To the Editor:
Immune checkpoint inhibitors (ICIs) have revolutionized the treatment of advanced/metastatic cancers.1 Since ICIs augment Th1/Th17 cell activity and IL-17A secretion, ICI-induced de novo psoriasis and exacerbations of pre-existing psoriasis of diverse phenotypes have been widely reported.1,2 While many efficacious treatments exist for idiopathic psoriasis, recommendations for managing ICI-mediated psoriasis are insufficient and notably absent from the National Comprehensive Cancer Network guidelines for treating immune-related adverse events (irAEs).3 To support future recommendations, we systemically reviewed the treatment of ICI-mediated psoriasis.
Following PRISMA guidelines, studies reporting psoriasis amongst ICI-treated individuals were identified in PubMed and Embase in December 2020 (PROSPERO ID: CRD42021226337). Search strategy/criteria are provided (Figure S1, Supplement).
Among 1,393 references, 60 studies were included (Figure S2, Supplement), yielding 242 patients with individual/near-individual-level data (mean age 67.3 years; 77.3% male; 82.8% anti-PD-1 monotherapy) (Table S1, Supplement). This cohort included 55.0% (120/218) de novo psoriasis and 45.0% (98/218) pre-existing disease. The mean pre-toxicity ICI cycles (overall n=8.8) were fewer in cases of pre-existing psoriasis (n=6.4) versus de novo psoriasis (n=9.9). Psoriasis vulgaris was the most reported phenotype (70.6%), followed by palmoplantar (38.3%), nail (28.6%), and guttate (21.4%) psoriasis.
Topical steroids were the most frequently delivered treatment (181/218, 83.0%), which most patients received as monotherapy (111/218, 50.9%). Other agents included acitretin (39/219, 17.9%), systemic steroids (35/218, 16.1%), phototherapy (20/218, 9.2%), and methotrexate (14/218, 6.4%). Biologics-treated cases (9/218, 4.1%) are detailed separately (Table S4, Supplement).
Patients who received topical steroid monotherapy had a reduced rate of permanent ICI discontinuation (12.9% vs 31.5%, P=0.002). Patients who received systemic steroids more frequently achieved complete/partial response compared to those without systemic steroids (100.0% vs 82.9%, P=0.017), but were more likely to have ICIs permanently discontinued (59.3% vs 22.6%, P<0.001). Outcomes per-treatment are provided (Table S2, Supplement). Overall, most patients experienced a partial (113/197, 57.4%) or complete (59/197, 29.9%) response. Most patients had ICI treatment continued without interruption (119/205, 58.0%), but 47 (22.9%) had ICIs permanently discontinued.
In this systematic review of ICI-mediated psoriasis treatment, we identified a reduced rate of ICI discontinuation among patients treated with topical steroid monotherapy, likely confounded by toxicity severity. All systemic steroid-treated patients demonstrated response, but most ultimately experienced permanent ICI discontinuation. While steroids are frequently recommended and utilized by oncologists for managing irAEs across organ systems,3 we emphasize that systemic corticosteroids are not recommended in the American Academy of Dermatology-National Psoriasis Foundation management guidelines for idiopathic psoriasis, given lack of durable efficacy without significant side-effects and flares upon tapering.4 Systemic steroids may additionally dampen the ICI-driven anti-tumor effect.1,2 Our clinical opinion favors using non-immunosuppressive options (i.e. acitretin, phototherapy) or highly specific psoriasis-directed biologics for cases refractory to topical steroid monotherapy, given that reduced tumor expression of key psoriasis pathway-mediators (TNF, IL23A, IL17A) does not affect overall survival across most tumor types.5
Limitations include utilizing predominantly observational data, invoking reporting bias and publication bias. Despite our male skew, the predominance of melanoma/lung cancer and anti-PD-1 monotherapy is consistent with the general ICI-treated population as previously reported.1,2 These data support the establishment of consensus-driven expert recommendations for the treatment of ICI-mediated psoriasis.
Supplementary Material
Supplemental Table S1: Individual Characteristics, Clinical Features, Treatments, and Treatment Outcomes of Reported Cases of Immune Checkpoint Inhibitor-Mediated Psoriasis
a Percentages are over the total number of patients with available data; patients with unknown data are not included in the denominator.
b Percentages are over the total number of patients included in the systematic review (242).
c “Other” cancer types were renal cell carcinoma (n=9), hepatocellular carcinoma (n=4), lymphoma (total n=4; Hodgkin’s lymphoma, n=2; diffuse large B-cell lymphoma, n=1; cutaneous T-cell lymphoma, n=1), gastric/esophageal (n=3), sarcoma, any (n=3), breast (n=1), Merkel cell carcinoma (n=1), and ovarian (n=1).
d At time of publication.
e Three total cases of linear psoriasis (1), rupioid psoriasis (1), and follicular psoriasis (1) were identified in the literature.
f Note that individual patients can belong to multiple treatment groups.
g Biologics included adalimumab (1); etanercept (1); guselkumab (2); infliximab (1); secukinumab (2); ustekinumab (2); see Supplemental Table S4.
h All three cases of sulfasalazine treatment were for psoriatic arthritis.
i Patients received no therapy (4); cyclosporin A/cyclosporine (2); etoposide (1); melphalan and autologous stem cell transplant (1).
j “Complete response” was defined by the presence of specific language or clinical images clearly describing clearance, rather than improvement or control, of lesions. In studies with tiered responses “no response; moderate response; excellent response,” the second tier was considered “partial response,” and the third tier was considered “complete response.” In studies with binary responses “none; controlled,” the second tier was considered “partial response.”
k A total of 24 (9.9%) individuals were included from studies in which treatment agents were reported with associated treatment efficacy and immunotherapy outcomes reported in aggregate, but for which individual-level agents received is unavailable. 14 individuals received “non-systemic therapies only.” 6 individuals received “unspecified immunomodulators.” 4 individuals received “Unknown.”
Abbreviations: CTLA-4 = cytotoxic T-lymphocyte-associated protein 4. HNC = head and neck carcinoma. ICI = immune checkpoint inhibitor. NB-UVB = narrow band ultraviolet light B. NSCLC = non-small cell lung cancer. PD-1 = Programmed cell death protein 1. PD-L1 = Programmed cell death protein-ligand 1. PsO = psoriasis. PUVA = psoralen and ultraviolet light A. SCLC = small cell lung cancer.
Supplemental Table S2: Treatment Efficacy and ICI Continuation Outcomes by Psoriasis-Directed Treatment Received
a The total number of patients with specific reported agents is 218. Patients for whom the specific treatment delivered was not reported or unknown (n=24, reported in Table 1) are not included in this denominator.
b Note that these percentages are calculated with patients with unavailable data “N/A” removed from the denominator.
c Biologics included adalimumab (1); etanercept (1); guselkumab (2); infliximab (1); secukinumab (2); and ustekinumab (2); see Supplemental Table S4.
d All three cases of sulfasalazine treatment were for psoriatic arthritis.
e “ICI continued” and “ICI temporarily held and restarted” were combined into a single outcome group due to limited granularity of reviewed data.
f A single patient who received topical steroids and apremilast had ICI therapy discontinued prior to onset of psoriasiform toxicity.
Abbreviations: ICI = immune checkpoint inhibitor. N/A = not available. NB-UVB = narrow band ultraviolet light B. PUVA = psoralen and ultraviolet light A.
Supplemental Table S3: Study Characteristics
a One systematic review met inclusion criteria; all cited cases that met inclusion criteria were already included through independent review of primary literature.
Supplemental Table S4: Summary of Reported Patients who Received Biologics
a The retrospective cohort studies from Nikolaou 2020 and Phillips 2019 report age, sex, cancer type, ICI agent, and number of cycles received in aggregate, and thus individual-level data is unavailable for these subjects.
b Specific ICI agent was not reported at the individual level in the Phillips 2019 study.
c The Nikolaou 2020 study reports the novelty of the psoriasiform toxicity in aggregate, and thus individual-level data is unavailable for these subjects.
d Novelty of the psoriasiform toxicity is not reported in the Phillips 2019 study.
e Supplemental data for these patients in the Nikolaou 2020 study categorized immunotherapy outcomes in binary as discontinued or not discontinued.
f Both cases were described in the Phillips 2019 study as “corticosteroid-refractory or dependent.”
g Both cases were described as “moderate-significant response,” categorized in this systematic review as a partial response.
Abbreviations: BMR = best malignancy response. CONT = continued. CR = complete response. D/C = discontinued. ICI = immune checkpoint inhibitor. IL = interleukin. N/A = not available. NB-UVB = narrow band ultraviolet light B. NR = not reported. NSCLC = non-small cell lung cancer. PR = partial response. Q = every. TNF = tumor necrosis factor.
Supplemental Figure S1: Search Strategy
Supplemental Figure S2: PRISMA Study Flow Diagram
Abbreviations: ICI = immune checkpoint inhibitor.
Supplemental Figure S3: Treatment Efficacy by Treatment Group
Abbreviations: CR = complete response. NR = no response. PR = partial response.
Supplemental Figure S4: Immune Checkpoint Inhibitor Continuation by Treatment Group
Abbreviations: CR = complete response. NR = no response. PR = partial response.
Supplemental Table S5: Complete Data Extracted from 60 Included Studies
Supplemental Table S6: Complete List of 60 Included Studies
Funding Sources:
Nicole R. LeBoeuf is supported by NIH/NCI grant U54-CA225088.
Footnotes
Conflict of Interest Disclosures: Joseph F. Merola is consultant and/or investigator for AbbVie, Aclaris, Almirall, Arena, Avotres, Biogen, Celgene, Dermavant, Eli Lilly, EMD Serono, Incyte, Janssen, LEO Pharma, Merck, Novartis, Pfizer, Regeneron Pharmaceuticals, Inc., Sanofi, Sun Pharma, and UCB. Nicole R. LeBoeuf is a consultant and has received honoraria from Bayer, Seattle Genetics, Sanofi, Silverback and Synox Therapeutics outside the submitted work.
REFERENCES
- 1.Phillips GS, Wu J, Hellmann MD, et al. Treatment Outcomes of Immune-Related Cutaneous Adverse Events. J Clin Oncol. Published online June 2019:JCO.18.02141. doi: 10.1200/JCO.18.02141 [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
- 2.Nikolaou V, Sibaud V, Fattore D, et al. Immune checkpoint-mediated psoriasis: A multicenter European study of 115 patients from the European Network for Cutaneous Adverse Event to Oncologic Drugs (ENCADO) group. J Am Acad Dermatol. Published online 2021. doi: 10.1016/j.jaad.2020.08.137 [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
- 3.Thompson JA, Schneider BJ, Brahmer J, et al. Management of immunotherapy-related toxicities, version 1.2020 featured updates to the NCCN guidelines. JNCCN J Natl Compr Cancer Netw. 2020;18(3):231–241. doi: 10.6004/jnccn.2020.0012 [DOI] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
- 4.Menter A, Gelfand JM, Connor C, et al. Joint AAD-NPF Guidelines Of Care For The Management Of Psoriasis With Systemic Non-Biological Therapies. Artical in press. J Am Acad Dermatol. Published online 2020. [Google Scholar]
- 5.Klebanov N, Perez-Chada LM, Gupta S, Gottlieb AB, Merola JF. Low gene expression of TNF, IL17A, IL23A, and IL12B in tumors: a safety surrogate to predict cancer survival associated with biologic therapies. J Am Acad Dermatol. Published online 2020. doi: 10.1016/j.jaad.2020.08.050 [DOI] [PMC free article] [PubMed] [Google Scholar]
Associated Data
This section collects any data citations, data availability statements, or supplementary materials included in this article.
Supplementary Materials
Supplemental Table S1: Individual Characteristics, Clinical Features, Treatments, and Treatment Outcomes of Reported Cases of Immune Checkpoint Inhibitor-Mediated Psoriasis
a Percentages are over the total number of patients with available data; patients with unknown data are not included in the denominator.
b Percentages are over the total number of patients included in the systematic review (242).
c “Other” cancer types were renal cell carcinoma (n=9), hepatocellular carcinoma (n=4), lymphoma (total n=4; Hodgkin’s lymphoma, n=2; diffuse large B-cell lymphoma, n=1; cutaneous T-cell lymphoma, n=1), gastric/esophageal (n=3), sarcoma, any (n=3), breast (n=1), Merkel cell carcinoma (n=1), and ovarian (n=1).
d At time of publication.
e Three total cases of linear psoriasis (1), rupioid psoriasis (1), and follicular psoriasis (1) were identified in the literature.
f Note that individual patients can belong to multiple treatment groups.
g Biologics included adalimumab (1); etanercept (1); guselkumab (2); infliximab (1); secukinumab (2); ustekinumab (2); see Supplemental Table S4.
h All three cases of sulfasalazine treatment were for psoriatic arthritis.
i Patients received no therapy (4); cyclosporin A/cyclosporine (2); etoposide (1); melphalan and autologous stem cell transplant (1).
j “Complete response” was defined by the presence of specific language or clinical images clearly describing clearance, rather than improvement or control, of lesions. In studies with tiered responses “no response; moderate response; excellent response,” the second tier was considered “partial response,” and the third tier was considered “complete response.” In studies with binary responses “none; controlled,” the second tier was considered “partial response.”
k A total of 24 (9.9%) individuals were included from studies in which treatment agents were reported with associated treatment efficacy and immunotherapy outcomes reported in aggregate, but for which individual-level agents received is unavailable. 14 individuals received “non-systemic therapies only.” 6 individuals received “unspecified immunomodulators.” 4 individuals received “Unknown.”
Abbreviations: CTLA-4 = cytotoxic T-lymphocyte-associated protein 4. HNC = head and neck carcinoma. ICI = immune checkpoint inhibitor. NB-UVB = narrow band ultraviolet light B. NSCLC = non-small cell lung cancer. PD-1 = Programmed cell death protein 1. PD-L1 = Programmed cell death protein-ligand 1. PsO = psoriasis. PUVA = psoralen and ultraviolet light A. SCLC = small cell lung cancer.
Supplemental Table S2: Treatment Efficacy and ICI Continuation Outcomes by Psoriasis-Directed Treatment Received
a The total number of patients with specific reported agents is 218. Patients for whom the specific treatment delivered was not reported or unknown (n=24, reported in Table 1) are not included in this denominator.
b Note that these percentages are calculated with patients with unavailable data “N/A” removed from the denominator.
c Biologics included adalimumab (1); etanercept (1); guselkumab (2); infliximab (1); secukinumab (2); and ustekinumab (2); see Supplemental Table S4.
d All three cases of sulfasalazine treatment were for psoriatic arthritis.
e “ICI continued” and “ICI temporarily held and restarted” were combined into a single outcome group due to limited granularity of reviewed data.
f A single patient who received topical steroids and apremilast had ICI therapy discontinued prior to onset of psoriasiform toxicity.
Abbreviations: ICI = immune checkpoint inhibitor. N/A = not available. NB-UVB = narrow band ultraviolet light B. PUVA = psoralen and ultraviolet light A.
Supplemental Table S3: Study Characteristics
a One systematic review met inclusion criteria; all cited cases that met inclusion criteria were already included through independent review of primary literature.
Supplemental Table S4: Summary of Reported Patients who Received Biologics
a The retrospective cohort studies from Nikolaou 2020 and Phillips 2019 report age, sex, cancer type, ICI agent, and number of cycles received in aggregate, and thus individual-level data is unavailable for these subjects.
b Specific ICI agent was not reported at the individual level in the Phillips 2019 study.
c The Nikolaou 2020 study reports the novelty of the psoriasiform toxicity in aggregate, and thus individual-level data is unavailable for these subjects.
d Novelty of the psoriasiform toxicity is not reported in the Phillips 2019 study.
e Supplemental data for these patients in the Nikolaou 2020 study categorized immunotherapy outcomes in binary as discontinued or not discontinued.
f Both cases were described in the Phillips 2019 study as “corticosteroid-refractory or dependent.”
g Both cases were described as “moderate-significant response,” categorized in this systematic review as a partial response.
Abbreviations: BMR = best malignancy response. CONT = continued. CR = complete response. D/C = discontinued. ICI = immune checkpoint inhibitor. IL = interleukin. N/A = not available. NB-UVB = narrow band ultraviolet light B. NR = not reported. NSCLC = non-small cell lung cancer. PR = partial response. Q = every. TNF = tumor necrosis factor.
Supplemental Figure S1: Search Strategy
Supplemental Figure S2: PRISMA Study Flow Diagram
Abbreviations: ICI = immune checkpoint inhibitor.
Supplemental Figure S3: Treatment Efficacy by Treatment Group
Abbreviations: CR = complete response. NR = no response. PR = partial response.
Supplemental Figure S4: Immune Checkpoint Inhibitor Continuation by Treatment Group
Abbreviations: CR = complete response. NR = no response. PR = partial response.
Supplemental Table S5: Complete Data Extracted from 60 Included Studies
Supplemental Table S6: Complete List of 60 Included Studies
