were categorized as photon WBRT/non-CSI, photon CSI, or proton CSI. Primary outcomes were median overall survival (OS) and progression-free survival (PFS), including CNS-PFS or intracranial PFS when reported. Grade ≥ 3 hematologic and non-hematologic toxicities were extracted when available.

Results

Thirty-two unique studies/reports were included: 21 photon WBRT/non-CSI, 6 photon CSI, and 6 proton CSI studies. The median of reported median OS values were 4.5 months for photon WBRT/non-CSI, 4.1 months for photon CSI, and 10.7 months for proton CSI. Median PFS was 3.9 months for photon WBRT/non-CSI and 4.6 months for proton CSI; no extractable median PFS was available for photon CSI. Among studies with extractable denominators, crude pooled grade ≥ 3 hematologic toxicity was 2.8% for photon WBRT/non-CSI, 80.0% for photon CSI, and 59.4% for proton CSI; however, toxicity reporting was limited and heterogeneous.

Conclusion

Proton CSI cohorts had numerically longer reported survival, but cross-study comparisons are limited by heterogeneity, treatment-era and selection differences, and systemic therapy exposure. These findings do not establish superiority over photon CSI and warrant prospective comparative evaluation.

Keywords: Proton craniospinal irradiation, Photon craniospinal irradiation, Whole-brain radiotherapy, Leptomeningeal disease, Hematologic toxicity, Overall survival, Progression-free survival, Systematic review

Introduction

Leptomeningeal disease (LMD) represents dissemination of malignant cells into the leptomeninges and cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) pathways and is an increasingly recognized complication of advanced solid tumors, particularly breast cancer, non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC), melanoma, and gastrointestinal malignancies [1–4]. Although historically considered a terminal event with median survival often measured in weeks to a few months, outcomes are heterogeneous and increasingly influenced by tumor biology, performance status, extracranial disease control, molecular alterations, and availability of central nervous system (CNS)-active systemic therapies [1–5]. Patients may present with multifocal neurologic symptoms involving the cerebral hemispheres, cranial nerves, spinal cord, and cauda equina, including headache, nausea, cognitive changes, diplopia, gait instability, radiculopathy, seizures, and focal neurologic deficits [1, 2, 6]. Because LMD affects the entire neuraxis and may coexist with parenchymal brain metastases, bulky nodular disease, hydrocephalus, or systemic progression, treatment decisions are frequently complex and require multidisciplinary evaluation.

Current management of solid-tumor LMD remains individualized and is guided by clinical status, CSF cytology or molecular testing, imaging findings, primary tumor histology, systemic disease burden, and goals of care [1, 2, 7]. Treatment strategies may include CNS-active systemic therapy, intrathecal therapy in selected patients with linear or floating CSF disease, focal radiotherapy to symptomatic or bulky sites, whole-brain radiotherapy (WBRT), craniospinal irradiation (CSI), and best supportive care with or without CSF diversion procedures [1, 2, 7–9]. Contemporary intrathecal approaches, including HER2-directed therapy in selected patients with HER2-positive breast cancer, further emphasize the increasingly multimodal management of LMD and may be used alongside or, in selected settings, instead of neuraxis-directed radiotherapy.

Radiotherapy has historically played an important palliative role in LMD, particularly for symptomatic sites of disease, bulky nodular involvement, obstructive CSF flow, cranial neuropathies, spinal radiculopathy, and coexisting brain metastases [1, 7, 8, 10]. WBRT has commonly been used when intracranial symptoms, diffuse cranial meningeal enhancement, or multiple parenchymal brain metastases are present, but it does not treat the full craniospinal CSF compartment and is generally considered palliative in nature [7, 8, 10]. Photon CSI provides broader coverage of the entire craniospinal axis, theoretically addressing the compartmental nature of LMD; however, its use in adults has historically been limited by treatment-related toxicity, including myelosuppression, gastrointestinal toxicity, fatigue, and challenges with treatment tolerance in patients with advanced systemic disease [8, 11, 12].

Proton craniospinal irradiation has renewed interest in neuraxis-directed radiotherapy for selected patients with solid-tumor LMD. Because of the physical dose distribution of proton therapy, proton CSI can reduce exit dose to anterior organs and potentially spare bone marrow, gastrointestinal structures, heart, lungs, and other normal tissues compared with conventional photon CSI [11–13]. Early prospective and retrospective studies suggest that proton CSI may be feasible in selected patients and may provide durable CNS disease control in some cohorts [13–15]. More recently, randomized phase II data demonstrated improved CNS progression-free survival and overall survival with proton CSI compared with photon involved-field radiotherapy in patients with breast cancer or non-small cell lung cancer and LMD, without a significant increase in serious treatment-related adverse events [15]. Importantly, these data do not establish superiority of proton CSI over modern photon CSI, for which direct comparative evidence remains limited.

Despite this evolving evidence base, the literature remains heterogeneous. Published studies differ in patient selection, tumor histology, performance status, systemic therapy exposure, radiotherapy technique, dose and fractionation, outcome definitions, follow-up duration, and toxicity reporting. Prior reviews have evaluated radiotherapy for LMD broadly, or CSI specifically, but contemporary modality-stratified synthesis across photon WBRT, photon CSI, and proton CSI in adult solid-tumor LMD remains limited [8, 11, 16]. A focused systematic review is therefore needed to contextualize survival, intracranial or CNS disease control, and treatment-related toxicity across these radiotherapy approaches. In this systematic review, we synthesize the available literature on radiotherapy for solid-tumor LMD, stratifying outcomes by photon WBRT/non-CSI approaches, photon CSI, and proton CSI with emphasis on median overall survival (OS), progression-free survival (PFS), CNS PFS, hematologic toxicity, and non-hematologic adverse events.

Methods

Study design and reporting framework

This systematic review was conducted and reported in accordance with the Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses 2020 statement [17]. The objective was to synthesize published clinical outcomes after radiotherapy for LMD from solid tumors, with outcomes stratified by radiation modality. The modalities of interest were WBRT, photon CSI, and proton CSI. Given the anticipated heterogeneity in study design, patient selection, tumor histology, performance status, radiotherapy technique, dose and fractionation, systemic therapy exposure, and outcome definitions, findings were summarized descriptively rather than through formal quantitative meta-analysis, consistent with guidance for evidence synthesis when statistical pooling is not appropriate [18]. Cross-modality comparisons were considered descriptive and hypothesis-generating rather than estimates of comparative treatment efficacy.

Search strategy and information sources

A systematic PubMed search identified studies evaluating radiotherapy for solid-tumor leptomeningeal disease (LMD) using terms related to LMD, craniospinal irradiation (CSI), proton/photon CSI, whole-brain radiotherapy (WBRT), and radiation therapy. Reference lists and relevant online records were also manually screened.

The search identified 106 records; after removing 15 duplicates, 91 were screened and 79 underwent full-text review. Forty-seven were excluded for unavailable extractable survival outcomes, mixed adult/pediatric populations without adult-specific data, non-solid-tumor LMD, or dosimetry-only designs. Overall, 32 studies/reports met eligibility criteria, representing 33 modality-specific contributions because one comparative study included both proton and photon CSI arms (Fig. 1).

Fig. 1.

Fig. 1

PRISMA 2020 flow diagram. The PubMed search identified 106 records, of which 15 duplicate records were removed. Ninety-one records were screened by title and abstract, and 79 full-text reports were assessed for eligibility. Forty-seven full-text reports were excluded because of no extractable survival outcomes, mixed adult and pediatric populations without adult-specific survival data, non-solid tumor leptomeningeal disease cohorts, or dosimetry-only study design. Overall, 32 unique studies/reports were included in the systematic review. The included evidence comprised 21 photon WBRT/non-CSI studies/reports, 6 photon CSI studies/reports, and 6 proton CSI studies/reports. One included report contributed both proton CSI and photon CSI arms; therefore, modality-specific counts sum to 33, although 32 unique studies/reports were included

Eligibility criteria

Eligible studies included adults aged ≥ 18 years with solid-tumor leptomeningeal disease treated with photon WBRT/non-CSI, photon CSI, or proton CSI and reporting at least one extractable survival or disease-control outcome. Prospective trials, retrospective cohorts, institutional series, and comparative observational studies were included. Reviews, editorials, case reports without cohort-level outcomes, abstracts without sufficient data, dosimetry-only studies, pediatric cohorts, hematologic malignancies, and non-extractable mixed populations were excluded. Toxicity-only studies were excluded; toxicity was analyzed secondarily among otherwise eligible studies.

Study selection

Titles and abstracts were screened for relevance, followed by full-text assessment of potentially eligible studies. Eligibility was determined according to the predefined inclusion and exclusion criteria. Uncertain eligibility decisions were resolved through full-text review and discussion among the study team. The study selection process was summarized using a PRISMA 2020 flow diagram [19].

Data extraction

Data were extracted using a standardized data collection template. Extracted variables included first author, year of publication, study design, country or institution, tumor histology, LMD definition or diagnostic method, sample size, age, sex when available, performance status, presence of parenchymal brain metastases, radiotherapy modality, radiation dose and fractionation, use of systemic therapy or intrathecal therapy when reported, follow-up duration, survival outcomes, progression outcomes, and treatment-related toxicity.

Radiotherapy modality was categorized as photon WBRT/non-CSI, photon CSI, and proton CSI. For studies reporting more than one extractable treatment arm, histology-specific cohort, or modality-specific subgroup, each arm or subgroup was extracted as a separate analytic row when outcomes were reported separately. Unique studies were counted once in the PRISMA flow diagram, while modality-specific arms were extracted separately when outcomes were reported separately.

Outcomes

The primary outcome was median overall survival (OS), defined using each study’s reported index date. Secondary outcomes included PFS, CNS-PFS, intracranial PFS, leptomeningeal PFS, and time to local failure, summarized using the original study terminology. Because progression-related endpoints were variably defined and reported by different subsets of studies, these outcomes were summarized independently and were not directly compared with the modality-specific OS estimates.

Toxicity outcomes included grade ≥ 3 hematologic and non-hematologic adverse events. Hematologic toxicities included lymphopenia, anemia, neutropenia or leukopenia, and thrombocytopenia and were summarized both overall and by subtype when extractable. Crude rates were calculated by radiotherapy modality when numerator and denominator data were available. Studies lacking grade-specific counts or evaluable denominators were excluded from pooled calculations but retained descriptively. Toxicity was coded as absent when explicitly reported and as not reported when insufficiently described.

Data synthesis and statistical analysis

A descriptive synthesis was performed because of heterogeneity in study design, patient populations, tumor histology, radiotherapy technique, treatment era, systemic therapy exposure, and outcome definitions. Study-level median OS and progression outcomes were summarized as the median of reported medians with ranges by modality. Crude event rates for overall and subtype-specific grade ≥ 3 hematologic toxicity were calculated from studies with extractable denominators. Non-hematologic toxicities were summarized descriptively. Formal comparative testing was not performed because of substantial clinical and methodological heterogeneity and the absence of randomized comparisons across all modalities. Accordingly, numerical differences between modality groups were interpreted descriptively and not as evidence of comparative efficacy or safety.

Risk-of-bias assessment

No formal risk-of-bias scoring tool was applied. Methodological limitations were assessed descriptively, including patient selection, confounding, outcome ascertainment, follow-up completeness, and selective reporting. Particular attention was given to differences in these factors across radiotherapy modalities because they could influence observed survival and toxicity independently of radiation technique. Accordingly, cross-modality comparisons were considered descriptive and hypothesis-generating rather than confirmatory.

Results

Study selection

The PubMed search identified 106 records. After removal of 15 duplicate records, 91 records underwent title and abstract screening. Twelve records were excluded at the screening stage, and 79 full-text reports were reviewed for eligibility. Forty-seven full-text reports were excluded because they did not report extractable survival outcomes, included mixed adult and pediatric populations without adult-specific survival data, evaluated non-solid tumor leptomeningeal disease, or represented dosimetry-only studies without clinical outcomes. Overall, 32 studies/ reports met eligibility criteria and were included in the systematic review. Of these, 21 evaluated photon WBRT or non-CSI photon radiotherapy approaches [19–39], 6 evaluated photon CSI [40–45], and 6 evaluated proton CSI [13–15, 40, 46, 47]. One comparative report contributed both proton CSI and photon CSI arms; therefore, the modality-specific counts sum to 33 although 32 unique studies/reports were included.

Study characteristics

Included studies varied in design, histology, patient selection, radiotherapy technique, systemic therapy exposure, and outcome definitions. Most were retrospective. WBRT/non-CSI studies largely evaluated palliative cranial radiotherapy, whereas CSI cohorts used neuraxis-directed treatment; proton CSI studies were generally more contemporary and included more selected populations. Radiotherapy dose and fractionation varied across modalities and studies. Photon WBRT was most commonly delivered as 30 Gy in 10 fractions, although regimens ranged from 20 Gy in 5 fractions to more protracted schedules. Photon CSI generally ranged from approximately 30–36 Gy, often using 15–20 fractions in earlier series, whereas contemporary proton CSI studies predominantly used approximately 30 Gy(RBE) in 10 fractions (Table 1).

Table 1.

Characteristics of included studies/reports and modality-specific analytic cohorts

Ref. Study Year Modality Design Standardized disease population N analyzed Key concurrent/associated therapy Radiotherapy dose/ fractionation
[19] Gani et al. 2012 Photon WBRT/non-CSI Retrospective cohort Solid-tumor LMD 27 None reported NR
[20] Sakaguchi et al. 2017 Photon WBRT/non-CSI Retrospective cohort Solid-tumor LMD 71 None reported 30 Gy/10 fx
[21] Du et al. 2013 Photon WBRT/non-CSI Retrospective cohort Solid-tumor LMD 21 Systemic therapy varied 1.8–3 Gy/fx; total dose up to 40 Gy
[22] Katano et al. 2025 Photon WBRT/non-CSI Retrospective cohort Solid-tumor LMD subgroup 17 NR 30 Gy/10 fx or 20 Gy/5 fx
[23] Sause et al. 1988 Photon WBRT/non-CSI Prospective cooperative-group study Solid-tumor LMD 26 Intrathecal methotrexate 30 Gy/10 fx
[24] Piña et al. 2025 Photon WBRT/non-CSI Phase Ib prospective trial Solid-tumor LMD 15 Avelumab 30 Gy/10 fx
[25] Okada et al. 2020 Photon WBRT/non-CSI Retrospective cohort Breast cancer LMD 31 NR 30 Gy/10 fx or 37.5 Gy/15 fx
[26] Niwińska et al. 2018 Photon WBRT/non-CSI Retrospective cohort Breast cancer LMD 45 None reported 30 Gy/10 fx
[27] Niwińska et al. 2015 Photon WBRT/non-CSI Prospective observational study Breast cancer LMD 56 Intrathecal methotrexate or liposomal cytarabine NR
[28] Yust-Katz et al. 2013 Photon WBRT/non-CSI Retrospective cohort Breast cancer LMD 103 Systemic/intrathecal therapy varied NR
[29] Kingston et al. 2017 Photon WBRT/non-CSI Retrospective cohort Breast cancer LMD 182 Systemic/intrathecal therapy varied NR
[30] Morris et al. 2012 Photon WBRT/non-CSI Retrospective cohort NSCLC LMD 125 Systemic/intrathecal therapy varied 30–37.5 Gy/10–15 fx
[31] Ozdemir et al. 2016 Photon WBRT/non-CSI Retrospective cohort NSCLC LMD 51 Systemic therapy varied 30 Gy/10 fx
[32] Liao et al. 2015 Photon WBRT/non-CSI Retrospective cohort NSCLC LMD 212 EGFR-TKI therapy evaluated NR
[33] Xu et al. 2015 Photon WBRT/non-CSI Retrospective cohort NSCLC LMD 108 Systemic therapy varied 30 Gy/10 fx
[34] Li et al. 2016 Photon WBRT/non-CSI Retrospective cohort EGFR-mutant NSCLC LMD 160 EGFR-TKI therapy evaluated NR
[35] Hirano et al. 2020 Photon WBRT/non-CSI Retrospective cohort Solid-tumor LMD 22 Steroids and/or intrathecal methotrexate in selected patients Most commonly 30 Gy/10 fx; range included 3–40 Gy/1–20 fx
[36] Zhen et al. 2020 Photon WBRT/non-CSI Retrospective cohort NSCLC LMD 38 Targeted/systemic therapy varied 30 Gy/15 fx or 36 Gy/18 fx
[37] Yan et al. 2019 Photon WBRT/non-CSI Retrospective comparative cohort EGFR-mutant NSCLC LMD 26 EGFR-TKI and/or chemotherapy varied 30 Gy/10 fx
[38] Lee et al. 2013 Photon WBRT/non-CSI Retrospective cohort NSCLC LMD 149 Systemic/intrathecal therapy varied Mostly 30 Gy/5–10 fx
[39] Oyoshi et al. 2023 Photon WBRT/non-CSI Retrospective cohort Lung adenocarcinoma LMD 80 EGFR/ALK-directed therapy evaluated 30 Gy/10 fx (72 patients) or 20 Gy/5 fx (8 patients)
[41] Hermann et al. 2001 Photon CSI Retrospective cohort Solid-tumor LMD 6 None reported Median 36 Gy; 1.6–2.0 Gy/fx
[41] Hermann et al. 2001 Photon CSI Retrospective cohort Solid-tumor LMD 10 Intrathecal methotrexate Median 36 Gy; 1.6–2.0 Gy/fx
[42] El Shafie et al. 2019 Photon CSI Retrospective cohort Solid-tumor-predominant LMD 25 Systemic therapy after CSI in selected patients Median 35.2 Gy; most commonly 36 Gy/20 fx
[43] Devecka et al. 2020 Photon CSI Retrospective cohort Breast cancer LMD subgroup 5 No concomitant systemic therapy during RT Median 30.6 Gy (range 3–36 Gy); median 1.6 Gy/fx
[43] Devecka et al. 2020 Photon CSI Retrospective cohort NSCLC LMD subgroup 5 No concomitant systemic therapy during RT Median 30.6 Gy (range 3–36 Gy); median 1.6 Gy/fx
[44] Takeda et al. 2024 Photon CSI Retrospective cohort Solid-tumor LMD 25 Systemic therapy varied Median 30 Gy (IQR 24–31); most commonly 30 Gy/15 fx
[45] Keit et al. 2024 Photon CSI Retrospective cohort; abstract Solid-tumor LMD subgroup 9 Intrathecal chemotherapy in selected patients IMRT-based CSI; dose/fractionation NR
[40] Lamanilao et al. 2025 Photon CSI Retrospective comparative cohort; abstract Solid-tumor LMD 16 Systemic therapy varied 30 Gy/10 fx
[15] Yang et al. 2025 Proton CSI Randomized clinical trial Breast cancer or NSCLC LMD 42 Systemic therapy status used for stratification 30 Gy in 10 fractions
[46] Gal et al. 2025 Proton CSI Retrospective cohort Solid-tumor LMD 38 Concurrent systemic therapy in selected patients 30 Gy(RBE)/10 fx; modified 18–25 Gy(RBE)/6–10 fx in previously irradiated regions
[13] Yang et al. 2021 Proton CSI Prospective phase Ib trial Solid-tumor LMD 24 Systemic therapy generally held during treatment 30 Gy(RBE)/10 fx
[14] Lam et al. 2025 Proton CSI Retrospective cohort Solid-tumor LMD 45 Limited concurrent systemic therapy 30 Gy(RBE)/10 fx in 39/45 patients; other regimens in 6/45
[47] Ehret et al. 2025 Proton CSI Retrospective cohort Solid-tumor LMD 9 Systemic therapy varied Median 30 Gy(RBE)/10 fx
[40] Lamanilao et al. 2025 Proton CSI Retrospective comparative cohort; abstract Solid-tumor LMD 21 Systemic therapy varied 30 Gy/10 fx

N analyzed refers to the extractable LMD cohort, treatment arm, or subgroup used for the modality-specific synthesis, rather than the overall institutional cohort when these differed. For studies reporting multiple treatment arms, subgroups, or sensitivity cohorts, values shown in the table reflect only the prespecified eligible arm or subgroup used for the modality-specific analysis. One comparative report contributed both proton CSI and photon CSI treatment arms and is cited once in the reference list; therefore, modality-specific counts sum to 33, although 32 unique studies/reports were included. Abbreviations CSI, craniospinal irradiation; EGFR, epidermal growth factor receptor; LMD, leptomeningeal disease; NR, not reported; NSCLC, non-small cell lung cancer; RT, radiotherapy; TKI, tyrosine kinase inhibitor; WBRT, whole-brain radiotherapy; FX, fraction

Although 32 unique studies/reports were included, some contributed multiple extractable arms or subgroups. Outcomes were therefore summarized by unique studies and analytic rows. WBRT/non-CSI included 21 studies/21 rows, proton CSI 6/6, and photon CSI 6 studies/8 rows (Table 1).

Overall survival

Median survival (OS) was reported in 21 photon WBRT/non-CSI rows [19–39], 8 photon CSI analytic rows [40–45] and 6 proton CSI analytic rows [13–15, 40, 46, 47]. The median reported OS was 10.7 months for proton CSI, with reported study-level medians ranging from 4.0 to 13.7 months. In comparison, the median reported OS was 4.5 months for photon WBRT/non-CSI [19–39], with reported medians ranging from 1.9 to 14.5 months, and 4.1 months for photon CSI [40–45], with reported medians ranging from 1.9 to 4.8 months (Fig. 2). These values represent descriptive summaries of heterogeneous study-level cohorts rather than direct comparisons between radiotherapy modalities.

Fig. 2.

Fig. 2

Median overall survival by study and radiotherapy modality. Forest-style plot showing reported median overall survival, in months, across studies evaluating radiotherapy for solid-tumor leptomeningeal disease. Points represent the reported median OS for each study or analytic cohort, and horizontal lines represent the corresponding 95% confidence intervals. Only studies or analytic cohorts with extractable median OS and corresponding 95% confidence intervals were included in this plot. Studies are grouped by radiotherapy modality: photon WBRT/non-CSI, photon CSI, and proton CSI

Progression-free survival and CNS disease control

Progression-related outcomes were reported less consistently than overall survival and varied in terminology across studies. Median PFS was reported in 3 photon WBRT/non-CSI rows and 2 proton CSI rows, with no extractable median PFS reported in the photon CSI group. Among studies reporting median PFS, the median of reported values was 3.9 months for photon WBRT/non-CSI and 4.6 months for proton CSI.

CNS-PFS, intracranial PFS, leptomeningeal PFS, or related CNS disease-control endpoints were also variably reported. The median of reported CNS-PFS or intracranial PFS values was 6.8 months for photon WBRT/non-CSI, 7.2 months for photon CSI, and 7.0 months for proton CSI. Because these estimates were derived from different study subsets and variably defined endpoints, they should not be directly compared with the modality-specific OS summaries.

Hematologic toxicity

Among studies with extractable toxicity denominators, crude pooled grade ≥ 3 hematologic toxicity was lowest with photon WBRT/non-CSI at 2.8% (4/145), compared with 80.0% (20/25) for photon CSI and 59.4% (38/64) for proton CSI. Lymphopenia was the dominant reported hematologic toxicity in CSI-based studies, occurring in 80.0% (20/25) of photon CSI patients and 58.6% (34/58) of proton CSI patients with extractable data. In contrast, grade ≥ 3 lymphopenia was reported in 26.7% (4/15) of evaluable photon WBRT/non-CSI patients, although hematologic toxicity reporting in this group was limited.

Grade ≥ 3 anemia occurred in 6.7% (1/15) of evaluable photon WBRT/non-CSI patients, 12.0% (3/25) of photon CSI patients, and 3.1% (2/64) of proton CSI patients. Grade ≥ 3 neutropenia or leukopenia occurred in 12.0% (3/25) of photon CSI patients and 6.9% (4/58) of proton CSI patients. Grade ≥ 3 thrombocytopenia occurred in 6.7% (1/15) of evaluable photon WBRT/non-CSI patients, 8.0% (2/25) of photon CSI patients, and 1.6% (1/64) of proton CSI patients (Fig. 3). Toxicity denominators varied substantially because of inconsistent reporting across studies.

Fig. 3.

Fig. 3

Crude pooled rates of overall and subtype-specific grade ≥ 3 hematologic toxicities are shown for photon WBRT/non-CSI, photon CSI, and proton CSI among studies with extractable denominators. Values were calculated from available study-level data; no formal meta-analysis was performed. WBRT, whole-brain radiotherapy; CSI, craniospinal irradiation; NR, not reliably pooled

Discussion

In this systematic review of 32 unique studies/reports evaluating radiotherapy for solid-tumor LMD, we found substantial heterogeneity in study design, patient selection, radiotherapy modality, systemic therapy exposure, endpoint definitions, and toxicity reporting. Despite these limitations, several important observations emerged. The median of reported study-level median OS values was 10.7 months for proton CSI, 4.5 months for photon WBRT/non-CSI, and 4.1 months for photon CSI. However, these cross-study differences should be interpreted cautiously because proton CSI cohorts generally represented more contemporary and selected populations. Progression-related endpoints were inconsistently reported, limiting comparisons of CNS disease control. Grade ≥ 3 hematologic toxicity was reported more frequently in CSI cohorts, although reporting was incomplete and heterogeneous.

LMD remains one of the most challenging complications of advanced solid tumors. It is associated with neurologic morbidity, impaired quality of life, and historically poor survival. Contemporary guidelines emphasize that management should be individualized according to performance status, neurologic burden, CSF flow, radiographic disease pattern, primary tumor biology, systemic disease status, and availability of CNS-active systemic therapies [1, 2]. In this context, radiotherapy has traditionally been used for symptom palliation, bulky or nodular disease, cranial neuropathies, spinal radiculopathy, obstructive CSF flow, and coexisting brain metastases rather than as a uniformly applied disease-modifying treatment [1, 8, 9]. Our findings align with this clinical reality: the WBRT/non-CSI literature was the largest and most heterogeneous group, reflecting decades of palliative cranial radiation practice in patients with variable disease burden and prognosis.

The numerically longer median OS observed in proton CSI cohorts is consistent with the growing interest in comprehensive neuraxis-directed radiotherapy for selected patients with LMD. Unlike WBRT or focal involved-field radiotherapy, CSI treats the entire craniospinal CSF compartment, which is biologically appealing in a disease characterized by diffuse CSF dissemination. These findings should be interpreted in the context of modern prospective data. In the randomized phase II trial by Yang and colleagues, proton CSI improved CNS PFS (8.2 vs. 2.3 months) and OS (11.3 vs. 4.9 months) compared with photon involved-field radiotherapy, with a multivariable OS HR of 0.50 in patients with non-small cell lung cancer or breast cancer LMD, without an increase in serious treatment-related adverse events [15]. This trial provides the prospective support for proton CSI in selected patients, although the comparator was involved-field radiotherapy rather than photon CSI. In contrast, Frechette et al. reported a median OS of 3.0 months with proton CSI in a real-world cohort, underscoring the substantial influence of patient selection and treatment context on observed survival [16]. Photon CSI remains an important modality but is represented by fewer and generally older studies with heterogeneous techniques, dose schedules, and patient populations. In this review, photon CSI had a median reported OS of 4.1 months, similar to the photon WBRT/non-CSI group and shorter than proton CSI. This should not be interpreted as definitive inferiority of photon CSI, because the photon CSI literature includes older treatment eras, less conformal techniques, and potentially more heavily pretreated or clinically fragile patients. Nevertheless, these findings reinforce why photon CSI has not been widely adopted for adult solid-tumor LMD: comprehensive neuraxis treatment may be conceptually attractive, but toxicity and tolerability remain major concerns when using photon-based techniques [11, 12].

The role of WBRT in LMD remains nuanced. WBRT can palliate intracranial symptoms and treat coexisting brain metastases, but it does not comprehensively address spinal CSF disease or the full neuraxis. In this review, the WBRT/non-CSI group had a median reported OS of 4.5 months, which is consistent with the historically poor prognosis of LMD reported in prior reviews [11, 12]. Our findings extend this prior literature by stratifying outcomes across WBRT/non-CSI, photon CSI, and proton CSI approaches and by incorporating more contemporary evidence across neuraxis-directed radiotherapy approaches.

Toxicity interpretation was limited by inconsistent reporting across included studies. Among studies with extractable denominators, crude pooled grade ≥ 3 hematologic toxicity was 2.8% (4/145) for photon WBRT/non-CSI, 80.0% (20/25) for photon CSI, and 59.4% (38/64) for proton CSI. Lymphopenia was the predominant hematologic toxicity in CSI-based studies, occurring in 80.0% (20/25) of photon CSI patients and 58.6% (34/58) of proton CSI patients with extractable data. Other grade ≥ 3 hematologic toxicities, including anemia, neutropenia or leukopenia, and thrombocytopenia, were reported less frequently and inconsistently across modalities but may be more clinically consequential when considering subsequent systemic therapy. The higher crude hematologic toxicity observed in photon CSI cohorts should not be interpreted as an intrinsic disadvantage of photon therapy, as these studies largely reflect older techniques, more protracted fractionation, and greater vertebral marrow exposure. Contemporary marrow-sparing photon CSI approaches may reduce this toxicity burden. However, interpretation remains limited by small denominators, variable grading criteria, incomplete reporting, and potential confounding from prior chemotherapy or concurrent systemic therapy. Although not eligible for quantitative inclusion because it did not report a prespecified survival or progression endpoint, Perlow et al. reported no grade ≥ 3 toxicity with vertebral body–sparing photon CSI, supporting the possibility that hematologic toxicity may be technique-dependent [48].

This review has several strengths. It focuses specifically on solid-tumor LMD and stratifies outcomes by clinically relevant radiotherapy modality. It separates unique study/reports counts from analytic rows, thereby avoiding inflation of PRISMA study counts while preserving modality-specific outcome extraction. It also summarizes both survival and toxicity, which is essential in LMD because treatment decisions often require balancing potential disease control against symptom burden, treatment time, and toxicity. Finally, by placing proton CSI, photon CSI, and WBRT/non-CSI literature in the same descriptive framework, this review provides a clinically useful benchmark for interpreting contemporary and future LMD radiotherapy studies. Ongoing prospective efforts will be important to validate these modality-stratified findings. In particular, NRG-BN014/RADIATE-LM (NCT06500481) [49], a phase III trial evaluating proton CSI versus involved-field radiotherapy in patients with breast cancer or NSCLC leptomeningeal metastasis, is expected to provide higher-level evidence regarding the role of proton CSI in selected solid-tumor LMD populations. However, because the comparator is involved-field radiotherapy rather than photon CSI, the relative efficacy of proton versus modern photon CSI will remain unresolved.

Several limitations should be noted. Only PubMed was searched, and no formal risk-of-bias assessment was performed. Most included studies were retrospective and vulnerable to selection bias, confounding, and incomplete follow-up. The absence of patient-level data prevented adjustment for key clinical factors. Progression endpoints were inconsistently defined, and toxicity reporting was incomplete, particularly in older WBRT and photon CSI studies. Accordingly, these modality-based comparisons should be considered descriptive and hypothesis-generating rather than definitive.

Conclusion

This systematic review highlights the evolving role of radiotherapy in solid-tumor leptomeningeal disease, with outcomes varying substantially across photon WBRT/non-CSI, photon CSI, and proton CSI approaches. Numerically longer survival was reported in proton CSI cohorts, although these cross-study differences do not establish superiority over photon CSI and are influenced by patient selection and treatment era. Among available studies, proton CSI showed the most favorable reported survival outcomes, while CSI-based treatment was associated with a greater hematologic toxicity burden than photon WBRT/non-CSI, likely influenced by treatment technique and reporting heterogeneity. The current evidence remains limited by non-randomized study designs, heterogeneous patient selection, variable endpoint definitions, and incomplete toxicity reporting. Future prospective trials should clarify the role of proton CSI in the modern treatment paradigm and incorporate standardized CNS disease-control endpoints, detailed modality-specific toxicity assessment, and integration with contemporary CNS-active systemic therapies.

Acknowledgements

None.

Author contributions

M.M., K.S., and H.H. performed the literature search, study screening, data extraction, and data analysis. M.M. drafted the manuscript and prepared the tables and figures. M.H., M.P.M., J.T.Y., and R.K. contributed to the interpretation of the findings, provided clinical and methodological supervision, and critically revised the manuscript for important intellectual content. All authors contributed to the study conception and design, reviewed the manuscript, approved the final version, and agree to be accountable for the integrity of the work.

Funding

No specific funding was received for this study.

Data availability

No datasets were generated or analysed during the current study.

Declarations

Ethical approval

Institutional review board approval and informed consent were not required because this study is a systematic review of previously published literature and did not involve individual-level patient data.

Competing interests

The authors declare no competing interests.

Footnotes

Publisher’s note

Springer Nature remains neutral with regard to jurisdictional claims in published maps and institutional affiliations.

References

  • 1.Le Rhun E, Weller M, van den Bent M, Brandsma D, Furtner J, Rudà R et al (2023) Leptomeningeal metastasis from solid tumours: EANO-ESMO Clinical Practice Guideline for diagnosis, treatment and follow-up. ESMO Open 8(5):101624 [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 2.Wilcox JA, Chukwueke UN, Ahn MJ, Aizer AA, Bale TA, Brandsma D et al (2024) Leptomeningeal metastases from solid tumors: A Society for Neuro-Oncology and American Society of Clinical Oncology consensus review on clinical management and future directions. Neuro Oncol 26(10):1781–1804 [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 3.Wang N, Bertalan MS, Brastianos PK (2018) Leptomeningeal metastasis from systemic cancer: Review and update on management. Cancer 124(1):21–35 [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 4.Le Rhun E, Taillibert S, Chamberlain MC (2013) Carcinomatous meningitis: Leptomeningeal metastases in solid tumors. Surg Neurol Int 4(Suppl 4):S265–S288 [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 5.Chamberlain MC (2010) Leptomeningeal metastasis. Curr Opin Oncol 22(6):627–635 [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 6.Ferguson SD, Fomchenko EI, Guerrieri RA, Glitza Oliva IC (2021) Challenges and Advances in Diagnosis and Treatment of Leptomeningeal Disease (LMD). Front Oncol 11:800053 [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 7.Nabors LB, Hattangadi-Gluth J, Horbinski C, Portnow J (2025) NCCN CNS Tumor Guidelines Update for 2024. Neuro Oncol 27(3):595–596 [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 8.Barbour AB, Kotecha R, Lazarev S, Palmer JD, Robinson T, Yerramilli D et al (2024) Radiation Therapy in the Management of Leptomeningeal Disease From Solid Tumors. Adv Radiat Oncol 9(2):101377 [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 9.Vogelbaum MA, Brown PD, Messersmith H, Brastianos PK, Burri S, Cahill D et al (2022) Treatment for Brain Metastases: ASCO-SNO-ASTRO Guideline. J Clin Oncol 40(5):492–516 [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 10.Gondi V, Bauman G, Bradfield L, Burri SH, Cabrera AR, Cunningham DA et al (2022) Radiation Therapy for Brain Metastases: An ASTRO Clinical Practice Guideline. Pract Radiat Oncol 12(4):265–282 [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 11.Buszek SM, Chung C (2019) Radiotherapy in Leptomeningeal Disease: A Systematic Review of Randomized and Non-randomized Trials. Front Oncol 9:1224 [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 12.Maillie L, Salgado LR, Lazarev S (2021) A systematic review of craniospinal irradiation for leptomeningeal disease: past, present, and future. Clin Transl Oncol 23(10):2109–2119 [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 13.Yang TJ, Wijetunga NA, Yamada J, Wolden S, Mehallow M, Goldman DA et al (2021) Clinical trial of proton craniospinal irradiation for leptomeningeal metastases. Neuro Oncol 23(1):134–143 [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 14.Lam K, Nasr LF, Andersen CR, Marqueen KE, Li J, Wang C et al (2025) Early Outcomes from Proton Craniospinal Irradiation for Leptomeningeal Metastasis From Solid Tumors. Adv Radiat Oncol 10(2):101697 [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 15.Yang JT, Yerramilli D, Pentsova E, Wolden S, Young RJ, Correa DD et al (2025) Proton Craniospinal Irradiation for Patients With Leptomeningeal Metastasis: A Randomized Clinical Trial. JAMA Oncol 11(11):1293–1301 [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 16.Frechette KM, Breen WG, Brown PD, Sener UT, Webb LM, Routman DM et al (2024) Radiotherapy and systemic treatment for leptomeningeal disease. Biomed 12(8) [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed]
  • 17.Page MJ, McKenzie JE, Bossuyt PM, Boutron I, Hoffmann TC, Mulrow CD et al (2021) The PRISMA 2020 statement: an updated guideline for reporting systematic reviews. BMJ 372:n71 [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 18.Higgins JPT, Thomas J, Chandler J, Cumpston M, Li T, Page MJ, Welch VA (2024) Cochrane handbook for systematic reviews of interventions. Version 6.5. Cochrane [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed]
  • 19.Gani C, Müller AC, Eckert F, Schroeder C, Bender B, Pantazis G et al (2012) Outcome after whole brain radiotherapy alone in intracranial leptomeningeal carcinomatosis from solid tumors. Strahlenther Onkol 188(2):148–153 [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 20.Sakaguchi M, Maebayashi T, Aizawa T, Ishibashi N, Saito T (2017) Patient outcomes of whole brain radiotherapy for brain metastases versus leptomeningeal metastases: A retrospective study. Asia Pac J Clin Oncol 13(5):e449–e57 [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 21.Du C, Hong R, Shi Y, Yu X, Wang J (2013) Leptomeningeal metastasis from solid tumors: a single center experience in Chinese patients. J Neurooncol 115(2):285–291 [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 22.Katano A Overall survival following whole-brain radiotherapy for brain and leptomeningeal metastases from solid tumors. Tzu Chi Med J 9900. 10.4103/tcmj.TCMJ-D-25-00075 [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed]
  • 23.Sause WT, Crowley J, Eyre HJ, Rivkin SE, Pugh RP, Quagliana JM et al (1988) Whole brain irradiation and intrathecal methotrexate in the treatment of solid tumor leptomeningeal metastases–a Southwest Oncology Group study. J Neurooncol 6(2):107–112 [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 24.Piña Y, Law V, Sahebjam S, Tran N, Siddarajappa N, Li J et al (2025) Phase IB study of Avelumab and whole brain radiotherapy in patients with leptomeningeal disease from solid tumors: Results and molecular analyses. Neuro Oncol 27(12):3237–3249 [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 25.Okada Y, Abe T, Shinozaki M, Tanaka A, Kobayashi M, Hiromichi G et al (2020) Evaluation of imaging findings and prognostic factors after whole-brain radiotherapy for carcinomatous meningitis from breast cancer: A retrospective analysis. Med (Baltim) 99(31):e21333 [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 26.Niwińska A, Pogoda K, Michalski W, Kunkiel M, Jagiełło-Gruszfeld A (2018) Determinants of prolonged survival for breast cancer patient groups with leptomeningeal metastasis (LM). J Neurooncol 138(1):191–198 [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 27.Niwińska A, Rudnicka H, Murawska M (2015) Breast cancer leptomeningeal metastasis: the results of combined treatment and the comparison of methotrexate and liposomal cytarabine as intra-cerebrospinal fluid chemotherapy. Clin Breast Cancer 15(1):66–72 [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 28.Yust-Katz S, Garciarena P, Liu D, Yuan Y, Ibrahim N, Yerushalmi R et al (2013) Breast cancer and leptomeningeal disease (LMD): hormone receptor status influences time to development of LMD and survival from LMD diagnosis. J Neurooncol 114(2):229–235 [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 29.Kingston B, Kayhanian H, Brooks C, Cox N, Chaabouni N, Redana S et al (2017) Treatment and prognosis of leptomeningeal disease secondary to metastatic breast cancer: A single-centre experience. Breast 36:54–59 [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 30.Morris PG, Reiner AS, Szenberg OR, Clarke JL, Panageas KS, Perez HR et al (2012) Leptomeningeal metastasis from non-small cell lung cancer: survival and the impact of whole brain radiotherapy. J Thorac Oncol 7(2):382–385 [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 31.Ozdemir Y, Yildirim BA, Topkan E (2016) Whole brain radiotherapy in management of non-small-cell lung carcinoma associated leptomeningeal carcinomatosis: evaluation of prognostic factors. J Neurooncol 129(2):329–335 [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 32.Liao BC, Lee JH, Lin CC, Chen YF, Chang CH, Ho CC et al (2015) Epidermal Growth Factor Receptor Tyrosine Kinase Inhibitors for Non-Small-Cell Lung Cancer Patients with Leptomeningeal Carcinomatosis. J Thorac Oncol 10(12):1754–1761 [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 33.Xu Q, Chen X, Qian D, Wang Y, Meng S, Liu H et al (2015) Treatment and prognostic analysis of patients with leptomeningeal metastases from non-small cell lung cancer. Thorac Cancer 6(4):407–412 [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 34.Li YS, Jiang BY, Yang JJ, Tu HY, Zhou Q, Guo WB et al (2016) Leptomeningeal Metastases in Patients with NSCLC with EGFR Mutations. J Thorac Oncol 11(11):1962–1969 [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 35.Hirano Y, Konishi K, Ejima Y (2020) Utility of whole brain radiation therapy for leptomeningeal carcinomatosis. Int J Clin Oncol 25(7):1432–1439 [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 36.Zhen J, Wen L, Lai M, Zhou Z, Shan C, Li S et al (2020) Whole brain radiotherapy (WBRT) for leptomeningeal metastasis from NSCLC in the era of targeted therapy: a retrospective study. Radiat Oncol 15(1):185 [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 37.Yan W, Liu Y, Li J, Han A, Kong L, Yu J et al (2019) Whole brain radiation therapy does not improve the overall survival of EGFR-mutant NSCLC patients with leptomeningeal metastasis. Radiat Oncol 14(1):168 [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 38.Lee SJ, Lee JI, Nam DH, Ahn YC, Han JH, Sun JM et al (2013) Leptomeningeal carcinomatosis in non-small-cell lung cancer patients: impact on survival and correlated prognostic factors. J Thorac Oncol 8(2):185–191 [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 39.Oyoshi H, Hirata H, Hirano Y, Zenda S, Zhou Y, Tomizawa K et al (2023) Prognostic impact of EGFR/ALK alterations in leptomeningeal metastasis from lung adenocarcinoma treated with whole-brain radiotherapy. Clin Exp Metastasis 40(5):407–413 [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 40.Lamanilao G, Hostler B, Le T, Austin T, Piccioni D, Schulte J et al (2025) RADT-37. A comparative study of proton vs photon volumetric modulated arc therapy craniospinal irradiation for solid tumor leptomeningeal carcinomatosis. Neuro-Oncol 27(Supplement5):v100–v [Google Scholar]
  • 41.Hermann B, Hültenschmidt B, Sautter-Bihl ML (2001) Radiotherapy of the neuroaxis for palliative treatment of leptomeningeal carcinomatosis. Strahlenther Onkol 177(4):195–199 [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 42.El Shafie RA, Böhm K, Weber D, Lang K, Schlaich F, Adeberg S et al (2019) Outcome and prognostic factors following palliative craniospinal irradiation for leptomeningeal carcinomatosis. Cancer Manag Res 11:789–801 [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 43.Devecka M, Duma MN, Wilkens JJ, Kampfer S, Borm KJ, Münch S et al (2020) Craniospinal irradiation(CSI) in patients with leptomeningeal metastases: risk-benefit-profile and development of a prognostic score for decision making in the palliative setting. BMC Cancer 20(1):501 [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 44.Takeda K, Umezawa R, Yamamoto T, Takahashi N, Jingu K (2024) Craniospinal irradiation for leptomeningeal metastasis of solid tumors: survival analysis and prognostic factors. J Radiat Res 65(5):667–675 [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 45.Keit E, Peterson J, Johnstone PAS, Robinson TJ, Figura NB (2024) Modern Photon-Based Craniospinal Irradiation in Leptomeningeal Disease. Int J Radiat Oncol Biol Phys 120(2):e242 [Google Scholar]
  • 46.Gal O, Yang JT, Kotecha R (2025) Current Status of Proton Craniospinal Irradiation for Solid Tumor Leptomeningeal Disease. Pract Radiat Oncol 15(6):524–527 [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 47.Ehret F, Yuan AM, Marciscano AE, Zieminski S, Leland PA, Khandekar MJ et al (2025) Early experience with proton craniospinal irradiation in adult patients with leptomeningeal disease. Radiat Oncol 20(1):61 [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 48.Perlow HK, Matsui JK, Ewing A, Cadieux C, Dibs K, Upadhyay R et al (2024) Volumetric Modulated Arc Therapy Craniospinal Irradiation Utilizing a Vertebral Body Sparing Approach: An Alternative Approach to Improve Access and Minimize Toxicity. Adv Radiation Oncol 9(3):101424 [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
  • 49.ClinicalTrials.gov. (2026) Testing proton craniospinal radiation therapy versus the usual radiation therapy for leptomeningeal metastasis, RADIATE-LM Trial. Available from: https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT06500481

Associated Data

This section collects any data citations, data availability statements, or supplementary materials included in this article.

Data Availability Statement

No datasets were generated or analysed during the current study.


Articles from Journal of Neuro-Oncology are provided here courtesy of Springer

RESOURCES